Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Grimlock's Lair

by Pixlexia - Jam Entry

######

What could be lying underneath the pit?

######

CONTROLS: WASD + Mouse

######

The comments section may contain spoilers. Please don't read further if you haven't finished the game yet.

MINOR SPOILER ALERT! If you haven't figured it out you need to break the four pillars.

######

Follow us on Twitter: @TeamPixlexia

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#30Fun(Jam)3.91
#92Overall(Jam)3.70
#117Graphics(Jam)4.12
#226Humor(Jam)2.98
#236Mood(Jam)3.36
#382Theme(Jam)3.14
#458Innovation(Jam)2.80
#528Audio(Jam)2.63

Comments

Tweak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:25am

spoiler:


Haha I did not expect that boss to go bullet hell on me!
Much needed boss after the basic first part.
Good job!

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:27am

Best game so far... NEED AXE! ARG!

popogames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:28am

Fun concept. One bug i found is that if you die during the boss battle you respawn there with full health and no way to damage the boss.

allurious says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:29am

Love the bullet-hell inspired boss! Nice game, great graphics. Audio gets a little repetitive but the game is challenging and I spent quite a lot of time playing it.

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:31am

The SFX work really well, and the game is juicy in general!

chase says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:31am

That was cool, the art style is consistent, and it was even challenging at times dodging all the projectiles. Overall it was good fun!

rogberth says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:36am

Initial part was easy but fun. Boss part was hard, couldn't beat it and miss the axe. Fun game, well balanced

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:50am

I liked the art style and the genereal mistery of founding out what lies beneath! The gameplay is simple and fun (although its a bit repetitive). Maybe tuning down enemy health slightly and adding some fun physicalized death reactions would help. It reminded me a bit of Nuclear Throne.

kbm says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:38pm

One of the better entries to this LD, really liked it, nice job!

Move127 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Fantastic game all around.

ComicSans says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Super fun! Wish there was a third weapon.

Gravity Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:05pm

I wasn't able to beat the boss (probably because I use a laptop with a trackpad, so I can move and aim at once), but I had a lot of fun. Probably one of the best LD games this go round.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Best entry I've played so far! I finally was able to beat the final boss! Very satisfying and challenging gameplay. The graphics are great and the sound effect snappy. Love it!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Bullet hell bro fist for this entry!
I haven't played a melee Bullet hell for a while, great game!

quill18 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Fun and satisfying. :)

xbcw says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Bullet hell for the win.

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Nice entry. I got annoyed by the controls until I realized I can just hold down the button, I didn't have to keep clicking! The controls are actually pretty smooth.
One more weapon (a range one) would have been nice!
Anyway, I think you have pretty good mechanics to make a large scale game from here.

Rad Star says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Excellent! With all that frenzy, my left mouse button might have lost a few months of lifespan! Special thumb up for the graphics and the universe... :)

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:33pm

A pretty nice game, and I like the variety and difficulty progression :)

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Really well done game. I like it.

Frump says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:58pm

A lot of fun. I felt very motivated to keep playing and beat it!

BuriTeam says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Nice! This with music please

Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:14pm

awesome game! here i thought i bet the boss and then .. had genuine fun playing it!! really good work. Hope to see more from you in the future (- :

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Nice game, attacking is very crunchy and satisfying! Could use some music though :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Like the graphics!

acerunox says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Great game.

zkenshin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Enjoyable art style, and fun concept. Well done. :)

bazld says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Love the art, and very satisfying to play/control. Top job!

asotelo94 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:01pm

One of the best! Liked a hole lot. Sad there was no music. Made me think about nuclear throne.

dector says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Awesome fox-game :)

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Very entertaining game! Would have been nice to have some music during the bullethell portions of the boss fight. Overall great work!

Mase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:14pm

It was cool that the boss had multiple stages... nice graphics as well. The sound effects were monotonous though.

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Solid game, puts mine to shame. The balance of the weapons/their drop rates seems a little off, and I got the same bug as popogames. Still it was fun.

Catman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Wow, this was a really fun one! Those graphics are quite good and the boss reminds me of some of Chrono Trigger bosses (which is cool ;) )

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Heyyyyy, that was awesome. Completed it too. Could have done with a few more weapon types, but hey, it's amazing for such a quick turn around.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Awesome work !
Your graphics are really cool (:

mimic says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:04pm

The gameplay started out pretty fun but then got really repetitive. Wish there were more weapons to play with. Good job with the art! The attacks always felt really nice.

Greg Power says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:14am

This is fantastic. I like the trade-offs of the long, quick sword, and the short, slow, powerful axe. Great character designs, and a super fun game all round!

savethejets1 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:58am

Wicked graphics and pretty solidly implemented good stuff. With more types of enemies/attacks this could be bomb.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:30am

one of the best so far - added to my favorites - great job

Moosefly says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Phew, managed to beat it on my first try with 6hp left. Good graphics and effects and the gameplay, while basic, worked nicely. Thanks for the spoiler alert!

Delca says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:47am

Great game! I especially liked the boss going danmaku, that was unexpected.
Only drawback is that I spent some time grinding for an axe, and it got lost when I went to the boss...

PriorBlue says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Very funny pixel art style.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Nice game! Bullet hell boss was a nice surprise.
Repeating swooshing sound felt too monotonous, if your game had music this would have been so much awesomer.
Graphics are very detailed. Art Style reminded me of Nuclear Throne.
Great job!

lowcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:50pm

What!
They are very similar!!!
Very Scary O.o

May 2, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Really fun little game, super polished and addictive! The boss is a tough one!

Loneshark says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:27am

You should consider making more levels =)

icereci says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:50am

this was alot of fun.. hard to crack those rocks though :)

ehtd says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:35pm

One of the best games in this LD! Add a background fighting loop and it will be awesome.

May 3, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Really fun game, sweet graphics as well! I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare compilation video if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/-vf2U372Ego

cirolve says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:42am

Fun game! I really enjoy the graphics, and whacking the enemies to death is very satisfying. I do wish there was some music, but overall, really well done!!

evilDan says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Fun! I found the 4 stones oddly compelling from the start

conormn says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:26am

Holy Hell! Awesome game, I suck at bullet hell tho :)

Raiyumi says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:48am

Solid game with slick gameplay.
Didn't expect a bullet-hell, but that's a + for me. :)

May 6, 2014 @ 1:53am

Really good game!
Some feedback on the player and towers life would be nice

mechabit says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:26am

very well done

zanenga says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:54am

Really good game! Love it!

bushmango says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:58am

phew! beat it with 4 health

tehryanx says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:16am

haha that took a few tries. Great game!

petey123567 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:55am

You won my heart when it went bullet hell!

ChuiGum says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:40am

very fun!

Oye Beto says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:54am

Nice! I beat the game, it was fun.
I liked all the graphical feedback but the sound was lacking.
I see some Vlambeer influence ;)

InfectionTeam says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:21am

Died on this guy: http://puu.sh/8Bf7W.png not sure if it was the last one, so hard XD wish the boss had a health bar. And what was up with all the swords? I just wanted to keep my axe ;_;

PapyGaragos says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:52am

I never managed to dodge the orange boss (second phase), so it killed me multiple times. Good thing there is a checkpoint just before the boss.

I think more feedback than a single sound when you are hit could be a great addition, but otherwise this is a pretty awesome job!

May 6, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Kickass game. Cool Sprites. Rad story.

Jhelle says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:13pm

First part was a bit bland. But the second part I really enjoyed Good job!

thaaks says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Nice game! Somewhat reminded me of "Binding of Isaac" and some Vlambeer games. Very polished and fun to play!
I could not beat the bullet hell end boss but the chicken and shooting eyes were cool! Some background music would have been cool but it's still a very good game!

zebi24 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:13am

Cool game, really like the graphics style! :)

Erkberg says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:52am

Really cool game, so fast paced!

Wolve says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:06pm

ccol stuff dudes!
Has an awesome feel to it!
keep up the good work

May 14, 2014 @ 4:26pm

It's a nice little game! I like the art, though it seemed like it was missing some sounds. Music would've been nice; even a little ditty that plays when a level starts does wonders for the mood of a game. For future reference: it's standard practice in bullet hell shooters to make the player's collision box very small (even just one pixel). This makes dodging bullets more satisfying and less "cheap" feeling.

wschorn says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:10am

yeaaahhhfffuuuu

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]