Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tentacle Rails

by javifugitivo - Jam Entry

You are a mercenary that has been sended to a mine to destroy a plague of tentacles. you must travel in a mine-cart through labyrinths of rails using levels to change paths, while you destroy hundreds of enemies: slimes, tentacles and other obstacles that you must defeat before arriving to the surface...

Control: Left-Click with your mouse to shoot projectiles to destroy enemies and obstacles. You can shoot to levels to change its positions.

Tip: The levers are near of the turrets, first you have to destroy a turret to activate the switch.

Features:

- A big level with a lot of action and puzzles!
- You only has to worry in destroy your enemies!
- Enemies with pathfinding to find you and ... kill you?

Credits:

Developer: Javier Martinez Vidal
Artists: Eduardo Perez Pastor & Sinda

Post-Mortem:http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/04/29/tentacle-rails-post-mortem/


Note: If you have low perfomance in Html5, try Windows version.

Update: Fix to the problem with the visibility of the levers, and version to Android systems added!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#84Overall(Jam)3.72
#90Fun(Jam)3.56
#128Graphics(Jam)4.07
#192Humor(Jam)3.07
#225Mood(Jam)3.38
#250Innovation(Jam)3.29
#322Audio(Jam)3.17
#610Theme(Jam)2.61

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:36am

I like the art style and level design! Awesome job!!

kivifreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:41am

Good graphics!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:54am

Awesome

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:57am

great job, there's a lot of content here. Maybe you should add some screenshake to get a better feeling on the guns :D

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:34am

Thanks for the comments! pereubu, It would be a great feature for a future mobile version with more levels ;-)

bombjack says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:02am

nice art.

tacs says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:24am

Love it!

Fox_in_sox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:55am

Really amazing! Took me a while to figure out what exactly is the lever, but I managed to find it in the end.:D The visuals are beautiful.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:08am

very nice!

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:34pm

I have updated to fix the problem with the lever (I consider that it is a bug. Now is bigger and more visible).

Jeremias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:51pm

These graphics are really well made but with many enemies, it gets a bit confusing. Like pereubu said, add screenshake :D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Very nice graphics!! The mechanics works perfectly. Hope u get a nice place cause it deserves! :D

nicolashognon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:51pm

great gfx. music is good. perhaps controls can be smoother. good game.

Citsua says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Extremely addictive game with great graphics ! Good job !

Nezzhil says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Please, hightlight the levers a little, to find them better.
Really fun. Good job :)

wdebowicz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:33pm

After few seconds my audio was brake (just a strange noise) anyway Very good game!

Helopol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:39pm

I love the graphics ! This is fun,even though I had some diffculties to find the levers

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Thanks for the feedback! I know that the levers are a bit hidden, but it's part of the gameplay. Thanks for playing our game, we are very proud of it!

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:33pm

very nice oldshool mood!

Hob623 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Really nice game. I especially like the music and graphics. At first I had trouble figuring out how to move on (I didn't notice the lever or even know they existed) but it's kinda fun!

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:43pm

The art style in this was really fantastic. I loved it, also it was pretty damn fun. Great job :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:43am

Cool idea. Certainly one of the better games I've seen this competition. Love the art style.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:35am

I like the puzzle elements of shooting the switches. Nicely done!

gnerkus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:28am

I've taken too much sugar in my eye. =(

The game was a little slow.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:38am

Really cool! I love the art style, the music, the concept... Everything! :)

dmcfarline says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:30am

Really cool artwork, I like the fuzzy spore clouds when you kill enemies

quill18 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew!

thinkster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Awesome game, really enjoyed it!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Whoooaaa so much action! Really pro game!

Wakka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Really fun game. The GFX effects are awesome!

7heSAMA says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:03am

Character felt basically invincible which didn't give me much incentive to try hard. Also, bunched up enemies all died from a single bullet.

Individually the sprites are nice, but it's hard to tell what's what as everything (objectives, loot, enemies, terrain) all blends together. I like the PC sprite a lot though, he's rad.

NicoM says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:36am

Great game! very smooth animation, something about that full 360 character really impresses me, fun gameplay to!! great job!

KevinWorkman says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:50am

This is a great start to a fun little game. But did you really make it for ludum dare? Didn't really see the theme and I would guess it took more than one weekend to make!

javifugitivo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:27am

Yes,the theme is that the action is in a cave belowvthe surface,a mine with rails. And we have slept about 8 hours those days. I was doing streaming in twitch as proof ;-)

flavio says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Crazy and fun ! Cool visuals and gameplay. It seems to me that the game is a little bit hard to play, right from the beginning !

MintArcade says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Great humor and fun. Was enjoying your game a lot.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Well this is the most unapologetic on-rails-shooter I've ever played and it's not bad!

The gameplay is hectic and fun, but I do have a few complaints.

The player hitbox is a tad too big. If enemies come outside of the screen, around corners or spawn right next to you there is too little time to react before they collide into the cart.

I'd prefer a secondary single shot attack which only hits levers, or something similar, as accidentally shooting a lever multiple times is annoying.

Health pickups or, I can't believe I'm saying this, regenerating health might also work to reward skillful play even more.

Dreii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:10am

Wow! the animation on the character is amazingly well done! hats off man! the gameplay's really good too with a nice difficulty gate mechanic good stuff :)

CupcakeMedia says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:28am

A top down rail shooter? That's surprisingly a not bad idea. Pretty fun, actually.

javifugitivo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:37am

Thanks for the comments and pieces of advice. We will work in a version for android with more level an features using your feedback!

vinull says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Wow, amazing job all! The gameplay was fun and the art is really good. This would be a game I'd work on making a full release of.

Venturelli says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:31am

Very literal take on "on-rails shooter" that is super interesting :D Congrats on the cool graphics as well!

ninjacharlie says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Ha, a literal rail shooter :D

Pretty fun game, I would have liked to have some more mechanics, but what you had there was good. Good job :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Very cool game, reminds me of snes game, art is very polished too, I just didn't liked the gun sound it is a bit annoying.

PaperBlurt says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Rail shooters ARE fun.
I can focus on killing and shooting instead of steering.

Like the badass guy in the cart too!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:23am

took a bit to figure out the levers - relaly nice game - great job

May 7, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Ha, this is awesome :D

Love the level-design, among other things :)

Waterman7 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Nice concept, and great art! It was really fun to just mindlessly shoot at everything that moved.
I was kinda missing an overall directive though, I was not really sure if I was trying to get to a certain point in the level or just had to make as many points as possible.

conormn says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:58am

Really great style. Mechanics and execution were excellent!

caranha says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:12am

Pretty novel idea. It needs some polish, for example when you lose a life you teleport with no feedback -- at first I thought the game had glitched. But definitely has potential.

May 16, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Impressive graphics

GFM says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Nice graphics! How the health is represented is really cool, but not all that practical...
The game is good, but since the bullets go through enemies, it's hard not to shoot those scepters...

Nice game. :)

TeamFlare says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Very cool and fun. Of course graphics are great, sound also, but what I liked most was the playability and the fun when blasting monsters :) Do you intend to develop that further? I can totally see this on the playstore :)

javifugitivo says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Thanks for all the feedback! Yes, we are already working in a version for Google Play with more levels and features and better graphics ;-)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]