Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Escape - Beneath the Surface

by saulopz - Jam Entry

This is a Escape game. This was developed alone to the LD48, but I couldn't finish it in time...

To develop this game, I used:

- Notebook Dell i5, 6g ram, 2g video, 14".
- Wacom Bamboo Pen CTL-470.
- Tablet Sansung Galaxy Note 8.
- Gnu/Linux Ubuntu 14.04 - Operating System
- Android Development Tool (ADT) - Programming IDE
- LibGDX 0.9.9 - Game Library
- InkScape - Graphic vetorial editor
- Gimp - Image manipulation program
- Audacity - Audio manipulation program
- Krita - Image manipulation program
- A guitar to make a music and mouth sounds (with effects) to other sounds.
- Smarthphone Sansung S3 mini to capture sounds and music.

The game is a jar file. Thus, it is multiplataform. Just download and run the game with Java

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#463Audio(Jam)2.85
#566Humor(Jam)2.07
#594Mood(Jam)2.65
#594Graphics(Jam)2.77
#650Theme(Jam)2.48
#721Overall(Jam)2.35
#742Innovation(Jam)1.96
#752Fun(Jam)1.85
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:51pm

That was a sudden ending! :D

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Hmm, I couldn't quite understand the game. I found the box and the tool by furious clicking, but then I couldn't find anything else. There didn't seem to be a way to combine the item or do other actions, and once I closed the game by mistake, by trying to click everything on the menu. :-P

saulopz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Yes caranha, This games is not complete. So many things to do for so little time. Inexperience mine. Sorry.

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:59am

Interesting game, liked the music even though it was short.

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Couldn't get it to run for some reason - I'm on OSX.

saulopz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Hi Jeffalsk. A friend tested it on OSX yesterday and really not worked. I will see that, but I think that it is a problema with the library LibGDX. I will see how to fix it. Thanks...

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:20am

Nice game.

GamerTaters says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:26am

Interesting idea. Wish I'd been able to play the complete version. Good effort!

frogcheese says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:34pm

I use OSX, and it works for me. I can't seem to progress, though; I only found two items and then got stuck finding or doing anything else. I'm guessing this is part of the incompleteness of the game? It's a pity since I like "escape" games. Better luck next time!

kevinAlbs says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:45am

I like the feel of the game. The artwork and music make it feel very "handmade" (maybe that's not the right word). Anyway, I think it has a lot of potential. I would love to see the complete game. Good work!

KevinWorkman says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:03pm

This is a good start, but like you said, there isn't much gameplay here. Polish it up and finish it, and it will make a pretty cute game!

udo says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:20pm

A JAR download isn't really a "web" version ;)

I loved the guitar soundtrack and the audio in general, more people should make their own sound assets for LD I think.

The visual style is also promising. You should complete this post LD!

stvr says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Not bad, would have liked to have seen it completed!

TheMaster99 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Pretty sure I clicked on just about every pixel in the screen but I still wasn't able to find the antenna. Would have liked to see the end.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]