Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hammerfall

by borrismoose - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hammerfall

Help Bashy (affectionate nickname, real name unknown) rid the world of annoying critters. He's great with his hammer but needs your assistance to get within striking range.

You need to fire bombs from beneath the surface to propel him upwards and through a number of challenging levels. Try and finish each one as quickly as you can!

Controls:
Bashy moves and attacks by himself but he needs some guidance.

You control the arrow at the bottom of the screen. Click where you want it to fire. You can send Bashy and other enemies up in the air if you hit them. Hold down for longer to generate more power and fly higher!

NOTE #1 - If you are worried your sound is broken, don't worry, it's not! I ran out of time to put audio in, sorry everyone.

NOTE #2 - Regarding the source, everything is there apart from 2D Toolkit. If you wish to run the Unity project yourself, import 2D Toolkit and it should all work smoothly.

Update - 04th May 2014

Thanks for the comments everyone, I'm glad the game is being enjoyed. I've finally got around to fixing a few of the bugs caused by a sleep-deprived rush towards the deadline.

- Best times for stages are now saved and reported on game over screen.
- The player attack animation can be interrupted.
- Stage 2-3 has less bomb birds, replaced with casual birds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#29Innovation4.17
#269Fun3.39
#308Overall3.44
#456Humor2.57
#517Theme3.31
#579Graphics3.14
#719Mood2.81
#1053Audio1.33

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Love the concept! I don't think I haven't seen it anywhere before

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Favourite so far! Would be AMAZING with some sound

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Cute and addictive game, great job.

matheod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Wow, that's hard oO

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Nice mechanic! Very original idea and well executed.

Taffaz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Really liked this game. Good job!

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Nice entry. Really like the gameplay.

Reinkout says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:49pm

I thought it was pretty humorous! Thanks for the game.

dook says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Original idea, this could work pretty well with a little more work. Could be a great mobile app as well I imagine :)

Moosefly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Bleh, made it to phase 2 two times in ten or so tries, but died almost instantly after that :P. Those lancers really are quite something.

Nice graphics and simple yet interesting gameplay. Easy to learn, hard to master. Really solid game, even if I won't get to see the endgame.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

mihaivdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Cute game. I like the original mechanic. I think it would do well on mobiles. Keep it up!

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:06pm

The mechanic is really original, it's challenging to predict where to shoot so the player lands at the correct position, and I've never seen this concept before! Neat game! :)
(And btw, some sprites reminded me of Yoshi's Island :> )

ruerob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:23pm

The graphics remind me of Kirby. But the gameplay is addictive. Nice work.

local minimum says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Interesting idea, I like these alternative takes on controls that pop up every now and then.

My major reservation would be the collision detection for those with swords. Sometimes I could walk right through them (if either one had recently been in the air).

It was also a little too random, at least the feeling of too random that one was soaring through the air and a spear-walker came and not so much to do about it except accepting fate to come. Or I didn't get good enough at the game.

The symbols in the upper left corner I didn't decipher, so they could to with some clearer explanation or indication of when they are changing.

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:36am

Awesome innovative gameplay. With some graphical improvements and some rad audio, you have a hit. This would be awesome on phones. You better keep working on this!!! I MEAN IT!!!

rezzish says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:06am

Oh cool, I love how you control your little kirbyesque thing.

MrShoestore says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:33am

that is what they would call a mobile-friendly mechanic. nice game!

gwa says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:36am

Cool concept I like it :)

tomvert says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:06am

A weird game idea that is surprisingly very fun. I like the animation stop while hitting enemy, it gives a feeling of power like in kirby. The different enemies are interesting.

harko12 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:36am

nice twist on the bubble bobble type games. Pretty neat

bombjack says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:57am

I like the originality of the concept

jsmars says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Nice game and addicting gameplay, would really help with some sound! :)

romandtom says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Funny game lol.
I liked it

May 7, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Unity Web player is not available to linux users, which is a shame because I'd love to play your game! Maybe export to linux? If you do, let me know (you know where to find me).

jujule says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:17pm

A nice idea that perfectly matches the theme. As others have said, you could really polish this and publish it for mobile devices. I'd like to see that.

borrismoose says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:31pm

@arrogant.gamer - Thanks for letting me know, I was not aware of that. I have uploaded a Linux build now.

joe40001 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Innovative, plus Hammer Kirby is cute.

mystakin says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:28am

I can't lie, I think this could be the base to an amazing mobile game. The kirby-style graphics are adorable, and its addictiveness is undeniable. Awesome job.

Jacic says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:11am

Great art style. :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]