Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deep Sea Salvage

by Zutty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Deep Sea Salvage is a game about finding stuff at the bottom of the ocean. Explore the depths and defend yourself from pirates and hostile sea creatures.

I interpreted 'Beneath the Surface' as meaning under water. The game is inspired by the game "Sub Culture" (1997, Criterion) though not nearly as good. I originally wanted to copy the style of having missions and underwater cities, but had to limit the scope, hence salvage.

There isn't really much meat to the gameplay, but I like to think that the fun comes from exploring and trying to find things. I wont reveal whats hidden down there, though I guess you could look at the source code for spoilers if you want!

The game has no sound at all, unfortunately, as I was running short on time and wanted to focus on polishing the visuals.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#72Graphics4.19
#143Theme3.78
#167Overall3.66
#230Fun3.45
#332Mood3.25
#498Humor2.52
#596Innovation3.00

Comments

MrBlade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:21am

This is a very well done game. I LOVE the pixel art and the bubbles are fantastic. The gameplay feels solid, and everything works as you would expect! This is the type of game that makes the top 100. I would have like some sounds, but I am not complaining because the other aspects of the game were done so well. Keep. it. up! I look forward to what you make in the future!

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Cool game, liked the idea. Maybe sonar feedback about nearby enemies would help, but it's a cool start.

ovenchips says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Really solid entry with lovely visuals. You have a real talent there. Interestingly, I joined Criterion around the time Sub Culture came out - and they then went on to release Deep Fighter. I didn't work on those games though - I was building RenderWare. And now my game is about salvaging in a submarine too! ;o)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Agreed, the pixel art is lovely, and the concept is so very simple, but works :) it's a shame there's no audio, I'd of loved to have heard the effect of exploding a whale!

dlweatherhead says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Great work! The style and feel of the game is great. Only thing I think could have changed was enemy fire rate, but that is nit-picking. Good luck in the compo.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Very well polished. Art are amazing.

Brunodev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Very polished game! I'm surprised you could clean your code so much in this 48 hours! Congratz bro! Amazing art btw!

littleball says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Great graphics, and particle effects.

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:33pm

It is very polished, nice graphics, It would be great if it had more to do.

Naouak says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Very nice graphics and a good core. Needs some polish and sound to be really awesome.

ruerob says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Very nice game. Do you plan a post compo version with sound? That would be great. I really like that game.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:08am

This looks great! I like the bubbles and the sharks the most!
It get's really easy when pressing X and C rapidely - some ammo would've been a good idea! Oh and a boost which needs to recharge, so you can have more tactical fights!
This really would've needed some proper audio, especially a mystical chiptune as background music! :)

All in all a really cool game, which I would consider buying when it's polished, extended and has audio.

danialhyatt says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Good stuff. Love how the depth/darkness thing works. This is going to sound weird but I like how the shark died. Would've liked some sounds, that helps with awareness when it comes to enemies like the subs and stuff too. And when you get one of those creepy fish in the flashlight beam you hear a horror piano stab... you know

jsmars says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:42am

Really well made little game and lovely pixel graphics! With some sound and story this could really go a long way! Enemies moved a bit fast and with unlimited ammo I ended upp just spamming missiles all the time to survive.

May 9, 2014 @ 11:06am

Very, very well done game. Love the graphics and playing it. I included it in part 16 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ruvs0qoO4zU

Ragzouken says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:46pm

lovely sprites as always :D

May 14, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Lovely!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]