Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dig Dig My Friend

by eckcz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use W-A-S-D for navigating the map.
Use mouse wheel for Zoom in/out.

Click On The "Dig Center" for the upgrade menu.

ClickMouse on a Digger and ReleaseMouse to a Mine to give command.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#489Fun3.09
#508Overall3.22
#699Innovation2.87
#715Audio2.47
#830Mood2.68
#849Humor2.00
#916Theme2.78
#950Graphics2.55

Comments

zinfandel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Cool game. There's something very frustrating about the coins slowing down when they near the mouse, it's not intuitive why they do it, makes you wait for them.
Love all the different upgrades you can play around with.
Also, I would suggest having the menu always visible in some corner, as I could have easily missed it...
Good job over all, this game works :)

Filecreation says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:24pm

I can dig it!
its a nice and simple digging system with a greatly satisfying flow of coins sliding towards the cursor.
If it could be expanded on a little more, do it!
I can imagine there might be mobs spawning somewhere that can attack your HUB, so you have to multitask and assign different kinds of workers to different kinds of tasks.

whilefun says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:54pm

This was a pretty fun game. I kept playing for a long time! :) It would be cool if the mouse had some visual indicator of magnetic range (even a basic aura or circle graphic) and force. The use of multiple pickaxe/dig sounds was nicely done. 15 minutes of digging on repeat never got annoying or grating, which is saying something! Nice job :)

SecularBaron says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Fun game. The progression was addicting.

jestar_jokin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Nice and addictive :) Great work, especially given the time constraints!

Jeasonfire says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Well, there goes 20 minutes. What a great game. The sound of mining/digging is satisfying, as well as all the gold popping up. One thing that was kinda frustrating though, was that the gold slowed down when near the mouse so you had to wait for it. Also, I found a bug, that when you buy things in rapid succession (eg. double click an upgrade to upgrade it 2 times) it buys the second one even if you don't have the money to do so. Anyways, such a great game.

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Good work making this, it's pretty funny dig only for the pleasure of dig more!

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Could be made into a very nice idlegame, a shame that the game pause if you click somewhere else.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Nice! Really addictive!

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Very addictive.

pkenney says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Yeah, addictive. I don't even play these kinds of click-n-watch games at ALL, but this one sucked me in anyway! I think it might have been the sounds. If there was anything I'd change, it would be the move the menu over to the side instead of having it be an overlay. I left it open all the time and it felt a little bit odd being over the game area. Totally not a big deal at all, just a tiny thing.

pikkpoiss says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:33am

Felt pretty easy to zone out and just enjoy zooming around in circles with the keyboard picking up coins. There's something so satisfying about picking up the coins, which kept me playing. I guess the coins disappear though, so eventually my circle got big enough that zooming around wasn't fast enough to pick up all the coins each time through, even though I was adding more diggers and upgrading them all the time, I was losing all the gains just because I couldn't pick stuff up fast enough. This is where better control over the diggers would be appreciated, it was hard to rebalance them over to the same part of the map (but I guess part of the challenge of the game). Thanks!

elefantopia says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:07am

Mesmerizing and fun! Weirdly addictive. Really nice sounds and graphics!

May 14, 2014 @ 10:15pm

The gameplay is addictive, i love the digging sound xD. You should continue making the game and add like enemys, buildings and all of that. Great work :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]