Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Black Bile, Inhuman Circuits

by RobotParking - Jam Entry

A very(!) short Twine game that lives beneath the surface of the body, in the realm of bodily humors: black bile, yellow bile, phlegm, and blood. Would love to have made this longer, but only had a few hours to work with over the weekend.

CW: Loud noises, BILE MAGIC

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#198Humor(Jam)3.05
#517Mood(Jam)2.81
#553Innovation(Jam)2.62
#554Audio(Jam)2.50
#634Fun(Jam)2.39
#666Overall(Jam)2.58
#672Theme(Jam)2.34
#754Graphics(Jam)1.81

Comments

Zarkith says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:10am

Where's the link to play it? :/

RobotParking says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:20am

Aha! Missed the http at the start. Should work now.

cudabear says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:31pm

This was... interesting. You got a few chuckles out of me, but for the most part your writing was pretty disgusting, which is more of a complement than an insult, based on the subject matter. The music in the middle seemed really out of place, but it was nice to hear something more than silence for a bit. Pretty short for a text game, would have liked to see more branching paths.

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:32pm

I was slightly confused by the juxtaposition of outdoor landscapes and internal organs/fluids but it was nevertheless fun to play through the scenarios. Just enough wit to make it entertaining but not so much that it became overbearing.

I also didn't know there would be loud music but when it came on I had to chuckle a little :)

João Kucera says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Congrats!

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:47pm

This was certainly interesting.

Snoother says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Enjoyed the IF references and fourth-wall breaking. Pretty damn funny at times. Oh, and really well-written; some of the imagery is just horrifically sublime. An inventive use of theme too.

Snoother says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:45pm

And, of course, it definitely has the best title of the comp.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:01pm

made me laugh, liked the concept. Good job :)

RobotParking says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:12am

Well gosh everybody {♥_♥;}

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:34am

nice writing

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:01pm

What a weird experience. I'm not sure that I knew what I was doing, but I got all the humours and used the pentagram. Fake Gamer!

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Pretty funny story.

AmmoreChicks says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:53am

You are crazy! Ah, ah!

ThingoStudios says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:52pm

The background color shifting with your respective choice of humor was a really good integration of mechanics into gameplay, and the imagery was delightfully disgusting. The inexplicable rock music that started blaring whenever you unleashed the yellow bile made me laugh too.

I guess if I have a complaint it's that the more referential humor contrasts with the rest of the game. Haha, you find a pentagram because adventure game logic. Haha, it's a neckbeard who says "misandry" a couple times. They felt like cheap gags at the expense of the overall vibe of the game. Not problematic enough to be a serious detractor from (imo) the creepiest game of the jam.

BMacIntosh says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:43pm

"Ok cool"

kristof says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:05pm

I do not really know what to make of it. But it was definitely interesting :)

ElStevo says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:29am

Cool twist of the theme! Pretty much everything has been said.

Raiyumi says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 7:20am

This was.. interesting. It certainly surprised me when the sound kicked in. It's got a bit of humor with the gruesome text. I liked it. :)

PaperBlurt says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Once again you come through!
Colours, fonts and narrative in a cataclysmic experience.

Never stop writing!

PaperBlurt says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Also, you play with words and create the eeriest of eerie moods.

May 18, 2014 @ 6:34am

Nice writing and liked the use of music.

Lucariatias says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Absolutely hilarious and fantastic placing of music. Well written and enjoyable to play.
Ever considered writing a full novel?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]