Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Surface Tablet

by EvilObjective - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The evil Clipton Virus infected your Surface Tablet. Take control of your Anti-Virus beneath your surface tablet and root out the virus!

Press A & D to move left and right. Press SPACE repeatedly to chase Clipton from port to port when prompted.

***Major sound issues*** Sound doesn't seem to work very well, I apologize. I also ran out of time so the game just repeats itself after 8 levels or so.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#79Humor3.61
#133Theme3.80
#172Fun3.55
#348Overall3.40
#440Innovation3.23
#729Graphics2.90
#758Mood2.77
#773Audio2.32

Comments

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:35pm

This is just pure fun. I wanted to give this a chance and I was really glad I did! I thought the gameplay was really solid. The levels got harder to collect everything and I was sad that the game started to repeat itself as I wanted to catch that evil Clipton! - nice work.

BadgerPriest says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:19am

I'm really happy that at least someone made a Surface tablet pun.

BadgerPriest says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:42am

Sounds worked fine for me, great choice of sound effects. I thought the addition of the bad firewall was clever, would definitely want to see it more in future levels. I also liked the rolling mechanism.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:47pm

The evil clip is god

SK16Games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:55pm

HAHAHA 5/5 for theme :D Very fun game, but would've been nice to kill Clipton, instead of just repeating.

eteeski says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:59pm

haha really funny idea for a game :) turned out pretty well. good level design :)

bentog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Great pun, great fun.

hanoth says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Very nice! That's a fun game.

Ariake81 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:45pm

neat game, great concept. particulary liked the shape of the anti virus and the little yellow segments. the gameplay was well thought through.

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Surprisingly cool game! A shame that you cannot catch evil clippy and just keep chasing him around.
Also nice play on the theme.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:47pm

As someone said, nice pun with the surface table... I found the game too repetitive for my taste, but at least you managed to get some new things on some of the levels =)

demonshanker2 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Good play on the theme! Straight forward and fairly fun, wish we could have destroyed the ever evasive Clippy.

0Creds says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Very well made. Had a ton of fun playing through this. Controlled very well, and had an interesting and hilarious premise. Great job.

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:36am

Nice game.

GamerTaters says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:37am

Damn you clippy! Cool game. I had fun.

May 2, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Cool concept, but sadly not very fun to play. I AM SORRY! However, I did like the mechanic that you need to use your pickups to advance.

clearlyspam23 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Pretty fun game, but the flying portion felt a little out of place to me.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]