Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Skin

by Linkigi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Game Maker standard doesn't allow me to upload in any web format unfortunately so I've only uploaded a windows version. The source is included in the .zip.
More of a program than a game but I hope you have fun mutilating my face =]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#168Humor3.24
#583Innovation3.03
#602Audio2.67
#736Fun2.82
#949Theme2.72
#1024Mood2.42
#1034Graphics2.42
#1152Overall2.47

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:51am

Thats quite a scary thing you made there but its also really fun.

lamphj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Oddly entertaining! I spent way too long rearranging your face...

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:46pm

That was strangely satisfying and amusing.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:24pm

It's a bit scary but really fun ;)

spartangeek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:52pm

The music matches the odd experience very well. Surprising.

Liens says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:28am

Just one question, why is that dude shirtless?

Linkigi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Thanks for all the happy faces so far guys. It's super cool to see people responding positively to my thing.
I'm shirtless because I am dead in this photo. The idea being that this is some kind of postmortem dissection-esque dress up game.

idovingx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:50pm

really weird and awesome, though i would have liked more objects and to be able to take off more parts of your face. also it would have been cool to be able to duplicate objects, so, for instance, i could have two coins.

Linkigi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Thanks very much. I've got plans to add a menu type system whereby the player can choose as many of any kind of object they like. Also fixing the sloppy masking. I also have plans for a fryer type area where the objects are now and possibly a second face to mess around with.
Thanks for the feedback =]

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:39am

sweet audio

raulincze says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:14pm

This was quite disturbing, but weirdly fun.

gmaker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:24pm

funny )

Mman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Weeeird... but funny. Plus I liked the music. :)

hissssssssss says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:35am

It crashes when I try to run it. I'm on Windows 7 32bit. There's no specific error message, just the Windows "This program has stopped running."

jhrrsn says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:24am

This is definitely the weirdest game I've played so far this LD. Congratulations!

praporomsk says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:49am

Лол, жесть какая-то.

ceosol says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:24am

I gave you bacon teeth muahahaha :)

Pitoum says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:03am

You crazy bastard XD!
Well done! You pushes some boundaries here :p

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]