Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Yet Another Zombie Outbreak

by KeinBaum - Jam Entry

Yet Another Zombie Outbreak is a simple zombie beat 'em up. Try to survive as more and more zombies crawl out of their graves. The more you beat up with your trusty shovel, the higher your score.


Controls:
WAD / Arrow Keys: Move
Left click: Punch


Created with Construct 2 within 15 hours because my first idea failed miserably. Twice.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#210Humor(Jam)3.00
#361Fun(Jam)3.00
#530Theme(Jam)2.82
#608Audio(Jam)2.16
#612Overall(Jam)2.76
#659Mood(Jam)2.41
#679Graphics(Jam)2.42
#728Innovation(Jam)2.06

Comments

Marjie62 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:05am

Nice job, for starting over twice :P

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:17am

pretty neat! not too much of a game, but fun for what there is! good job!

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Everyone loves a button mashing zombie killer!

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Mashing a spade? 10/10 would smash zombie head in again

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Wow this guy's pretty decent with the shovel :D
Well done for persevering and finishing something in the end, I had some fun with it ;)

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Killing zombies never gets old!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:56am

7000 points :D !!! I`m the best zombie killer with a rectangular shovel :D

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:57am

7000 points :D !!! I`m the best zombie killer with a rectangular shovel :D

Nice job, very funny. I think u could work more on this game.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Oh my god, that person is so spastic with the shovel! Good job!

evilDan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:30am

I hung out for a while until there were like 100 zombies on the screen - which was oddly satisfying. Fun experience :)

BadgerPriest says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:06am

Standing in the corner and mashing buttons got me 11,680 pts. Also, I noticed my health bar going up slowly at some points, which is a nice reward for evading danger.

May 7, 2014 @ 7:17pm

I liked how you hold the shovel when the button is down, but don't swing it until it is released. That gave it a nice connected feel. Maybe add a charge up if you hold it long enough that knocks near by enemies back? Good work!

CogComp says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Well done! It seems that if you keep on running while hitting at the same time it is possible to keep on playing forever. Bug or a statement regarding the speed of zombies? :-)

friken says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:43pm

clickfest :) in a good way. nice work

KevinWorkman says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Good start. A little variety would go a long way here: different types of attacks, different types of zombies maybe?

May 18, 2014 @ 7:56pm

16760 :D running withouth ever stopping while spamming the mouse. Fun game, even if quite simple, well done ! (the theme is a bit far though)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]