Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Frictionless

by Matthew Brown - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Frictionless is a sliding block puzzle game that uses both sides of the board.

WASD moves the camera.
R restarts a puzzle.
M mutes the music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#285Audio3.19
#462Innovation3.19
#530Mood3.00
#558Fun3.00
#625Overall3.12
#718Graphics2.91
#793Theme2.97
#1043Humor1.56

Comments

dkkarate says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 5:54pm

I like it. Cool puzzels, but needs more intuitive hints about what movement is allowed and triggered by what.

quantumpotato says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 7:56pm

It's a little confusing when I can raise and lower walls. Keyboard controls would be nice too. Great concept!

morcosan says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:10pm

awesome o_o
i like the animations and effects :)

ninjabit says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:23pm

I like the idea, reminds me of the boardgame, but just as dkkarate said i think it needs more audio/visual hints for the player to know if the current move is permissible or not.

zeh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Great entry. Interesting puzzler. It'd be nice not to mix mouse+keyboard as much (things can get a bit confusing) but that's a minor thing.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Remember me pokemon! I like it. Great puzzles and graphics!

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Puzzles are always fun, and more if you can control more than 1 thing, pretty nice work!

Zazibar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Good entry, could do with some visual cues and extra explanation for some mechanics thought.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:44pm

I never saw this type of game in 3D, and it really surprised me!
Very good game

Wakka says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:50pm

technically a bit buggy, but the idea is great. I also loved the music!

Zutty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Clever, though somewhat frustrating. I suspect that you didn't want to give the game away, so to speak, but some more clear instructions would have helped. The music is really nice.

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:57pm

The movement and animation speeds are spot on. Thanks for this.

Stuffie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Nice Concept, though I seemed to be able to force my way through walls.

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Found it pretty confusing but I like the style :)

Spotline says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:26am

Great puzzle mechanics, it took me some time to understand all of them, but it's really smart and well executed

May 1, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Pretty neat game. Solid mechanics and interesting interpretation of the theme. Smartly presented with simple graphics and nice music too.

SmilingCat says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Cool puzzle mechanics. Could use a more clear indication of when walls can be moved (maybe have them change color).

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Great puzzle game! Although it was a bit short, it is still impressive for a 48h game. Good job!

littleball says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:53am

Great game, and loved the music!

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:04pm

It took me a while to understand the system, I didn't understood the blue thing was a button, otherwise cool concept ! :)

mystakin says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:33am

Simple but effective. I really like the wall moving mechanic; it add an extra layer of complexity without being too confusing.

wademcgillis says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:26pm

The music is really grating.

Which key moves the mouse?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]