Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Depths Beneath

by Stals - Jam Entry

**To launch - Run Depths Beneath.exe**
WASD to move
Avoid fish, collect coins, gas and also Wrenches to repair.

For Programming we were using - C++, Marmalade + Cocos2dx
Photoshop and Illustrator for art and a bunch of other stuff for music and sound effects.

There were a lot more ideas that didnt make it into the game - but we hope you will like what we managed to make in this short 3 days

Protip: upgrade "Hook Plus" =)

P.S.
To close tutorial, shop or any other dialog - press X in the right top corner
Last balance changes were made at 4am local time so the end game could possibly have a problem
Quick Dive is not fully finished - you dont get invincibility for extra time after it ends.
Also - if you have some visible lag on collisions - please lower the sleep_time value inside settings.xml

Game by Svetozar Powerful and Stas Korotaev
(currently working on a post-jam version)

By the way, thank you all for the helpful comments!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#238Fun(Jam)3.23
#323Theme(Jam)3.26
#381Overall(Jam)3.19
#396Mood(Jam)3.02
#423Humor(Jam)2.43
#449Audio(Jam)2.88
#484Graphics(Jam)3.08
#581Innovation(Jam)2.57

Comments

TheLastBanana says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:27am

I enjoyed it a lot! I got all the upgrades. :)

The sound for collecting coins was really nice, especially when you got a whole bunch in a row. The claws were also fun to play with.

My only complaint is that it felt like how well I was doing had more to do with random chance than with skill -- if the game happened to spawn a lot of fish near each other (especially the sharks) or not enough gas, there was no hope of getting past that point.

Still, it was well-done. Good job!

robopossum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:29am

Audio and graphics are both nice, simple animations would make this even better. Also, you should definitely add 'fuel low!' and 'hull critical!' warnings. Great work! :D

stephan_h says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:11am

Good job. Feels already quite polished.
The ocean feels a bit too sterile to me. Could use more noise, texture.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:36pm

I must say that you managed to make an impressive amount of stuff in the short time available. The game might be a bit slow and relying on covering the screen with fish a bit too much.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Quite fun! Nice graphics and sound. Though the control would benefit, if the sub had smoother acceleration.

Tititesouris says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Addictive, good mood, great game. Although it gets very difficult when all the sharks spawn together, so I actually haven't completed the game. Was still fun :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:36am

I have to admit - when I saw the picture of your game I was - meh?!? but man it was great. a real gem. of course I am a sucker for upgrade type games. great job!

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:17am

This is a nice polished game.

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:23am

Cool game. I liked having to manage various resources as you dodge incoming obstacles. I did get confused by the bronze coins though. I thought they were gold at first and kept choosing them above the silver coins for a while. I really like those claws too! Love the upgrade system.

conno1234 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:03pm

I love games where you constantly upgrade your equipment. This is the first I've seen like this in this year's jam.

Dreii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:57am

Hey nice! Good job on the upgrades it adds a nice pacing and flow to the game!

Teesquared says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:34am

Really fun. Very polished UI. The bars that shrink and expand on both sides are cool (vs 99% of games go in one direction). It takes several upgrades before you can really play effectively. Ship size feels large. Great job.

StoneMasters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:28am

Couldn't really go through the last part. Always hit a wall of fish. Had everything upgraded! Fun tho!

Spellmaker says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:33am

Nice game, the twist on the common autocollect upgrade was pretty cool. Only sometimes the RNG felt a bit too powerful

mechabit says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:08pm

nice artwork

CiderPunk says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:21pm

I spent faaaar too long playing this, but I did find Atlantis so that's ok.

May 4, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Amazing! So much content in a single Jam. One of the most polished that I've played. Great! :)

DavidErosa says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Nice sound. A bit hard for me, but I'm really goofy :) It remembered me of Ridiculous Fishing, but trying to avoid fish :)

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:34pm

There are many similar entries in this genre, unsurprisingly taken the theme of the jam, and thus far this is my favorite.

Top reason: It's not just a grind, there is legit challenging gameplay in here!

The good and the bad:

The quick diver skill is a great boost to cut down the early level grind time. I haven't seen something like it before in games like these.

I hoped the hook would be an active ability, but alas that was not to be. Some active abilities would keep the gameplay fresh once the upgrade system settles down to just offering plain passive buffs.

The upgrade system in itself is a bit basic. The items are tiered very similarly cost-wise so I mostly purchased them in sequence tier after tier. One way to change this and allow more player decisions in upgrading is requiring different mixtures of resources for every item.

In other words the level has varied resources instead of only cash: gold, silver, jewels, shells, starfish, you name it. Each upgrade then demands their own resource, meaning I can prioritize collecting those resources which give me the upgrades I wish to get.

Also good job on using xml files. Allowed me to decrease the hook upgrade costs to a more reasonable level. An automatic save system would be a nice addition.

Bug report: Using escape to close the upgrade screen spams the launch sound rather disturbingly.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]