Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Depth Factor

by Biliogadafr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Q - SWITCH WEAPON

Controls:
A,D - walk
W - jump
Lshift - jetpack
Q - switch weapon (you have dig tool and rifle)
LeftMouseButton - fire
ESC - free mouse pointer.

You need Java to launch this game.

Escape from caves and reach the surface. You can shoot monsters with rifle and dig blocks. ... or monsters can eat you.

Tools: libgdx, tiled, gimp, blender, audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#420Graphics3.37
#459Fun3.12
#542Humor2.45
#702Overall3.04
#746Theme3.04
#777Mood2.74
#816Audio2.23
#1063Innovation2.33
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

Belvar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:43am

The graphics looks great. the controls are smooth, except for the shooting that feels a bit weird. But it is fun to play!

CayoDaves says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Pretty cool. I think the idea of mining your way out of some situations is pretty cool. However, for some reason my drill doesn't want to work after a use or two. is it on a recharge timer? I would also not start the player with the drill, but the machine gun. The death animation was really neat to watch actually. Cool concept!

kratorspore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:10pm

This was damn fun. +1 for unlimited ammo and jetpack fuel!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Still not sure what I just played. But I know I had fun.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:03pm

that is fun!!Good job

Zolkren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Nice game cool weapons.

Xangotrick66 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:47pm

You really gave the monsters a look that makes me want to put an end to their sad lives, good job!

Logan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Oh man, that'll teach me to play before reading the controls!

I played through the whole game without knowing about the rifle or the jetpack. It was a tedious trial of first fending off killer hamsters with just a drill, then of drilling into a wall to create a safe passage, then of learning I could sort of wall-jump, and finally reaching the surface.

Then I saw the controls and just jetpacked all the way to the top.

Not bad.

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Pretty cool game. After a few runs I found that I could actually cheat to the top by drilling a small vertical shaft that the enemies couldn't get to and zig-zag my way up to the surface.

Griz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:05pm

The models are just wonderful. They must've taken ages to make and to get their meshes, textures and animation right. I've enjoyed killing every single one of those fluffy things on my way out.

Pixlexia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:07am

The get-to-the-surface objective is pretty cool and fun, but then I could just drill and jetpack all the way up. Maybe if you could make it so the jetpack fuel (and maybe the rifle ammo) is limited, then when enemies die they could drop fuel and ammo pickups or something. Nevertheless the gameplay is really cool, and I love the animations as well. Keep it up!

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:12am

Arrows are not supported.

Too much inertia and floating in the movement.

Monster keep spawning, in massive number, constantly.

No health indicator.

Too easy with infinite jetpack makes it too easy: just dig straight up.

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:44am

Great idea!!!

KevinWorkman says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:22pm

This was an interesting game, and it has a lot of promise (did you use Spine for the character animation?). However, like others have said, it was either too easy (just dig straight up) or too hard (can't see bullets, the aiming didn't always seem to work). But I hope you polish it up and expand it a bit further!

Moosefly says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 11:41am

I think the difficulty (somewhat easy) worked fine for a Ludum Dare game, it felt good just aimlessly slaughtering massive horders of those furballs from my underground bunker :D. Looks really good, but especially the gun sound could use some work. Also some background audio would be nice.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]