Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

SUPER ROBO GARDEN ARENA

by nxT - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my very silly, totally unfinished zelda-perspective arena action game.

C TO FIRE A DEADLY BLAST OF ARROWS
Z TO PRAY TO THE GODS AT A SHRINE AND GAIN FAITH

Robots come from /beneath the surface/. Find the exit. Get a high score.

______

Messy source code available here: https://github.com/xxnxT/LD48/tree/dev/Beneath%20The%20Surface

Known bugs:
- occasional 'jump' when spawning enemies.
- score doesn't reset on death or win. (Man, I must have been tired)

I'm gonna write something about this when I'm not so tired.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#354Graphics3.47
#639Humor2.32
#818Fun2.73
#850Overall2.88
#867Audio2.09
#871Mood2.64
#981Innovation2.49
#1189Theme2.07
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

eskivor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:20am

I have this : "500 Internal Server Error".

Armanky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:20am

Took me about three deaths to figure out the connection between prayer, statues, and ammunition. This information could be conveyed more clearly. The statues, for instance, look like decorative elements rather than something the player should interact with.

A little bit jittery in places, but the technicals seem to be working properly.

A little bit dull, but for 48 hours it's very nice. Very nice touch putting the exit in clear view near the beginning.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:17am

Confusing to pick up, but once I read the comments I figured it out and had a pretty good time.

DannyG59 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:20am

Really charming game, really nice, has a lot of potential. I liked the fact I had to work it out as opposed to being spoon fed.

Good Job!

Sestren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:03am

The volley of arrows is my favorite thing about this game. The graphics are really nice, but the controls feel very sticky and sluggish at times.

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:20am

Neat! I love the raucous arrow volley, and really dig the art style you used. I was a bit confused by the prayer mechanic but I figured it out eventually.

Fun little game!

allurious says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:35am

It took me a short while to figure out I needed to interact with the statues to initiate my badassery, but after that this was a neat game. Who doesn't like shooting a billion arrows at an enemy?

kiririn51 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:37am

Nice mechanics! Some polish here and there and you'll be onto something. Movement is a bit wonky and can be hard to aim upwards, really liked the pray and shoot thing.

KeyMaster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:53am

Really nice graphics and the attack felt awesome! Took me some while to figure out how to get ammo, but for 48 hours I don't really expect a tutorial ;) It has potential!

runvs says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:50am

Hi there, I kind of like the graphics & art Style of your game. Especially Shooting out the arrows looks nice.

Don't take the following too serious, this are rather some tips than real criticismn:
There are some glitches when the player gets hit by enemies (sometimes the player is correctly pushed away, sometimes "teleported")
I really miss some background music and some sound effects (enemy digging out, walking, praying).
A tutorial could have been nice because it took me some time to realize i have to pray at the statues.
Some "Juice" like particle effects would also have been nice.
A second level would have been great!

But overall it is a great game!

nxT says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Thanks for the kind words everyone! It's pretty unpolished, and I realized there were easy-to-fix bugs right after the deadline closed.
Unfortunately, I ran out of time to do any polish - highscore table, particles, tutorial, sounds, and music - but I may do a post-jam update to add the important stuff :)

syawqy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:19am

it's hard aiming for shooting

DMinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Looks pretty good)

stvr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:47pm

The hail of arrows is very satisfying! Even unfinished, it's pretty rad.

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Cool game, and hooray for HaxeFlixel! It would be easier if the player changed facing immediately, so you could shoot behind yourself faster... though maybe that was intentional? Great job.

namuol says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:02am

Really nice graphics.

Mouse aim would allow you to throw more enemies at the player, which is always a good thing. ;)

Miltage says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:00am

The momentum of the player makes things a bit tricky. You can't run away and turn quickly to shoot. Easier to outrun the zombies than to fight them.

PriorBlue says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:05am

Nice cube style pixel art.

May 3, 2014 @ 2:37am

volley of arrows ftw! sluggish movement at times, with enemies warping into you.

allinlabs says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:17am

Very pretty characters and pixel art

May 3, 2014 @ 2:33pm

//Based on the HaxeFlixel FlipRotationAnimationTiles example ...
//.. with more swag
//Fuck yo code conventions


lolol, Good game, nice feeling and sweet graphics. It's nice looking at your code and see how you tackled various things. We can all learn so much from eachother :)

nxT says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:29am

Hahah, I was wondering if anyone would look through my code and notice my dumb comments...

Garris says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:17am

Fun game! That deadly blast of arrows just feels so satisfying. Your graphics are really nice, too. I'd play more of this if you make an enhanced version later.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:47am

Dat arrow volley.

May 5, 2014 @ 6:51am

Like Armanky, I didn't immediately get the connection between praying and the statues - some kind of "You can only pray near a statue" message would have been helpful. The arrow volley is very cool, but navigation is too hard; the arrow keys are not very responsive.

wdebowicz says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:44am

I like the concept, I'm glad I found how to pray, because firstly I fought something is wrong with game.

lightsoda says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Pretty nice, I wish I could shoot in one direction and move in another though, and maybe have some kind of debris flying when hitting stuff and... well. Hehe, good job though :)

darke_shard says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:36am

Yay, a maze game with combat! :D I love these things. It's a good build for the 48 hour compo, but I hope to see this polished even more. :) My observations: 1. controls could be tighter, and 2. err, I don't see how it relates to "beneath the surface" except for the enemies popping up. Not that the last bit matters if you intend to port this game. :D

soy_yuma says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Nice graphics! Although the movement is a bit uncomfortable and the goal is not very clear...

frankd0331 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:30am

Pretty fun, but I found the shooting a little awkward. The way the arrows look/shoot is awesome.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]