Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Clone Escape

by cudabear - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are Unit 3429x3, made to fight in a ravaging surface war. When you refused, you were put to death, or so your manufacturers thought. By some miracle you survived, and you're looking to get out. Escape the underground Clone factory and secure your future. Not even your manufacturers know what's under the surface.

This game should work in any modern browser, but has only been thoroughly tested in Chrome.

Controls:
Left + Right arrows: left and right
Up arrow: jump
Down arrow: crouch (makes it nearly impossible for enemies to see you)
Mouse: Aim
Click: Shoot (your bullets are limited until the last level)
Down arrow x2: fall through platform (when on one)

There are two endings. Can you find them both?

(If you can't see the entire game because of small screen resolution, zoom out the browser. It should function fine.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#240Overall3.53
#248Fun3.42
#249Mood3.41
#315Humor2.84
#324Audio3.13
#562Innovation3.06
#700Graphics2.94
#774Theme3.00
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Great game, was challenging but not in a unfair way. made me dig in and get past it. well done

suurin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Hard and fun, just how I like it. Good work!

xandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:27pm

very neat platformer!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:31pm

I love stealth games and the "you've got one shot/few shots" thing was great.
While simplistic, the graphics are great at information distribution, so kudos on that.

PS: I had to zoom ou in order to fit the game on my screen (1366 x 768)

Move127 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Fun and challenging, very good qualities for a game to have. Great game!

simon02 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Nice game. Pretty hard, but rewarding. Cool!

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Solid platformer.

Newt_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Really great! I love the limited amount of ammo.

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:00am

This was a fun one. Felt like it had a good progression, and the difficulty was primarily a result of doing badly or being impatient rather than just being impossibly hard like some can be. Good work!

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:01am

Fun and also frustrating. It was at the last level I found out that the bullet has an arc which would've saved me from a lot of frustration. Good game though and funny story.

5T4MP5 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:44am

The limited ammo worked really well to enforce the stealth aspect of the game. Crouching felt like it was just effective enough to keep the game interesting. Well done.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]