Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

ASCII: Beneath the Surface

by Recon - 48 Hour Compo Entry



You are 25 km under the surface.

You can't get out.

Let's play

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#121Graphics3.95
#147Innovation3.72
#171Mood3.55
#230Humor3.04
#258Overall3.50
#330Fun3.30
#602Theme3.22
#669Audio2.55

Comments

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:26am

MAAAAN !!! This is awesome XD Right in my childhood :D I really love this game :D Excellent work!

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Impressive use of ASCII art. This is my favorite game so far.

ccglp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Wonderful! I like the smart use of the puzzles, knowing that many of us are programmers ;)

Recon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:14pm

I will make more levels for you.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Awesome to see some ASCII games here. :) But in the end, I was left to die in my cell... :/

Blokatt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:20pm

7|-|15 15 4\/\/350/\/\3.

RobotParking says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:20pm

<3_<3

davidwparker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Looks neat- can you port to OSX / Web?

DazKins says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Wow, really original idea, well done :D! Had a lot of fun playing

Brunodev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Awesome bro! Nice work!

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Very awesome! :) Really liked this one!

Recon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Web port is being made, and I hope I will be ready with it before the end of the judjing.

Jools64 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Very cool little game. I really loved the art work. Great job!

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:20pm

YES

Chinchilla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:41pm

pretty cool! Took me a minute to realise that the popups were separate processes and that I should allow windows to fire them up, but that just added to the hacking aesthetic :)

Couldn't get past the red floor (if there was a way past).

Good fun!

Recon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Thanks! (it is the last level)

mimic says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:26pm

The ASCII is really neat!

Knowledge says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Play my game again!!!

guimonpa says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Great ASCII art, quite fun!

td1801 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:49pm

OH MY GOD. I love you <3 It's awesome ! But I can't go trough the red chamber :/

Moosefly says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Interesting! Somewhat short though. Nice ascii art, but I'll really have to think about how I'll rate this on the graphics :D.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Snoother says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Those graphics evoke such a warm, fuzzy feeling. The whole thing had an enjoyably primitive, first-person adventure game feel. Congrats.

Lafie says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:17pm

While the binary at the end(?) was quite rude, I enjoyed getting there. The ASCII art is a nice touch and the puzzles are very appropriate for it.

Recon says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:15pm

*the red level is the last

minibutmany says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Really nice use of ASCII.

Penguincat says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:26pm

I loved the ASCII art and the "hacking" puzzle. Short, fun game - nicely done!

joe40001 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:18am

I don't want to believe the red level is the last, it says "truth is a lie" which means there must be a way out and the binary is rude too :P

Interesting entry though.

May 13, 2014 @ 1:56am

I did translade the binary message in last part hahaha ;) Great work :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]