Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Operation: Adhesive Surface

by osthekake - Jam Entry

Jam by two people. Short story driven game.

Controls:
Right/Left arrow to move.
Up/Down arrow to highlight answers.
Enter to interact with objects / select answer.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#409Theme(Jam)3.08
#472Graphics(Jam)3.13
#494Humor(Jam)2.26
#656Mood(Jam)2.43
#696Overall(Jam)2.48
#715Innovation(Jam)2.13
#741Fun(Jam)1.96
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:07am

I'm not sure what I'm meant to do in this game. I can move left but when the text box opens I am unable to move further.
Not sure if it's a problem with the game file or my client.

athaclena says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:35am

You can't move whilst there's a conversation box open. Did you cycle through the text? If you don't get a screen transition there's definitely a bug, but if you do, it's working as intended.

jhrrsn says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:26am

Unfortunately my machine just pinwheeled at the first conversation box and none of the input buttons worked. Let me know if you're able to fix that issue!

May 4, 2014 @ 8:14am

Nice art and cool dialogue system. Good job :)

osthekake says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:19pm

@jhrrsn Not really sure what you mean. Not been able to reproduce. Did you by any chance try to click the conversation with your mouse? (You're supposed to use the keyboard -up/down.)

Ariake81 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Nice to see something a little different Took a little while to get into, it could do with a something to pull you forward. Clearly a lot of work from a 2 man team.

kibertoad says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Can't guess the valve combination. Other then that, it's nicely written and imaginative, not to mention quite well polished for a ludum quest. Great job.

osthekake says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:20pm

@kibertoad Hint for the valve combination: It's a word you can create with the letters for the valves. The word is mentioned by a character who leaves notes around.

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:13pm

The art style in this is fantastic, especially the boat room! Nice story as well :)

mustaine says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Love the intro. Got stuck pretty quickly after that.

ElStevo says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:08pm

I wish I could skip the dialogs after I'm finished reading them. The game made my browser lag pretty hard.

Art is cool! It seems this game really has some potential. Good job.

pichifino says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Good job

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Thank you. It was fun.
Or at least funny!

Gameplay-wise it's a point and click without any pointing or clicking. I would have preferred to use a mouse coupled with fast character walk animations as currently the keyboard movement is janky and doesn't add anything to the overall experience.

The web version also seems to suffer from severe lag which further intensifies the sluggishness of the controls.

The world and characters are interesting enough for future development.

The big letdown for me is the strict adherence to tried and true adventure game traditions. Take the crowd in the arc for instance. You can expend every choice over and over again starting the situation from the beginning for as many times you want. The crowd disperses, gets together immediately and they don't even seem to remember you from few seconds ago.

What I'd like to see, on the other hand, is interactions with consequences. In this example once the crowd has dispersed they don't come back. That was your chance to interact with them and now it's gone, hopefully you got what you needed. This way I feel like I'm an active part of the world not just a sightseer.

Obviously linear adventure game logic might not work anymore, but thinking outside the box is worth it every once in a while.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]