Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Underball

by Roks87 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Update: should now be working in Firefox and Chrome as expected.


Getting more efficient with time with every new Ludum game.


Controls: Left mouse button 99% of the time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#572Graphics3.15
#948Audio1.83
#1092Innovation2.26
#1161Mood2.06
#1181Theme2.10
#1204Overall2.30
#1235Fun1.79
#1692Coolness40%

Comments

Zupoman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:43pm

I get a white text "Begin" for half of a second, then black screen and nothing happens.

revilossor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:46pm

i think there was a bug stopping me aim - on win8 chrome 34 the crosshair kept appearing / disappearing and wasn't where my mouse was

kratorspore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Yeah I didn't have any aiming facility for some reason :(

dusho says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:54pm

there is no aim for me (win7, chrome), so not even sure how to play this.. ball just spins with mouse down, but after that I have no idea what is going on

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:10pm

It just comes up with a black screen for me. Win7/Firefox.

Sodaware says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Everything works great for me (using Firefox on Linux). The spin up animation is a little slow so it's not initially clear what's going on, but after the first try it all makes sense. Looks great, too!

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Hi! There's a problem the the controls as many have stated (win8, chrome). It took me a while to realise that you're not supposed to have control once the ball is moving (or are you?). Still, the initial click was turning up not where my mouse was.

The concept seems cool overall, and the art is great. Nice little parallax in the background too. Good job. Try to fix up the controls and I'd love to play again.

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:40am

It looks pretty good, but the control doesn't seem to work in chrome/win7.

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:20pm

I dont understand anything :/, graphics are good btw..

elefantopia says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:47am

Interesting graphics. The game worked for me, I was able to complete a few levels by knocking down the blocks.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]