Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Excogitatoris

by Conchlab Games - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You work inside a brain. You must find your way through each level to ensure that the brain functions correctly. You are the real worker beneath the surface.

Directions:
Use the arrow keys to move left and right. Use the space bar to jump. Press "R" to reset the level. Press "Enter/Return" to enter a door once you've collected all the keys. You have 30 seconds to beat each level.

Requires Adobe Flash.
The downloaded SWF file can be run in your browser or in the Flash Player Debugger.

All Levels Can Be Beaten. If You Aren't Beating Them Its Because You Are Going Too Slow. Make Sure To Press Enter Once You Get To The Open Door!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#651Audio2.59
#939Graphics2.57
#939Theme2.74
#990Humor1.78
#1151Mood2.10
#1233Fun1.80
#1242Overall2.11
#1252Innovation1.71

Comments

monika says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:45am

Cute! Checking before I rate it - is it just the one level? I could never tell if I was running out of time or actually making it though the door and then starting over.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:15pm

@monika All levels can be beaten, you must be taking too long.

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:23pm

I had the key and collided with the door and tried the left side of the screen but nothing happens until it restarts (which I assumed was level complete). I played that 3 times before I stopped. Just read up the description above (again, believe it or not) and noticed your have to "press enter". That's absurd. :(

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:24pm

@Gwinnell, the game can be beaten with the pressing enter requirement. Its not absurd.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Quite fun. Nice and simple graphics. The controls feel a bit slow.

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Controls were a little iffy, but nice use of the theme.

codevinsky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:55pm

I couldn't event jump over the first step in the game.

gwa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:57pm

cool sound

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:57pm

@codevinsky Perhaps you should try using the spacebar. If you didn't read the directions I can't help you.

kristof says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Nice little platformer. The controls feel a bit strange. I think its because the horizontal movement stops while pressing jump. Also having to press enter when reaching the open door feels unnecessary. But I had some fun playing it!

4KbShort says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:50am

Good simple sounds, nice music, good controls. No timer plus knowing there's a 30 second limit makes it a bit intense, but that's all part of the fun.

acerunox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:24am

So, controls are really weird, especially when you jump and horizontal movement stops. Also the character shake a bit when you're moving. As @kristof said, having to press enter feels unnecessary. Two times I've pressed enter, screen turned black, but level still restarted. Good graphics, audio also not too bad. Overall - it was fine.

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Cool little game. The jumping was a bit awkward, it kept refusing to let me jump over blocks until I figured out I had to let go of the space bar to do so. Was that intentional? Feels weird, but it's not too bad once you get used to it. Nice job.

Marcellus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:27am

Jumping is really painfull and music seems to be randomly generated. I liked the story tho

DrMelon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:36pm

A nice little platformer, but when you hold space (on the Web version at least) it stops you from moving left or right in the air. Good effort! :)

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:40pm

The jumping felt a bit weird, but liked it all in all.

Trilby says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:20pm

I like the jazzy music and I like that there is an invisible time limit which adds a bit of tension to the basic key finding formula.

Holding space bar whilst being in the air doesn't move the character. I don't get why you have to press enter at the door.

MintArcade says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:32am

Nice. Controls are bit slow.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:27am

Jumping was incredibly frustrating; if you hold space for any longer than the millisecond you need to jump it kills your horizontal movement. This is pretty much inexcusable in a platformer, especially a timed one.

Cool music though.

Jeff0029 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 11:14pm

I was curious to know what was the meaning behind the name of the game. Interesting use of the theme.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]