Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Come Home

by cwkx - Jam Entry

Come Home
"People don't show what's beneath the surface."

>> Requires audio to appreciate the song.

I was experimenting with something a little different, but sadly ran out of time to implement some of the intended gameplay mechanics (there was going to be some "adventure" elements and conversation choices). Still, this was the first time i've attempted pixel-art, and I learnt a lot in the process, and also the first time using HaxeFlixel. Anyway, I hope you enjoy the crude story.

Art, Code, Design & Story
- Chris @cwkx
Piano & Singing
- Jo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#72Graphics(Jam)4.29
#80Audio(Jam)3.81
#81Mood(Jam)3.84
#382Theme(Jam)3.14
#482Overall(Jam)3.03
#537Innovation(Jam)2.65
#612Humor(Jam)1.84
#731Fun(Jam)2.00
#1989Coolness22%

Comments

neosam says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:38am

lol

Keehan12 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:17am

I'll admit, that art is very impressive and I love it. but I don't believe this is a game. It's a work of art but it lacks a lot of gameplay. I can't even seem to get past the old man, he kinda just pushes me to the side.

cwkx says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Keehan12 - yeah I spent the first day just doing art, will do some coding now in the final 13 hours.

tuben999 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 1:24pm

i love the art its simply amazing :D

dkkarate says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Nice art. Not sure what is suppose to happen though.

wilpel1234 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:07pm

I Love The art!

GmacktheGummy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:09am

Very impressive art pixel art, as everyone says. The darker color tones definitely compliment the musical style. As everyone already said, as well, it lacks much gameplay beyond pressing the arrow keys occasionally.

Tardowyn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:16am

I agree, very impressive artwork, but I'm not sure the point of the game.
The man at the first house will pass by each time you go back and forth, and I hit an edge after a long strip of flat ground.

cwkx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:54am

- Just uploaded a finished version which is more complete than the last work-in-progress builds. A couple of hours late of the 48hour mark, but its the Jam afterall :)

Ratchetmon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:35am

Impressive pixel art.

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:40am

All 5. I'm shocked.

superzac says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:44am

More of a story than a game, not that I'm complaining. Lovely graphics, and a feelgood interpretation of the prodigal son. Also, the song almost synced perfectly for me!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:47am

Great job, man! Really beautiful!

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:45am

Great mood, fantastic graphics, nice song.

Story was a bit confusing, and would have liked to see some game mechanics and maybe some more audio other than the song.

Alucard J says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:54am

A heartfelt story and interesting example of human nature.

jsmars says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:21am

Beautiful graphics and well made story! Some music would really help alot tho, and if the character wasnt centered on screen we could see more of the pretty world than a lot of ground. Great work!

xerohuang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:15pm

I love it. Great graphics and storytelling.

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Music fit the dialogue nicely, great graphics.

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Brilliant use of the theme, was not expecting such a good story out of it. Brilliant Graphics too.

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Interesting game. I would have preferred a little more gameplay and the story was a little predictable, but I do like story based ludum dare entries. The graphics were nice, and the song was good. Nice job :)

DarkEngineer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:17pm

The art is great!

stvr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Great environment art and tunes, and a clever interpretation of the theme, but I wish you had been a bit less explicit about what the daughter had done (leaving it to the players' imagination). Also, many times what people in the game express actually reflects what's 'beneath the surface', so it doesn't use the concept to its fullest. Still, clever and unique, good job!

rnlf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:24pm

I looks amazing, it sounds amazing, the message is amazing, even the take on the theme is amazing. It's just not a game. Gave you good ratings anyway, this is the jam, right?

01010111 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Really awesome way to show interesting narrative! Great work :)

danidre14 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:39am

Dunno what to say, I loved it?! \(^___^)/

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:47am

Well don't get me wrong I liked this game but it was really lacking. There is no agency here, you just go right. At least in other art games, like Loneliness, there is agency. It could have potential though, of being something along the lines of To the Moon, if expanded upon and giving the player choices, or at least the illusion of choices.

~AlucardX60

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Beautiful pixel art! Unfortunately there was not much gameplay, but I reallly enjoyed the story, great mood! ;)

vilya says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:41pm

It's a lovely story, but it's not a game.

gnerkus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:07am

I kept waiting for a monster to pop out of the ground and eat her.

Great art and beautiful music but little interraction. I wish there was a little more.

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:51am

It is more a cartoon then game. Still enjoyed it.

DustyStylus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:35am

Hooray! This has been fixed since I last checked on it. No longer being pushed left in an unintentionally hilarious way. Fantastic graphics & music. Really beautiful. Perhaps some extra interaction (dialog choices) would have been nice. Well done though, great entry.

TeamFlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:04pm

This has a really nice vibe going. And if it's a game or not is something left to interpretation :) I like to see some more narative experimental stuff here. Cool :)

Split82 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Awesome voice and story telling. I love it!

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Touching. Good job.

bombjack says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:44pm

nice graphics.

moonmagic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:35am

Beautiful dithers all over the place, quite a gentle, somber tone with the art. Bravo taking a risk on a walking-around-game.

May 3, 2014 @ 1:16am

whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat? just happened. I think i just watched a movie.

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Very cute art-style. But story line need to be improved, as for me. :) Nice work.

trueyomic says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Great art, good music. I feel the dialogue would have had a deeper effect on my emotions with names rather than "father", "daughter", and "brother". As is, it was a little cheesy. I also don't understand the supposedly cheating guy's purpose in the beginning, or rather why it mattered if he was a cheater to her or not. It was a good story-game otherwise.

NoNoBattle says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:13pm

It just doesn't feel like a game...

blay09 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Yes, it's not a game, but I still enjoyed this more than many of the "games" I've had to rate so far. Beautiful graphics, nice music; you don't see such high-quality music often in Ludum Dare. The song was also perfectly timed on the average gameplay speed, vastly improving the mood. Very well done!

dmcfarline says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Style and graphics are nice, the depth effect is a little jittery, but looks pretty cool

Feels like the daughter's past actions could've been a little more ambiguous, a bit jarring, both when revealed and reaction from other characters

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:24am

okay - not a game but still cool - good effort

fermenter says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Great art, prodigal daughter story so that's pretty cool. Good job getting the gospel out there. Next time when you get enough time you gotta add some gameplay to make it actually a game though. Nice job!

gre says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Nice pixel art, but motion is laggy and I don't really know what to do in this game.
This is still robust graphics and story to start for a real game.

May 12, 2014 @ 10:55pm

no idea about the theme. this was a pretty cool experiment, though...

ALTHOUGH... is it just me or did father grab his daughter's boobs at the end!!! o_O

May 16, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Not really a game, but the plot was outstanding and props to the original song, that was awesome as well.

May 17, 2014 @ 6:54am

Very touching story! I didn't think it was crude. =)

Also, awesome pixel art and song!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]