Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

QP : Fix the leak!

by ElStevo - Jam Entry

Edit: I found by playing other game, that there is a small bug with unity web player. Often the mouse event are not working and you have to switch TAB and return to the game to recover and being able to play.

QP : Fix the leak is a 2D game where you have to fix an oil leak. You must bring the oil cap to the bottom of the ocean to fix the leak on the pipe.

Use the keyboard to move through the obstacle and beat the timer! You have 90 seconds to fix the leak. Avoid touching the sharp rock or the bucket will be destroyed!

To move in the game use right, left, up and down arrow.

This game keep track of the stats by using GameAnalytics.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#179Theme(Jam)3.54
#216Innovation(Jam)3.35
#356Fun(Jam)3.02
#398Overall(Jam)3.16
#428Humor(Jam)2.42
#456Audio(Jam)2.87
#491Mood(Jam)2.85
#594Graphics(Jam)2.77

Comments

snapman_GT says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Most current-events games don't try to make you sympathize with the trials of giant corporations. Interesting choice of theme! The swinging mechanic was novel, thought I was kind of expecting vertical movement to have more of an influence on it.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:17am

Nice game. Tricky though, that swinging motion of the bucket got frustrating in a good way XD.
Small amount of criticism would be to have some form of indicator that showed how far from the spill you are.

Ozeotropo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:41am

very nice! i really liked the swinging mechanic and also how you played with the ilumination.

ZQMony says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:01am

Very fun and addicting. It is also challenging, but not impossible.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:05am

Was suspenseful not knowing how far I had left to go, seeing the timer count down. Well done!

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:10am

Fun game, great choice for the theme! Also, pretty challenging...

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:12am

Good balancing! I like it!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:15am

Nice work! The physics are pretty unforgiving, but the music and countdown give a sense of grim purpose.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:31am

Nice mechanics for the swinging, very innovative I love it ! Great work :)

Nition says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:08am

Nice. I noticed that it's possible to leave the bucket entirely on a ledge somewhere - is that intentional?

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:10am

Hi, I like your game idea. Controlling is tough, but feels possible, a good balance!

ElStevo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:15am

@Nition : Not intentional, but you cannot win if you don't bring the cap on the leak...

yo_milo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:15am

Amazing Game! Almost a perfect score! I enjoyed it so, so very much.

BenW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:46am

Fun but simple. I liked how much the cap physics added to the game.

rojo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:31am

Pretty simple, but surprisingly fun. The music added a nice bit of atmosphere as well.

Bashosha says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Good work, I like the graphics and sfx =) and the physics

Lucariatias says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:37pm

The physics seemed kind of lousy, the bucket often getting stuck or swinging seemingly randomly. It would have been handy to have a progress bar down the side, and the menu graphics weren't great.
However, the mechanic was incredibly innovative and not something I've seen before, the music was fantastic and kept me on the edge of my seat, and it was a decent enough experience.

matt_j says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Cool idea. Takes patience. Good use of physics.

ceosol says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:27am

ah, so that's why it took so long to stop the leak. They were swinging a cap into the ocean ridges :)

May 2, 2014 @ 3:38am

Simple but cool game. I included this game in part 7 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Lm7qNa6SIqA

mikedirl says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:06am

Nice game, very original. Well done.

May 3, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Nice entry. I liked the challenge added by the swinging of the bucket.

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:15pm

I cannot get past the menu :( On win7 using chrome 34.0.1847.131

ElStevo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Yes is seems there is an issue with unity in chrome... switch tab and return to fix the mouse event issue... lots of game in this LD got it...

May 4, 2014 @ 12:16pm

A nice mechanic: I liked it. Maybe a tiny bump isn't worth 20% of your hp?

I don't know that you even need a capping mini-game. If you added progressively harder things to avoid on the way down, you'd have enough for quite a few levels.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:53pm

It's pretty easy to get down when you take your time, but when you try to get down faster it gets exponentially harder! I gave you the most points for innovation, I've never seen anything like it and there's a lot of room for cool things you could add to expand the game. Great job!

cardboard says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:10pm

I like the swinging mechanic, and after I figured out how to control it effectively, I could speed my way down to the bottom. The mini-game at the end seemed pretty random. The music fits well with the feel of the game.

Garris says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:52am

The swinging mechanic is what saved the gameplay. The graphics are good, and the sound is good other than the damage effect being too loud compared to the music. Music was really nice. The swinging mechanic took a somewhat tired gameplay formula and made it interesting, challenging, and fun. Good job!

frogcheese says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Interesting theme, and really tricky game - the swinging mechanic was perfect for it. I did manage to finish eventually. The music was good and made you feel pressured - though my headphones almost exploded by a weird sound right as the game finished loading so I'll dock you an audio star for my poor ears' sakes. All in all it's a good, short and fun game - well done!

copain says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:43pm

interesting physic. More levels will be fine.
But why join two ball at the end? I don't understand the logic...

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]