Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 29

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space to go - geekdrums - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A Musical Adventure.

Press space key to move.

Japanese version is here -> http://unitygameuploader.jpn.org/game/701.html

View geekdrums's journal. | View all entries by geekdrums

Ratings

Audio4.89
Coolness65%
#22Mood4.19
#26Overall4.08
#32Innovation4.14
#84Fun3.76
#130Humor3.37
#205Graphics3.77
#949Theme2.72

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Very nice. Even though it's not really a game, it was an great 5 min experience. Nicely self-aware in a humble way. And a great standalone soundtrack!

SethR says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Very unique and cool experience. Enjoyed

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:23pm

enjoyed it.

dusho says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Nice.. now I know why I got told I got no rhythm :)
was fun.. not really a game you can loose, though
some music was very nice

quill18 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Philip's right in that this is not a "game"...but what a beautiful and enjoyable experience it was. The music was fantastic and I found the story strangely compelling. I had a great time playing through to the end.

Nice work!

zorfmorf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:26pm

The only I didn't like about the game ist that it's very hard to experience the music without small audio hops (if you know what I mean) as you have to press space slightly before you visually reach the next line. Maybe if there wasn't a line but a small bar and whenver you hit space anywhere inside the bar the music plays on without interruption? Aside from that though great, creative entry + I can hear the music on your soundcloud.

TheMorfeus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:32pm

The best so far C:

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Wow! That was amazing! I got goosebumps, really great work :)

graebor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Really enjoyed this! Even though the controls were very simple I liked being able to change up the pacing/tempo/mood by delaying my presses. Interesting way of presenting music/a story.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Awesome experience, I enjoyed it a lot :D One of the best entry I've played so far, with best audio and mood ever ! It's a memorable entry !

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Very good, soo great music. I never got the beat right, but it still sounded great. Very nice entry!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Awesome how it sounded good even if you didn't press Space in the same rhythm

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Love the style of this. My wife also played it through and she absolutely loved it. here are her comments - "This was a very well thought out experience. The music was wonderful and I loved reading the story that guided me through. It reminds me a lot of playable mini games in JRPGs, that give you some perspective into a character that you encounter. A great effort. Well done :)"

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Wow, very cool.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Very cool way to visualize a one-button rhythm game.

SFBTom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:42pm

My favourite out of the 200+ games I've played so far!

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Mesmerising!

berareu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Simply amazing!

May 2, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Interesting idea, definitely experimental, but really cool. I liked that there was no real win or lose, and if you delay or press too soon, its ok, its like your own version of the tune.

Raiyumi says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:59am

I always love the experimental adventures you create. :)

SoupWithBits says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:31am

I didn't want to stop playing.

Wertle says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Really well done! This flowed together perfectly with the pacing of both the game, and the music, and the humor with interstitials. It was clever on many fronts. Great work!

TobiasW says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:04am

Dom dom DOOOM DOOOOOM!

This was absolutely stellar. The text together with the music really created a special feeling for the text that I've never quite seen/heard like this before. And the writing fit perfectly. Clever, really well done!

Danman9914 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Holy crap, that was incredible

matt_j says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:13am

Interesting way to tell a story, anyway...

May 8, 2014 @ 3:36am

Love music games like this. Well done! I included it in part 14 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/-VvtqXfr-Xs

radmars says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:06am

Awesome music! It was fun to try to time everything exactly, but it would be better if there was feedback to see how close you were. (Controller support would be amazing!) Great writing and I love the ending too!

rojo says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:25am

Great job! I definitely felt connected to the message from a philosophical standpoint. The music was excellent.

Managore says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:44am

Wow, what fantastic audio! Letting the player control the audio felt amazing.

iambored2006 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:03am

What a strange story. Anyway, I liked this game a lot!

IL_yoshioka says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:58am

Very good idea and simply playing :)

Snoother says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Wasn't sure at first, but the music is wonderful and the minimal gameplay just works, letting the player pace the music. Congrats, a highlight of the compo.

copain says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:56pm

nice and strange game. So poor gameplay but the little challenge to have a good music... and then a rythmic dialogs... good idea.

May 18, 2014 @ 6:42am

Best audio experience I've had with all the games I've played so far, great job.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:05am

Best ending ever, bahaha awesome

Zerkruemler says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Very cool rythm game. Easy to play, but no so easy to make it sound fluent. I like the ending where you can listen to the music as it should be.
Very well done!

Jeremias says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Wow. This music rocks and I never played something like this. What a beautiful entry.

jsmars says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:10am

Amazing audio entry!

Kerdelos says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Loved it, especially the music !

Lucariatias says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Looks and sounds beautiful, translation could be improved, I guess, but it's a lot of fun regardless.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]