Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Torch

by DarknessFades - Jam Entry

//EDIT: Added post-compo version, I'm still polishing it but for now it has bg music and throwing sound, also I've solved problem with shader so sprites aren't burnt up when overlapping. Also people don't like the idea of very harsh placement of falling triggers, for now I'll just hint that every next platform is reachable by torch from another with one exception (gotta jump for that torch). Looking forward to more feedback :)

Lone soul surrounded by darkness, will he overcome his fears and find the way to better tommorow?

Controls:
move - wsad | arrows
jump - w | up
aim and throw - mouse

Everything is easier when you put some light on it.

More information:
-scout for platforms with your torch throw
-collect additional torches to increase light radius
-hit exclamation marks with your torch to drive off shadows, failing to do so will make you die after 2-5 sec
-dying out of nowhere is in fact being attacked by a shadow on a black background, this animation is only visible on rocky bg and after failing to hit exclamation mark with torch (design oversight).

Authors:
Wojtek "DarknessFades" Czarny - graphics and programming
Szymon Czarny - graphics (special thanks for hard work with animations)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#321Graphics(Jam)3.52
#461Innovation(Jam)2.79
#485Theme(Jam)2.93
#566Mood(Jam)2.71
#637Humor(Jam)1.71
#639Audio(Jam)1.80
#659Overall(Jam)2.60
#722Fun(Jam)2.07

Comments

bentog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:02pm

The graphics were good, but the gameplay was confusing (dying out of nowhere, random exclamation marks, torch runs out etc). It's also impossible to know where you are going to fall.

stenol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Not an easy game but good graphic. Miss some music. Great game mechanic with a lot of potential.

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Very confusing and it seems like i'm dying out of nowhere

Benjamin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:23pm

After the 2-3 for first attempt you start to die randomly. If I reload the entire game I can have the normal torch timing again. I think that startnig idea was pretty good. For the control It was a bit difficult too use arrow + space + mouse.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Confusing game, but good game mechanic!

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:00am

I like the art and the concept is very interesting, but I'm having trouble figuring out how to progress.. Good job though!

DarknessFades says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:15am

Thanks for feedback. I've added some more instructions to lessen confusion a bit.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:18am

Great Job! I rly enoyed graphic and mechanic of game. :)

kbm says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Really cute, interesting game, soundtrack would have been awesome! well done!

BoTreats says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:39pm

It looks nice, but I have no idea what's going on. The exclamation mark seemed to imply I should go that way, but then I died.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:42pm

It seems like what ever I do I die :/ Still, I like the concept and the graphics :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:43pm

The graphics are nice and I like the general torch throwing mechanic, but I had some problems with seemingly random deaths. Reloading the game didn't help. Not sure if buggy or I didn't fully understand the mechanics.

suurin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Nice art and idea, but really needs some explanation of mechanics ingame. It's confusing.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:23pm

As i noticed, if we see red mark we should touch it by torch, otherwise something black will eat us :O

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:43pm

I kinda like the concept but the gameplay is confusing and I die randomly.

TheGameFather says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:51am

The control feels good, the lighting definitely makes the game feel more horror..However, after 5, 6 times try, always die suddenly..

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:51am

Really could have used some audio. Very interesting mechanic, hard gameplay.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Hi. Like the graphics, like the torch throwing mechanic, a more gentle introduction would be nice.

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:16pm

I got confused very fast. I had to die a few times to know where was the problem. It's hard to tell where is the danger and when you can jump to darkness just like that.
Otherwise the idea is pretty nice, so why not polish the game a little bit.:)

jsmars says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:37am

Really nice graphics, I thought the movement was a bit too fast which made the game a bit too hard.

atomic_swerve says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:53am

Gotta say, a little bit of audio and this would be one of my favorite submissions :)

PTSnoop says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Very nice graphics, and the music in the post-compo version really helps to make this a very atmospheric game. I'd have liked to have seen some more platforms to jump onto, though - since you can't see much of the screen, I found myself searching through lots of nothing before I could find the way forwards. I'm also not entirely sure what the exclamation marks were meant to represent. But still, a game mechanic with lots of potential.

DarknessFades says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:30pm

About exclamation marks, they were supposed to be eyes or smth
to represent shadow's interest in player. We were just out of time to make proper animation and find matching sound effect. I'm just sad that the whole 'consumption' animation turned out to be invisible on black background, it confuses a lot and breaks the mood a bit I think.

Jadernak says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Exclamation mark as an indicator of incoming threat is really confusing, especially since it does not provide any more info about when it is coming. Otherwise, nice graphics and the torch mechanic is not bad idea at all.

danbo says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Nice interplay of simple lighting on pixel art. I always wonder about this style but it seems to work a treat here.

Little frustrating to play though. I got quite a Heart of Darkness vibe from it.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]