Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Find

by Alexis Moroz - Jam Entry

The Find is about discovering new things in the world wide sea...

But remember that if every fishes are worth finding, your chances of discovering new things are much better in the depth of the ocean!

And if you like The Find, you can go and create your own ocean here : http://metalchouchen.com/thefind/portable/create

Created by Damien Blanchard, Alexis Moroz, and Raphael Sfeir - Music by Maxence Bouhenic

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#6Innovation(Jam)4.24
#97Theme(Jam)3.74
#108Humor(Jam)3.44
#128Mood(Jam)3.64
#150Overall(Jam)3.56
#226Graphics(Jam)3.74
#240Audio(Jam)3.35
#446Fun(Jam)2.87
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

awanegenebayo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Funny concept!

Gaeel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Salut à toi, monsieur Jam Shaker!
Je me suis trouvé empli de tristesse quand j'ai vu que ce jeu n'avait pas encore de voix, et je me suis empressé de tester ça et voici mon commentaire post-evaluation n.n

Je me trompe peut-être, mais je n'ai pas trouvé de fin, est-ce simplement un manque de temps, ou est-ce que le joueur est censé se rendre compte qu'à force de trop pécher, la mer sera vide, et finalement les choses étaient belles avant notre intervention?

Dans tous les cas, jolie ambiance, une mer mystérieuse emplie de béstioles étranges qu'on a envie de découvrir...

Zupoman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Interesting concept. I didn't like that you are "teleported" back to the beginning when you fish something, and also that the webpage the fish leads when eaten is opened in the same tab as the game, closing it. Also, thanks for leading me for some interesting stuff I never heard of before :)

Alexis Moroz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Thanks for the comments!
Gaeel: Nice interpretation - myself, I'd say that it doesn't have and ending because the whole game is meant to be a "beginning" of sort, a nudge toward existing things...
Zupoman: the "teleport" is there to artificially increase the lenght of the game ^_^ ... Also, the closing the page when you eat a fish was meant to give so "weight" to your choice and imply that the real game is about enjoying your find. But maybe it's a bit radical, you're right...

Gaeel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:28pm

I did NOT understand that I could reel in the fish...
This changes everything!

Alexis Moroz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:11pm

ah ah, you're not the first to miss that... We should definitely add some kind of visual hint ^^'

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:41pm

I... just fished up 'Call Me Maybe'. And my fishing is being impeded by some katakana. Bonkers concept, but looks cool and can't argue with a nice fishing game :D

dook says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:46pm

That was weird. But in a good way! Took me a while to figure out how to reel in the fish. And I have no idea what the point was, but fishing for weird stuff on the internet is always fun ;)

Nelly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:47pm

YEAH!! Nice movie)))

DannyG59 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:56pm

hahaha this is hilarious! awesome game dude

tschery says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:21pm

pretty decent game. the music in combination with this nice pixel art set the right mood real quick =) I am enjoying the mood of this game more then the gameplay itself though

Raphy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:25am

Wow such a great concept good work !!!

Spotline says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:29am

Very cool concept, it took me quite some time to figure out how to reel the fish

Helopol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:15pm

AWESOME concept, really. Hard to fit it in the categories of the LD tho, but you can say that's a sign of originality :>

Pierrec says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Serendipity's back!
Well done, this is really clever! I might use the editor to list my 10 favorite LD entries ^^

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:19am

Really awesome concept. Not good as a game but a really fun way of searching the internet :) needs more explosions :)

lukepilgrim says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:40am

that's a cool concept

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:49am

This is a very intriguing idea.

wdebowicz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:46am

Cool concept! I don't like that catched fish is going out of the screen so fast, that sometimes I can't read what I found. Anyway, nice relaxing game!

NoNoBattle says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:52am

This concept is really fun and ingenious! I'm agreeing with Crooksister that it does feel more like browsing than playing a game, but it's an aid to get to cool and funny stuff.

Overall this game feels polished and has a clear concept.
Graphics, Music and Gameplay are all well-made and fitting.

I would really like to play this more often if I could filter the results at least slightly, so I can omit YouTube classics like Gangnam Style... Maybe by using different baits^^

Keep up! ;)

Meedoc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:55am

Excellent concept!

frankbsad says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Fun idea but it didn't work too well for me. the eat and release buttons only worked some of the time.

Anoarith says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:06pm

The editor makes the game awesome

Anoarith says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:51pm

I made one with only games from Ludum :D : https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/113753429/MyPool/index.htm

allinlabs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:21pm

The game can be so meta when associated with LD entries :D

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Really smart and creative idea! I loved digging for all the fishes to see what links each one had.

May 1, 2014 @ 5:13am

It kept me reeling them in.

May 3, 2014 @ 9:56am

Nice art and fishing mechanic. Good job, overall. I did not understand why it was redirecting me to web pages at all.

NeithR says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Great game ;)
Also, it will be better when you eat the fish, it will open to new tab instead the same tab as the game ;).

Waterman7 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Great concept! Loved the contrast between melancholy mood and absurd gameplay. Well done.

Pitoum says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:40am

SO AWESOME!
Best concept until now.
I'm speechless.

Simon says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:16pm

This is so awesome. Love it! Great job guys.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]