Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Truffles

by k.escoe - Jam Entry

Truffles is my first ludum dare game.

Truffles is a about tiny pig who accidentally falls into an abandonment mushroom mine.

tool used
- fl studio
- photoshop
- javascript
- phaser.js

notes: sometimes phaser.js has a bit of collision detection issues.

only tested in chrome

IMPORTANT: CLICKING OUTSIDE OF THE GAME WILL PAUSE THE ENTIRE GAME, CLICKING BACK INSIDE THE GAME AREA WILL RESUME GAME PLAY, SO IF YOU CLICK OUTSIDE OF THE GAME PLAY AREA DURING LOADING IT WILL APPEAR LIKE THE GAME ISN'T LOADING

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#111Graphics(Jam)4.14
#145Overall(Jam)3.57
#150Fun(Jam)3.41
#157Audio(Jam)3.55
#165Mood(Jam)3.55
#320Humor(Jam)2.70
#395Theme(Jam)3.12
#537Innovation(Jam)2.65
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:42am

Hey, i think you need to include the rest of the files for nodewebkit cause i couldnt make it work and web version never loads :/

k.escoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:03pm

ok sorry my bad ill fix it

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Liked the music and tileset art! Web version works fine on Chrome.

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Tried on chrome and works. Charming music and graphics :D
Good work ^^
I had to restart game once because i missed jumping on the first elevator map. It didnt let me jump out and elevator moved me underground instead of killing me xD.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Very smooth and well designed, love it!

eastes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Nice artwork and mood!

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:27pm

I won..!
Looks good, sounds good, handles pretty well...

Jeremias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:01pm

I liked the artwork and the atmosphere. While I enjoy Ludum Dare games which are not too hard, I think your game is a bit too easy :D
I got a bug where I glitched through the floor after the first elevator hit me from the top (I couldn't leave the pit anymore). A retry button would be nice for restarting the current level! The sounds seems to play multiple times if you jump to a corner (I hope you know what I mean), which sounds strange. I also hope you make a post-compo version and if you make one, you could fiddle around with the controls for making the jumps feel better (perhaps a higher jump height?). Nice game anyway!

xerohuang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Nice art and audio.

Nambiar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:02pm

I drooled at the graphics...

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Hey congrats on your first LD. You have some great assets and the music is very relaxing.

k.escoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:17pm

YEA SORRY ABOUT THE GLITCHES YOU GUYS I KINDA COULDN'T HFIX THEM BECUASE IT A ISSUE WITH THE LIBRARY I USED, YEA I WANTED TO HAVE THE GAME GET PROGRESSIVLY HARDER BUT I HAD NO MORE FREE TIME TO WORK ON THE GAME BUT I WILL MOST DEF CONTINUE WORKING ON THIS PROJECT! YEA I WILL DEF ADD A RESTART BUTTON LOL , THANKS FOR ALL OF THE WORDS OF INCOURAGEMENT IT MEANS ALOT!

trueyomic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Loved the graphics; pretty fun overall. I can see a lot of work went into it! Lots of variety. Definitely needs more levels!

StrykerKKD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:33pm

The game has a really nice vibe, although i find the sound of the switches a little bit disturbing.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:19am

Neat little platformer. You did a great job blending the graphics and the music. I didn't find it to be that glitchy other than the elevators, but hey, the pig can run up the side of elevators - it's a feature! The only issue that really jumped out at me is sound effect for the switches, which was shrill and loud compared to the rest of the sounds.

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:20am

Beneath the elevator it pushed my out of the game!!!

Fun game! I loved the music, the graphics and the overall mood.
But the sound of the switches is horrible...

It does not work on Chrome Canary, the graphics do not load.
But on normal Chrome its OK

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Web version didn't load for me, download did. The game's a simple, charming little experience. Could have done without the ear-scraping sound effects when you press buttons and use keys though.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:35pm

This game looks and sounds so good! Fantastic job!

Zer0XoL says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:48pm

I got pushed down by the lift.

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Nice pixel art style and a very cute main character. :)

valid4life says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:48pm

The graphics are fantastic! I like!

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:39pm

wouldn't load
looks cool though

stvr says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:15am

Pretty nifty! Lava is what, again?

frogcheese says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Nice atmosphere and really pretty graphics! The elevator button sound hurt my ears a bit, though. Other than that, a solid platforming game and very good for a first effort. Grats, and good job! :)

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:51pm

The art is really good and the music was atmospheric. I like how new mechanics were introduced along the way, it kept it interesting. Was hoping the little guy might escape at the end!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]