Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Blackwald Forest

by TeamFlare - Jam Entry

Wow! We really got this finished.
Team Flare presents : Blackwald Forest

A game completely done from scratch within this Ludum Dare.
From the black forest made with the black forest.
Making of's of the whole process involved with such a big team and all the 3D scanning will follow soon :)
It's a big download, so be patient :) We'll provide builds for other versions soon.

Beneath the Schwarzwald lures an lonely lovely imp.
He and the princess fell in love.
But the King, is against this tender relationship and sends out the bravest knights of them all to get her into a proper relationship.

HOW TO PLAY :
-Use right mouse to walk.
-Left mouse to pull a lever.
-Knights must not reach the princess.
-Use the imp's traps to kill 'em all!!

TeamFlare:
Tanja, Tom, Peer, Rebekka, Timo, Jan, Fred, Olaf, Benno, Benito, Steffi.
Special thanks to Thomas, Marian and Benjamin. And the old man.

Happy bloodbath! :)

Edit :
We uploaded builds for Mac and Linux, corrected missing teammember in the titlescreen (sorry Olaf!), and decreased the filesize (aka who needs mipmaps)
Enjoy! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#12Graphics(Jam)4.64
#34Humor(Jam)3.86
#38Overall(Jam)3.92
#57Audio(Jam)3.94
#84Fun(Jam)3.59
#101Innovation(Jam)3.67
#112Mood(Jam)3.71
#163Theme(Jam)3.57

Comments

JALgames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:00am

Very nice game! IT's an interesting adaption of the theme and the game is very polished!

sol_invictus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:51am

Plain awesome! Can't wait to see the making of.

pate says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:48am

Awesome game. Very cool!

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:12am

Cool art! Always wondered if something was setting up traps in platformers on purpose.

ruerob says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:24am

Very good and exciting game. But i would like another kind of controlls. Thank you for this game.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Nice gameplay and art is very very cool. But it was was too big, it too some minutes to load it here, maybe it could be a little more faster.

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Thanks alot :) We'll try to get some better compression for the textures to make the game abit smaller.

Maniulo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Very nice idea, but the controls seemed kind of clunky. Maybe optional keyboard controls could work better.

eteeski says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Very amazing! Great presentation! Really fun gameplay!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:47pm

The development was pretty good, game play felt a little bit stale but other then that, good game!

TowelKing says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Incredibly polished game for a jam, well done. I enjoyed the mechanic of slaughtering the invading knights as well. And i really liked the video intro.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Really nice art! Controls are a little unresponsive sometimes though, but overall it's very good!

radmars says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Very pretty, loved the graphics style, audio was great too.
The controls were a big painpoint for me though, too sluggish and clunky. Takes a good amount of the fun out of it. :( Great entry though :D

jellyfishlion says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:54pm

That was amazing... There was something oddly satisfying about seeing those knights get slaughtered, especially when squishing them with the rocks. ;) Great job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:56pm

I feel like a terrible person for playing this.
The polish is astounding but the controls feel kinda rigid.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Awesome !
The music and the graphics are fantastics !
and the gameplay is so cool (:

DeathBread says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Overall a great game! Very well polished and a fun experience.

vilya says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Wow! Absolutely amazing!

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:22pm

This is sooo frickin' polished, hot damn nice work y'all. Llllloved it.

jacklehamster says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:12am

The game is gorgeous. Even though this is 3D, at first glance it looked like something you would find in stop motion animation.

Democritus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Good job on the intro video - it's really minimal but works well. A bit shorter would have been nice though :)

TaleLore says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Very cool.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Well done game and the opening intro was something I hadn't seen yet, so nice job. Also fun to kill off those pesky knights.

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Really f***ing fun game, nice!

May 1, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Sublime work ! Absolutely amazing, the sounds and music, the intro video, the wonderful graphics... The ending is also amazing, the lose video is great. Amazing work guys !

PriorBlue says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Wow, the intro/outro is just amazing. The graphics speaks for himself and the game concept is hilarious. This is really art! 5 of 5 Stars for your team.

bombjack says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Amazing art and fun gameplay! great job!

MattV says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:39pm

great game, great art, fun to play! Not much challenge but loved killing those dudes.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Punish the knights! Yeah!

The graphics are so beautiful. The best in this LD I think! I'm standing there looking at the 3D. Wow! You guys knew what you were doing!!!!!!!

The game could be a little more engaging, but it's a good start! Are you developing further?

Lovely to see this, top marks for graphics!!

XenosNS says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Love the artwork! Gruesome but fun.

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:12am

Great game and well polished. Great job.

mortus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:47am

Awesome game! Glad I've found it, it's getting so much less attention than it deserves!

StoneMasters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:50am

Got stuck on a few bugs. Had some trouble with changing the active station of the character also. But overall it had humor and was fun to play, with interesting graphics. :)

Konrad Zegis says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Woah, looks very good, and reminds me visually of Little Big Planet :D and I love concept. It's good to be bad once in a while :)

ActionRemix says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:56am

Wow, I feel TERRIBLE :|

spotco says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:35am

Ridiculously impressive art!

SK16Games says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Hahaha genious game xD Love the sound acting :D

DustyStylus says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Absolute loveliness! <3 Main character anim seemed unusual, but it might be the speed he moves out. That's a *very* pedantic and minor point for what is an amazing entry. Well done!

ninjascript says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Thanks for the cats!

Hippolyta says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:07pm

A very nice and polished game!
It looks amazing for a LD entry and plays very well - good job!

Lars Faust says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Weird mix of english and german in the title and description (why not just stick with Schwarzwald? Or Black Forest?), but apart from that the presentation is something very unique for a LD game. Good job.

Gameplay fits the theme and plays well, too.

May 4, 2014 @ 4:22pm

what a unique style! nice work!

flavio says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Very nice entry !
The controls where not that easy on a trackpad, but I really liked your result
Nice work !

Looking for the next par of you making of :)
Cheers !

Split82 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Great job. I got few problems with controls but otherwise it's perfect!

PaperBlurt says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:04pm

It's like a true fairy tale with awesome graphics.
Amazeballs.

mcapraro says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:20am

Well done guys, interesting mechanic and really high-quality visuals!

Zerkruemler says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Quite unique game loosely coupled with the theme. Fantastic graphics and nice sounds. The gameplay is also interesting for a while...

May 5, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Good job guys, that's a really nice game with a unic design! =)
(just there is a bug on level 2, no any new knights was spawning when I reach 12/14)

conormn says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:42am

Really love the concept here. Great job on the execution!

wicht says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:22am

Very well executed game. The art style is quite awesome. Had fun, thanks!

jorgemoag says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:38pm

AWESOME GRAPHICS!!!
I love the game

Adrian says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 11:42am

Your game is very nice!!
Gameplay and graphics are fantastic !

MokuJin says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:49pm

When i see the graphics ... WOOAHHH !!! Awesome !
The animations are impressive.
And when the knights dies ... FATALITY !

The sounds are great too.

The end video is very cool and made me laugh a lot.

An excellent entry.

11 peoples ! you are an hell of a team !

I've not manage to move the character to see what's coming, maybe some traveling instead of clicking on the next trap to move him.

May 11, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Excellent work!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:50am

Woah, the production value on this is amazing! Loved the intro video and graphics and narration!

aelita1992 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Wow, cool graphics and interesting game, hope it will be further developed.

Anoarith says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 3:46am

Ahah I wasn't expecting this intro that was really cool :D !

Graphics were absolutely awesome ! Gameplay was original but maybe too repetitive.

Great game anyway :) !

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 5:14am

bloody well done - I love the tower defense idea - and the models were great

kirbytails7 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 7:13am

Very fun and very polished! It would be nice to have a bit more time to scout things out before the knights start spawning.

Oye Beto says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 8:07am

At first it was confusing which click was for what but then I got used to it.

Great job with the graphics, animations are too simple but the game looks good overall.

udo says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 10:14am

Wow, that was simply amazing work, very well done black-forest people!

lukepilgrim says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 11:56am

what an awesome game! the music rocks!

May 16, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Superb graphics and mood control, but the gameplay... just lolz

phi says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 10:46am

Love it! You know how to entertain me, even with a simple game like this. I could sit here and watch these knights die all day... Does this sound weird?
But seriously, great job on graphics and sound. I love that the atmosphere is kind of dusky, but the silly music and sound effects make it an awesome combination of mysticality and black humour.
Thanks for this, and congratulations on your victory in advance!

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Very nice! The timing is a bit hard to work out, though.

CodeNMore says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Well designed, and fun! Well done!

ob6160 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Fun to play great story and humorous too :)

kikaz says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Wow, just perfect ! Cool graphics, nice polished, excellent tower defense game style ! nice Intro and Outro ^^

GFM says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Very fun game!
The narration was a great special touch.

And wow... that scenario!

Dans17 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Cool game! Except it took me a few times to get it to work. This is due to a bug that happens when you try to crush one of the knights with a block. If you miss by a little bit, the knight will turn around and if they make it all the way back to the beginning of the level they will walk off of the map making the level unbeatable as the knight is still alive.

elefantopia says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:17am

Nice game! Cool sound effects and graphics. Gruesome deaths :(

wilbefast says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Hehe this is like reverse-lemmings :P might need a little more gameplay polish (too much latency between clicking on a trap and the trap being activated IMHO), but certainly from a graphical and audio point of view the game is just beautiful ^^ I really love the trailer too, you guys are insane ;)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]