Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

SnakeFormer - Half Snake, Half Platformer

by TobiasW - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A short puzzle game combining Snake with pseudo-physics platformer mechanics.

- The exit is to the right
- Movement: WASD or Arrow Keys
- Nothing under snake head = snake head falls
- Nothing under whole snake = whole snake falls
- R: Restart Level / M: Music on/off / N: Sfx on/off

PS: If you finished level 4, tell me!

------------------------------------------

Note regarding the source:
You'll need Glow11 (https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/#/content/8513) for the glow effect. Copy it to "Assets/Extensions/Glow11" BEFORE opening the project in Unity.

If you don't want to use Glow11, go to Assets/Materials and Assets/Other/Fonts and assign alternative shaders. If you need help with this, just write me a mail: Tobias.Wehrum@dragonlab.de


------------------------------------------

Font Credits:
- Manuel Viergutz: http://www.dafont.com/manuel-viergutz.d2029
- Roland Huse: http://www.rolandhuse.com

------------------------------------------

Changelog:
30.04:
- Fixed the executable bit issue for the linux build.
- Took gamepad controls out of the game as there seem to be laptops with accelerometers which get auto-recognized as gamepads. We live in a strange world.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#16Innovation4.31
#65Overall3.90
#69Fun3.82
#147Audio3.51
#307Mood3.30
#332Humor2.80
#336Graphics3.51
#904Theme2.81

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:48pm

I loved the end of level sound effect! I also enjoyed plaing this game, although I couldn't get past the level with the falling balls so not sure how much of it I saw. Well polished solid game.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Very fun little game! Love the visuals!

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Pretty neato, ate a deck of cards trying to complete this game. Would recommend to mother, grandmother and great-grandmother.

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Looks really nice and I love the melding of the two game mechanics. Really fun and challenging!

ghostmaple says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:14am

Great game. I'd totally be interested in seeing a full version somewhere.

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Clever way to make some basic art into something visually pleasing, I will remember that one.

Nice concept also, with a nice difficulty curve. Good job

Zephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Wow interesting game and awesome graphics! It's amazing you made it look so good while keeping it simple. Good job!

Cash says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Cool games,event though I'm really bad at this kind of games

MrShortee says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Great combination, nice gfx and sound. The steep learning curve and unforgiving levels were a bit frustrating but I had to try again and again and again... until I gave up on #4(last?). I'd love to see more levels with a better tutorialization (is that a word?^^).

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Uh, something is weird on the Linux zip file. I get this when trying to unzip it. Maybe it is corrupted?

"checkdir error: SnakeFormer exists but is not directory
unable to process SnakeFormer/SnakeFormer.x86."

(same error message for all files inside the zip)

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:43pm

I died so much on level 3 I ragequitted XD good gam though

TobiasW says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:47pm

@caranha: I think you need to set the executable bits with chmod. I'm on a windows computer, so I can't do that :/

Bekokstover says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Great game, lovely experiment to see how these two games meet. The 3rd and 4th level werd hard as f, but I finished them. Felt compelled to do so, so that's a good sign.

The fact that you can quickly move through the air when falling feels a bit like cheating, but maybe that's part of the game. I brings some fast paced action to it. However, I would like to see a version where the snake does not fall if half or more of it's body is supported. He has muscles, after all. He a strong snake.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:14pm

this game is so addictive, i really loved it!

TobiasW says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:52pm

@caranha: I uploaded a .tar.gz version with hopefully correct rights! Maybe you can try again?

Sakuyan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:36pm

This is a pretty interesting concept. I was hooked without realizing.

João Kucera says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Good minimalist game!

gigitrix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:42pm

This is a fascinating game with a REALLY deceptive level of difficulty! I love the "cellular autonomy" kind of angle you were going for! Music is great, sound effects are great (that level complete :D) I LOOVE the art style, you could have just left it at cubes but you made the lava look awesome.

Every level brings a lot new to the table, which is great but really ramps up the difficulty! If you take this further I think players might appreciate more "interim" levels to learn mechanics like barrel redirection, lava/"radiation" mechanics etc. Not a "criticism" of the game in it's current form - as it is now it's an exceedingly punishing puzzler which really does require some thought to get through (it took me forever to figure out the snake standing on it's head!)

Got as far as getting regularly to the green "radiation" on Level 4 and I just couldn't work out the exit path :/ But that's definitely my failing, not the game's!

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Such a clever concept!!! Though I bailed at level 3 (?) 'cause it was just too DAMN HARD, I'm sorry... I don't even much to add to what others have said, but you did a great job!

stigmawall says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:38am

I started this game to see how you did the lava burn, after that I simply start playing it and love it. Very good job.

rylgh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:34am

man, very nice job. looks great, cool mechanic. couldn't figure out level 3 but i appreciate that it got challenging so quickly. will probably take another crack at it later

Wertle says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:52am

Well done! This is a great twist on mechanics that people are used to separately and they go together in a great way. My one piece of feedback would be that the chompy sound was so great that at first I thought my goal was to eat all the blocks :) Maybe just call out the exit a little bit tiny bit more. Good job!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:09am

This was truly a smart combo of different things.
Fun to play and easy on the eyes!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:32am

Really interesting take on the snake idea. The amount of possible challenges really makes me think that this game can be extended easily into something bigger. The one real complaint I have is that I don't think the theme is very well represented.

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:04am

I BEAT IT YEAH - Love the glowing block art style. Very clever and challenging puzzle game. Good job!

pansapiens says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:10am

I'm a sucker for anything glowy :) Loved the sfx and the music, and awesome that you tried a more unique (blended) genre - these experiments are what gamejams are all about for me (the mechanic does remind me of some game I played once but I can't quite put my finger on it). I actually feel like the concept has legs, but the level design might not have milked it as much as it could. A slower difficulty curve ramp up with some "teaching by doing" along the way would nail it. (Oh, BTW, you saw my laggy Twitch stream - thanks for tuning in ! Most of it actually got lost, but the bit with your game survived: http://www.twitch.tv/omgwtfgames/c/4165812 .. should remain for at least a few days).

alvarop says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:14am

You are not a nice person. You are good at making great games, though.

minism says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:34am

Really creative game, absolutely love it, nice job.

finefin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:41am

very nice mix of genres.
you know what would have made everything much clearer for me?
a tiny litte arrow or exit sign at the exit of the first level. haha! I really thought I have to clear the level to win until I found the exit a few minutes later.

mortus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:14am

Great game mechanics, I love how you always go for an original gameplay rather than something more usual. The game is somewhat hard indeed, but I think it'll be fine if you add more easier levels in the beginning, so that levels 3 and 4 will move to the mid to late game.

Also, what Bekokstover said. I don't quite like 2 things in the game: the fact that you have to move very fast to reach some place while you fall down, it almost looks like cheating; and that the snake is so weak that it can't hold its head even over 1 empty tile. I understand that changing those things will shift the gameplay, the puzzles and the game overall in a different direction, but here's one thing I've come up with that could improve the game feel for me: what if you don't force the snake to go down all the way when there's nothing under its head and restrict the movement instead to down or side only? And if it moved sideways - force 1 tile move downwards and then stop (as long as the snake's tail is still holding on something, of course). That won't change the gameplay but will make the game more slow and maybe a bit easier.

Also, on a completely unrelated note. You know, I've made that '10013 seconds' post-compo but never released it anywhere. It's just sitting there on my hard drive for the last few months and I've remembered it after reading your comment on my game (I've left a reply there for you too). And since you was the one who inspired me on doing it mostly, I'll be glad to show it to you and happy to get your comments, but I don't want to publish it anywhere yet, so if you're interested please contact me via email: mortus778 at google mail and we'll arrange something.

Meedoc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Clever game, but really hard!

tehryanx says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:30pm

this was very cool :) I like mashups and this one was pretty well done. I didn't get far, but had fun trying.

Harsay says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Veeeery interesting idea! I love the connection between puzzle and physics. Graphics are simple but nice. I want to see MOAR levels! Good job! I hope there will be expanded version!

Danvil says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Very nice game, especially the combination of platformer and snake! Solved lvl 3 with a trick ;) You should definitely create more levels for a post-combo verions.

alvivar says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:05am

Hi @TobiasW!

Done! http://goo.gl/NedmdM

Really cool game, I did enjoy all the puzzles. At the end I was desiring more levels to play :) I can see myself enjoying more of this mechanic if you create more content.

Only one advice: the creation of a level 0, where the player can learn to go up to climp stuff without the possibility of dying.

Thanks for winning my game! I know it's hard, punishing and caotic, so it's awesome when someone beat it!

Keep making games!

ripatti says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:01am

Finished full game (and level 4 too), need more levels! Especially want to mark a good music and sounds. Well done!

Raiyumi says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:24am

This is a well executed snake puzzle platformer. Very fun and addictive, and I'm a sucker for hardcore games. :)

Crefossus says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:01am

Amazing, I had to play twice! Really satisfying loved the sound effects, lighting, music and gameplay!

SaintHeiser says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Like the cencept and level design.
Good composition of puzzle and arcade =)

May 3, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Unique concept, cool game! I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare compilation video if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/-vf2U372Ego

May 3, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Nice twist on the classic snake formula. I love the glowy effects, they make the otherwise simple graphics look really cool. I like the music, too.

petey123567 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:53am

It was really surprising when the lava started leaking out -- I was like "Oh geez, this just Got Real(tm)!!" :D

rincewind_cz says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Wow! Now I know why there is Innovation column. I really enjoyed this, great execution. :-) Couldn't get past level 4, but I'm gonna try it once more..

May 5, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Dear me, how smart can you be in order to make a game like this! Wow. The idea is innovative, the levels hard but fair, the controls are responsive and gameplay, just WOW! Fantastic job TobiasW <3

Daveloper says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Great idea, I loved the idea of a platformer snake. Nicely implemented as well!

Dualhammers says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:25pm

An interesting take on Snake! I thought the style all felt very of a piece which is good. Thematically it is a bit weak but that's fine considering the game itself holds up well.

My major issue was with the game's difficulty. I got stuck on level two simply because there is no space to recover from errors. Even after figuring out how to drain the Lava I found that I had eaten too many bricks and was unable to fall over to the exit. This happened several times and proved frustrating enough to cause me to quit. A metaphor for the vicissitudes of life?

I know it is accurate that when you occupy the square adjacent to lava the lava hurts you, but it isn't clear gameplay wise nor did it feel right. Normally in a game when you touch lava you die, and in grid games only the grid you're on counts for touching. I assume that because the lava tries to flow whenever there is a gap in the rock it was flowing into my square and touching me? This makes sense, but it also meant that every square around the lava was just as off-limits as the lava itself. This reduced the possibilities for movement on the edges two only two columns, and it only felt like there was really one right answer.

If you want to refine this I'd say figure out a better way to handle lava and provide more flexibility to the early puzzles. Good job!

caranha says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:00am

Thanks for the Linux Build! Worked flawlessly!

This was an awesome game idea. It is pretty hard too. It took me a while to figure out the lava level (level 2), but it was fun. The "Balls" level (the following level), I figured out what I had to do, but I couldn't pull it off.

I think one thing you could improve the game is to introduce fewer concepts at a time. The lava level (second level) introduces lava, falling blocks AND extending blocks.

Although I have no idea how that will help me with the next level :-)

Thanks for the game!

RowdyGhosts says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:37am

I enjoyed this more than I thought! I do agree with the above poster's sentiment that level 2 has too many concepts at once for being the second level; easing the player a bit more would work a lot better. That said, this is obviously Ludum, so I'm not going to pretend that it's easy to make everything perfect! Good job

May 6, 2014 @ 4:41am

Ohh, nice one! Love the glowy-cube-aesthetic. Gameplay took me a few seconds to figure out.

This is a great idea, it hasn't been done before :)

Caridorc says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Very good and well executed, the basic controls are a bit hard thought.

shadow64 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:59am

I like the idea a lot. It's fun, but that third puzzle is really rough. I think the player might need more experience with the balls first if you make this into a full game. Just to get the hang of things.

I'm not sure I'm really feeling the theme here and I don't see an explanation. I guess the snake might be underground if there's lava, but I don't think it says that anywhere. :\

I like the music and I like the audio. The bite noises made me laugh. Level design is challenging, but not completely unfair. It's a great game and I'd love to see you continue it. :)

Thanks for sharing and thanks for rating/commenting on mine!

Nezzhil says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Great idea, very fun and polished, good job :D

JavadocMD says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:43am

Brilliant concept and a delight to play. The graphics are understated but perfectly beautiful in their simplicity.

loxo says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Awesome puzzle game concept, mixed with nice graphics and audio. The game is fun to play and the combination of the different game elements works great. It took me almost 30 minutes to make it through the 4 levels, but it was worth it. I think the third level is the hardest one. Overall great game, only more levels are missing.

JaJ says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:10am

Oh this is hard, especially the lava parts. But really cool idea!

joe40001 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:11am

Innovative, just the right level of challenge and I beat all the the levels, personally my only issue was the rolling pin level because it feels like that one isn't a puzzle so much as planning and then a bit of franticness/luck. All the others were proper puzzles, with solutions you can get by looking at the screen and thinking. Which is good :)

I've got to say I'm quite impressed with the originality on display here, and the art is really good for what it is. Vibrant colors but discrete squares so the puzzle is clear. Music/mood is good too.

Overall very impressive. Thanks for telling me about this one!

Teesquared says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:30am

Unique puzzler. Difficulty is high but it kept me retrying.

Nanolotl says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:15am

Really innovative. Was a little frustrating at first, but once you've figured out the basics it became really fun to figure out the best way to reach the exit. Ended up beating all 4 levels. Great job!

May 17, 2014 @ 10:23am

Clever mechanics! It took me a lot to figure out the second level, but it was really satisfying to get it right. Good work!

hnjslater says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 11:04am

Wow! Fantastic Game.

klianc09 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Wow, really love this game. It feels very unique and looks really stylish.
For me level 2 was much harder than level 3 or 4.

There is so much you could do with this, I would be happy to play a post-compo version of this.^^

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Hard getting past even level 2... with some more levels, it is definitely publishable.

May 17, 2014 @ 8:17pm

I do finished level 4 but I think it was too hard. You should had added more levels or decreasing difficulty.
Other than that it was a really original idea and I like the graphics of the lava.

Mr. Jif says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:48pm

I really loved the mechanic of this game. Had me scratching my head for a little while :P Good job

IAmSpencer says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Really fun, new and unique controls/concept. Really great job :)

tompudding says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 8:36am

Phenomenal. Music was brilliant, looks gorgeous, genius idea.

May 18, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Nice take on the classic snake. Would be nice to have more levels and ease into the difficulty. Found it quite hard from the third level. Also enjoyed the way you used the simple graphics.

ActionRemix says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Woo, I beat Level 4! Level 2 was the hardest because I didn't notice the powerup blocks.

mechabit says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Actually really fun, can see this expanding into a full game with more levels and block types

Yword says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Very unique and innovative gameplay! The glow effects are pretty cool! Well done!

kristof says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Even though it is a snake game, it feels very unique, thanks to the gravity mechanic. The art style is nice and the music and sounds fit in very good!
I had some technical problems: The web version wouldn't load for me and I had to manually change the permissions for the downloadable Mac version. Also the zip file could not be unzipped by the default tool.
Besides these technical hurdles, the game was awesome!

Photon says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Whoa! This is pretty nifty!

I personally didn't find it too harrowing, but I've been playing games for a long time. Definitely would like to see this with more content and more clever puzzles. Great job!

Brodenino says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Pretty neat idea combining snake with platforming mechanics. Tricky puzzles but they gave a great amount of challenge. I would definitely want to try out a newer version with more challenging levels :)!

goerp says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Ha, what a nice idea. But sooo difficult.
Good music. I hope you're planning to work on it some more

Dominator_101 says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Nice game! It would've been nice to have some things explained, like the fact that the green blocks expanded your snake, but I think the fact that they were surrounded by lava at least draws your attention to them and makes you assume that they do something useful.

I'm glad you only needed two green blocks on level 4, because otherwise I don't think I would've beaten it :P The other two blocks ended up falling to where they probably would have been unreachable for me.

But nice game overall! I wish there were more than 4 levels, but that's pretty good given the time limit.

ViKing Games says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:45pm

I loved the mechanics and the levels to go with it! A post-compo version could be very fun. However, there's not much connection to the theme.

Also, I beat it. If you want a screenshot sent over, I can do that too.

Jiggawatt says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:06pm

I am so smart, I am so smart, laa laa lalaa, I am so smart

Jiggawatt says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:07pm

S-M-A-R-T

HOO HOO HOO HOO

GFM says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Noooooooo. There were too few levels. >_< (yep, I did beat it =D... after some tries... XD)
Nice snake game! It's really fun, and different from the original. The platformer mechanics made this really interesting. :)

And kudos for the nice and simple graphics and the sfx.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Very enjoyable, with a cool concept to boot. I didn't think it was anywhere near as hard as the comments are making it out to be, but it was still difficult. Fun, though, enough so that I wanted to play through to the end. ( http://imgur.com/H8rWcLy )

7heSAMA says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:29pm

You were definitely right in your post mortem about it being too hard.. got stuck on the third level (w/ the balls). Really cool though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]