Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Lab

by Techblogogy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Beneath The Lab Developer Playthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z4xcgFs9_x8

If Portal and Antichamber had a child this would be it! This is puzzle/WTF game. Just play it! Personal notes: I'm pretty satisfied with what same out. Although it's a bit choppy and probably buggy at times I still think this is the best game I made for LudumDare, if not in my gaming career (2 years). Enjoy! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#221Innovation3.56
#278Overall3.47
#282Mood3.33
#304Audio3.16
#489Graphics3.26
#512Humor2.49
#517Fun3.06
#554Theme3.27

Comments

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:38pm

I think it's a good game with nice environment (and nice music - Chopin or Litz?), but it seems to me that it's not really clear. I have lost many time before understand concept. With more time, it will be better and it may become a interesting game. Thank you ++

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:18am

Really cool concept.
It's incredibly sensitive though, and maybe the "charge bar" could be a little bit more prominent. :)
Well done though. :)

IvanDashSmith says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:19am

I think this is pretty neat for 48 hours. Though I probably could have done without the attempt at Portal wit and poor recording, it might have stood on it's own without that aspect. It's a neat puzzle idea, though I wasn't sure if I was below, or was being locked to what was below, a bit unclear, but a neat start.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:20am

Clever ideas -- I muddled my way through some of the transparent or fallthrough mechanics, but probably wasn't smart enough to comprehend them completely.

Unfortunately in my opinion the voiceover is primarily annoying, and the game would have been better with only music. Also, even with my mouse sensitivity all the way down, turning is really fast. It would be nice to have an option to lower that.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:22am

Giving me a Portal vibe, which I love.. Great mechanic used for the mouse!

ky533541 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:25am

I loved it, great execution of a really popular format. I liked the effects on your voice, you do a good Glados-like. Had a great feel to it, I love these kinds of games so I'm probably biased but really nicely done.

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:27am

Excellent job. I love puzzlers

furriKira says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:40am

The game is good overall. My problem is with the voice being too low and that charge bar has to go.
Also, the mouse is too sensitive for my tastes.
Love the relaxing music tho. Quite neutral on this one.

louiscarl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:04am

Nice game! It's well designed, with concepts simple to understand, but tricky to master!

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:02am

Good concept. The charge bar was a bit annoying, but i loved the mechanic a lot :D

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:49am

This looks really interesting but at least on the web version it just hangs as soon as I left click with the mouse. :S

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:51am

Good game, but the waiting for the usage to go high enough to be able to beneath was a little annoying.

Fun though!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:51am

Great mood, and you even have voice acting :3

mtrc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:52am

Obviously it inherits a lot from Portal etc. but I like the idea. I think the left-click is pretty clear from the off, but right-click is less obvious. I eventually got it (and then got myself stuck in a level without a restart) but I think you need to make it clearer what's going on. Maybe a shadow of yourself in the other level that you can see with left-click?

Chaoclypse says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:54am

Really cool puzzles! I like the voice too.

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:57am

Reminds me of our Global Game Jam game called Heterochroma. Nice job!

Christophe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:58am

Really smart levels, but hard in the end. I Like the concept. I regret the charge bar was shrinking to fast.

lantto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:36am

Very cool and I love the Portal inspiration, especially the audio. :) Unfortunately I wasn't able to get past the level where you are supposed to put boxes on three green plates. I just couldn't find the third box! But overall this is one of the best submissions I've seen so far. It's the kind of game you want to play, with innovative mechanics.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:45am

All 3d games are awesome, and your visuals look outstanding! I love it, great work with the concept!

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Nice work! Blue bar at the top could do with being slightly bigger :)

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Cool mechanic. Love games like this. Got stuck on the level with 2 green plates and 1 box. Well done!

morcosan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:46pm

well done :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:33pm

i do puzzle games AND 3D based games in Ludum Dare.

Hear hear!

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Very portal like, good job. The mechanics are rather original and fun.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Very solid entry!

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:32pm

The music remembers me to Ib (rpg maker game), voices are ok, you could use melodyne to make a voice like glados :3, fun but hard to understand sometimes.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:50pm

This game is fantastic!
I liked portal and antichamber, so I like it!

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:36pm

That's a huge Unity file! 100Mb ? guessing from download time. Nice looking game, shame about the d/load, perhaps streaming levels ? Great job on the sound. Some very clever mechanics in there, right on thematic target! Possible bug, if you right click after opening door to that room, but before moving in, you fall through world. In the first room with two blocks to collect: it's possible to get both and put both in right places but still door doesn't open until shuffle them a few times...
Great fun overall!

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Liked the environment. Good take on portal-like games.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Awesome entry, congratulations !

Thresh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Nice Puzzles

mactinite says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Some of these puzzles were very challenging, though I may be attributing some to bugs? Otherwise, interesting mechanic, executed very well given the circumsrtances. :)

jitendragarg says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Great game, although it could have done with no audio track. that audio track was too quiet to hear properly. Also, it took me a while to see that charge bar. I guess it can be a bit more bigger. Better yet, use a cross-hair for both aiming and charge bar.

But whatever the little issues are, I am sure they can be fixed easily. Concept is so interesting and fun to play, it can actually go on and become a proper indie title. Seriously, great concept.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:02pm

This is really cool, reminds me a lot of The Stanley Parable

NickZangus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Interesting idea! But perhaps having to wait for the recharge of the bar to activate the glasses creates a bit too much downtime for me. Being able to stay in the black zone for a limited period of time makes everything very challenging!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:29pm

The charge mechanic seems a bit out of place but nifty idea! Nice interpretation of the theme.

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:36pm

This 3D puzzle game is outstanding.

BigBearScot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Really like the concept and the feel. The Environments look lovely.

Only issue I had is with the controls, may be just my Mac but I found it difficult to right click to get into the fall through bet.

Would love to see it polished up and finish. Well done!

MrShortee says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Nice mechanics and puzzles. The charge bar was annoying though ^^

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Really cool idea for a puzzle mechanic, but it seemed frustratingly hard (not challenging-ly hard) for some reason.

I think if it was polished up and the goals were a bit clearer (I couldn't understand the voiceover), this could be really something awesome. Agree with others, I could have done without the attempt to be like portal.

mihaivdev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Great mechanics, music fits well and graphical style is enough. I guess you wanted to have fun with the voice acting but if you want to make this into a fully fledged game I'd recommend removing it. Have a look at Modulate, a similar game that does quite well without any voice acting, might give you some ideas as well. Keep it up!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:41pm

I like the minimalistic approach and the whole concept is great. Feels solid. Nice job! However, the charge bar is way too slow.

lonewookie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Love the Portal-esque puzzle mechanics. Like the music, not crazy about the voiceover. On the 3rd stage, I fell through the floor (and kept falling), I'm not sure if that was supposed to happen or not? Great use of the theme though!

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:13pm

nice idea. could do a bit with that!

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Neat idear!

dkkarate says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Really good concept. I couldn't get past the 4th puzzle but it was really cool :)

mollymus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Very nice idea! I think you should keep working on this one!

shuanDang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Hmm, didnt figure out there was a charge bar and I got stuck for a while. I couldn't figure out how to solve the first puzzle with the green blocks.

saiato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Good concept! It's a bit unclear when shifting between the two surfaces, but I got it eventually. I couldn't get past the third puzzle, but I can't tell if it's because of a bug or I'm dumb ;)

Jerick says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:16am

I really like these sparse and sterile graphic schemes. The controls are super sensitive and a bit iffy.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:49am

I liked the snarky narrator, this was pretty challenging but still fun. Good job for 48 hours! :)

danidre14 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:05am

I started off good, but then I started getting dizzy. So I stopped.

Liens says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:38am

Got stuck on the first real puzzle haha.

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:34am

Voice was very hard to understand and the second ability was too darn expensive ;) But I liked the mood of the game very much!

eatsleepindie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:46am

I had a lot of fun with this one. Puzzles were well though out and the controls were pretty smooth.

Tweak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:33am

The puzzles had a strange learning curve but it was enjoyable.

Yaru says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:41am

Impressive, considering the short time in which it was created. I love Portal, and this feels very much like it, and the mechanic is very interesting.
I agree to the comments indicate that the voiceover is somewhat unnecessary, but overall, good job!

neekobus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:46am

Interesting puzzle game. Good mood.

IMHO :
- You should introduce the "trigger / wall" concept more easily, like you did for the mouse commands.
- You should show if we own a block or not.
- The energy bar reduce to zero when I try to switch and have not enough energy. The refill is slow. Its very frustating (I guess it's on purpose, but I feel it a bit too much).

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:47am

Good job. Makes me think of Portal + Antichamber

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:49am

The slow recharging of the bar seemed really irksome and unnecessary. All it did was make the puzzle-solving painfully slower. Voiceover was also difficult to hear and the wall-recognition didn't feel intuitive at all. But I like the tone and concept of the game, and the introduction to the controls is great.

Jase says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:02pm

I didn't even get that the blue bar was a resource for the game until 3 or so rooms in, and then it was depleting too fast for me to work out what i needed to do. Good game overall though

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Good job. Makes me think of Portal + Antichamber...

Siewart says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Nice concept! There are however some bugs with the green pads not activating, and you have to replace the boxes. Also picking up the boxes seemd a little random at times. (Some OnTriggerEnter/Stay/Exit mistake maybe?)

davidB says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:05pm

May be I don't understand or it's a bug, But I collide with wall of the 'other' room. So some place can't be ritch.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:06pm

i tried but possibly im not smart enough to figure it out hah.. good job tho :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Nice concept. I'd love to see more puzzle to this game. :)

Muu? says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:19pm

The first time I had to get under the floor I actually got under the whole level.
Voice acting volume was low, it was difficult to hear it along with music playing.

I got stuck at the second green pad puzzle.
I see no actual reason for the energy refill to be so slow.

Apart from that, it's a great 3D puzzle, really high quality for a 48H entry.

Pitoum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Not so crazy about the mechanichs. They're very difficult to get (specially at level 3!) and does not feel totaly right. But really good time on it anyway.
Nice try the voice over :D

sam101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Nice for 48h, even if I have found the game mechanics to be a little bit weird.

Exergy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Cool game! Really liked it.
Had a bug at the first room with the green plates where the game crashed when I put a box on the second greeny. Next time it worked fine!

Please try our game again with XNA Framework installed!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:31pm

A very neat game!
I like the idea of mixing both the games together, you have a solid idea and should stick with it

I think the explanation could have been a tiny bit better, but other than that it was great!

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Decent puzzles

fullmontis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:18pm

For some reason after a while the mouse buttons stop working... I had to restart the game at least a couple of times. Apart from this, I like the concept. Ambients are a little barebones but that's to be expected from 48 hours of work... Puzzles are interesting but not really challenging. Still, it is a very interesting take on the theme.

Intoxicatious says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:56pm

I think you should reconsider that energy bar. I didn't find a game design reason for its existence. Either get rid of it, or make it more lenient and pronounced in the UI. Good game, though.

demonshanker2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Neat concept and a good play on beneath the surface.

Lyje says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Very interesting game and clever mechanic. Thoroughly enjoyed it :)

vigrid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Mind boggling - I love the mechanics and the puzzles which I haven't managed to beat yet, but will definitely come back and finish your game!

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Nice idea, there is a lot of potential for a future game :D.

Logun says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Very cool, but i get stuck at the room with green cube on the floor... maybe I didn't get evrything ^^ Nice envyronment, and impressiv realisation for a solo 48h compo

Recon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Weird audio. Good game.

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Really nice game, quite polished. The problem is I couldnt understand exactly how it works. :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Nice game world, loved the portal like theme :)

kbm says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:58pm

haha, thanks for your comment, man :D your game is THE game, too! really well done - enjoyed the narrator!

idovingx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:35pm

fun to play, but i couldn't get past like the fourth puzzle. your "powers" running out of energy seems unnecessary to me.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Sweet graphics, audio was pretty cool. I also got stuck on the green plates level, it might have bugged out but it was if there was an invisible wall in the way.

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Nice game. The camera reaction was fast and I like that. Nice puzzle idea.

Gins says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Cool concept, I got stuck on the third level though.
I think the cooldown for the right click is a bit too long, that makes it frustrating quickly.
There is potential with this though, maybe you keep up the work on it after the compo :)

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Very nice puzzle game. Would be more fund when you don't have to wait so long to switch again. Good Music. The voice could be louder.

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Awesome! This was really fun! My favorite 3D puzzle game from this compo. Nice choice in music, too. Great job :)

Stepperz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Didn't quite get the idea initially but after that it seemed like a really neat idea :)

marccspro says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:43pm

The idea of the is just awsome ! Great job !

Bekokstover says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Got stuck in the part with the cubes, but great effort! Looks and plays well. Don't know if it needs the voice-over, because your puzzle mechanic is really something to work with on it's own. And the charge bar is a little frustrating.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Loved the concept- I fell through the floor a few times though, when right clicking (maybe in the wrong places? )
I loved the voice over, it added a lot :-) Great game. Among the best I've played so far.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:02pm

innovative, but I kept getting stopped by blasted invisible walls.

Lucio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Portal vibe all the way :). Great!

Afal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Couldn't get any further than the room with (seemingly) one block and two pads. Very cool stuff from what I played though :)

eskivor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:59pm

I fell of the map after the right click room

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:10am

Wow this game intrigued me. Love portal so I loved this game. Great job!

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:50am

great idea, love the concept. the Portal-style negative commentary, not so much. it works for that because Glados is a character, were as here it only stands in the way of a a lovely game

valid4life says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:10am

That was great! I really liked the voice aha

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:34am

I like it a lot! Nice Job!

Jake_Cohen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:41am

This was a fun puzzler! My only comment would be that the recharge is pretty slow

SuperMsp10 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:14am

Brilliant sound and concept! reminds me of portal

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:02am

Really fun and a great idea. Loved the voice overs and the graphics. Great job!

VictorDoval says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:56am

great game!, love your aesthetics. Thanks!!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:05am

Really nice concept, really challenging but rewarding at the same time.
I figured out the mechanics but maybe they could be clearer. Also, a visual feedback to know that your holding a cube would be appreciated. Great work!

x1212 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:06am

Nice Portal-references ;)

Therrato says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:18am

It do like the concept but i did think some that some of the puzzles became a bit vague at some point. good job though

randoman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:07am

It took a while to understand the "go to the floor below" concept, but it worked in the end

Wir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:28am

very nice idea, remembered me pretty much of portal.
in the 2nd "real" room with the 2 green boxes and the 1 cube the door didnt open, could walk through it after a while though...
the charging bar was pretty hard to see/find
in the 3rd real room i was unable to move dont know why. Nevertheless it´s a great game. Looks like you have some experience in making games so i would appreciate if u could look at our game and give us some feedback

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:45am

Nice idea but your voice is really annoying :) As was already suggested staying only with music would be great, or maybe more emotion lacking voice, mocking you in a subtle way. Also I think I had some collision detection issues which made solving puzzles harder. And on top of that - is there anything at the end and I go some bug or is it just a black screen? :)

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:50am

Nice use of audio. Interesting puzzle game.

recursor says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Nice puzzle mechanics.

akymos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Tricky...maybe a little too much at the beginning...nice job!!

Katamori says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:42pm

A little bit hard, but I love the mood!

raulincze says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Portal + Antichamber + An original mechanic. Cool.

Lovely music.

But I have to say, that I don't really like to be insulted as a player, unless it is done in a really humorous way. Your insults were too straight forward.

v3games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Cool game (Portal sans physics?) The charge bar should be more obvious, but I had fun with it. Good job.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Amazing, simply amazing ! That's why I love LD so much, to play game like yours. I love the minimalist / simplist level, nothing too much, everything balanced and goal oriented. The music fit the game perfectly. The mechanics you use let us see behind walls, it's perfect. Excellent work !

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:58pm

I'm pretty annoyed with the mechanics at first. I still have issues figuring out exactly what the left and right mouse button do, and I dislike having to wait for the timer to use my powers. However, the overall look and ambiance of the game is nice. Also, I do like puzzle games, so I'll probably come back to it and try it again when I have a bit more time.

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Cool idea but in my opinion the time to user the power is really annoying and frustrating.

Martin Ysa says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Great Game!

Rad Star says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:17pm

good idea for puzzle under the surface thing :)
but i think it would have been better without the Glados-like voice

acerunox says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Nice game.

kristof says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Nice game. Definitely inspired by portal, but that does not have to be a bad thing. I made it through, but I am not sure if I completely understood the mechanics. For example I did not understand the invisible walls. Also the energy bar on the top slowed the whole game down. The music was great.

Catman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Cool mechanic and good job with the execution! I found the recharge bar to be a bit too unforgiving, however. :)

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Nice puzzle design, overall. I'd agree with some of the others that the voiceover was extraneous, for this kind of thing.

bentog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Why not use a smoothier and slower mouselook script other than unity's default?

asotelo94 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Same here about the bar, too slow. And sometimes when use the right click I fell outside the game. Pretty good though.

metkis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:19pm

One of the most innovative entries I have played. The charging was very slow, though, which became aggravating. It was also sometimes unclear what I was supposed to do, but otherwise think this was a great entry.

Josh says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:27am

Really neat concept, was fun to play. I did notice that I could reliably fall through the floor by pressing the right mouse button prematurely in the hallway before the second puzzle room.

sudorossy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:33am

Kind of portal-like. The voice over was pretty quiet, and I didn't have much of an idea what my abilities did, but it seemed really cool.

TeamFlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:45am

nice Game .reminds me on Portal

ryangatts says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:15am

I liked it a lot more before you tried to pull a portal. I'd like to see this game expanded on -- maybe have some way of more clearly understanding which things were activated when a given switch is flipped.

MithosKuu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:51am

Bonjour! This is Rik from the CORE Games team, posting on Mith's account.

This was a very neat concept, but I found it did get pretty confusing later on. Not really in a puzzling way, just in an "...ok...where am I?" sort of way. It's a great start, and I'd absolutely love to see a polished up version!

May 1, 2014 @ 3:39am

Very nice graphics, reminded me of Portal. I was cruising along and then totally stuck.

Skipi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:24am

Loved the game. The voice acting also reminded me heavily of The Cat Lady in tone and accent.

May 1, 2014 @ 5:13am

Seems very portal inspired. The mechanic was really confusing and I'm still not sure if I fully understand what it does. I think getting rid of the charge bar would help as then the player would be allowed to experiment more freely with the two abilities available

gre says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:27am

Reminds me a bit of Antichamber.
Nice 3D puzzle game and also nice take on the theme!

finefin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:49am

I take this as a prototype of an really awesome FPS puzzler!
Please continue working on this, get a good voice actor and write a story that is not too similar to Portal - and I would totally buy this ;)

Menesetsu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:42am

Nice idea with showing what's beneath you. Wish the "charge bar" will recharge faster.

CluelessGames says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:38am

Cool Concept really nice use of beneath the surface Mechanics aren't explained well enough though.

Jamcount says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Nice game.

SzRaPnEL says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Portal humor :)

Ken Ichi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:05pm

AWESOME GAME!

May 1, 2014 @ 4:28pm

very nice game , love this kind of puzzlers!

May 1, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Wow a real mindfarter like portal is

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:10pm

The puzzles were nice and clever! Well done! The only thing that could use a little bit of work was the voice acting which was a little bit cheesy at times hahah.

hadesfury says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Great idea ! keep me in touch for more @hadesfury

gigitrix says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Wasn't really digging the Voiceover stuff - was too like portal for me to enjoy it. The acting was fine but I'd have preferred you to put your own spin on it more. HOWEVER everything besides that this is truly amazing! Loved the art aesthetic, loved the mechanic (besides maybe wishing the stamina recharged a bit faster :))

Dominator_101 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Pretty nice puzzler, could see this expanding.

I must say, though, I really didn't see the point of the "charge" thing at the top. First of all, it took me forever to notice it, and kept getting really frustrated about why I was randomly being teleported back up. Once I did notice it, I spent a lot of time just waiting for the charge to fill back up so I could do something. It also didn't really give you a chance to simply look around underneath and see what was going on.

I also didn't really see a point as to WHY I could only use my powers for so long. As in, there didn't seem to be any point to the restriction. I think it makes it better if there is some reasoning behind why I can only do something for so long. There were not really any puzzles based on doing things underneath quickly, or whatever, and most of the time there isn't really anything you can do without going back and forth, so it just got really frustrating having to sit there until it filled up every 5 seconds.

All in all, I know I'm really ranting about that charge bar thing, but I actually really enjoyed your game and think it could be a great full game! I just hate to see good games ruined by simple frustrating things.

Keep up the good work!


PS. Sometimes in hallways I can use my right click ability to fall through the world.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Has a simple look to it, but is very well realised.

MidCry says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:31pm

This is the kind of game i like ... Its' "Portal" like , but i enjoy playing that ...
PS : that invisible walls really bug me ...

Jeffalisk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:54am

Quite nice, interesting mechanic.

Nichii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:15pm

The puzzles are challenging and interesting. The game is well done and I enjoyed it overall although i got stuck haha.

Snoother says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Good puzzles and fun to play through; the music worked well too. However, the whole Portal-esque setup is a bit trite -- but this is redeemed somewhat by a unique mechanic.

May 3, 2014 @ 12:08am

Cool game. The concept is interesting. I like the music and the sense of mood. I feel like it could teach the player about the mechanics a bit better though.

javifugitivo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:43am

Really nice! Remember me Portal or Hall 9000! Lol

noom says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:01am

Graphics were pretty cool though I wasn't impressed with the portal-esque style narrator. Couldn't quite get my head around the concept though and couldn't advance very far through the levels. I think with a bit more time put into explaining the mechanics and perhaps a bit of polish this could be a decent game.
Good work!

Shivur says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Great concept for puzzles.

Nezzhil says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Very solid, if you remove the refill bar and the voice to another more neutral would be even better

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:47pm

I love it! I couldn't figure out the puzzle with three green plates. I think the voice-overs were fine.

paps says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Amazing. I love it.

DonovanWu says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:22am

Nice graphics and music. And the idea is super creative! Overall, amazing as the game is made within 48 hours.

Fasox says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:44am

The idea was great, so bad its buggy :(

BasselGaming says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:09am

Pretty cool game, cool effects

CMaster says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:34am

Pretty neat game, could have done without the attempt to rip-off GLADDOS though. Also, took me a while to realise how the two buttons were linked.

NightShadow0 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Interesting concept, though i'm not sold on the execution.
The charge bar seems unnecessary and just makes the gameplay annoying; if you must keep it, it should probably be more flashy, it's easy to miss as it is.
I also would've favored subtitles instead of voice acting, or neither; the controls on the walls seemed to do a good enough job by themselves.
Couldn't get past the room with green switches, they didn't seem to react and there seemed to be invisible walls i didn't quite understand. Not sure if buggy or i just missed something.
Overall, you might have something pretty cool here if you keep working on it.

May 4, 2014 @ 8:38pm

I'm a big fan of Portal and loved this game overall with its creativity and humor.

whilefun says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:43am

Nice graphics and music. I found the right click ability ran out too quickly, though, so I spent a lot of time waiting for the charging bar to fill. Good entry :)

gmaker says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:44pm

its high five also! ^_^

Managore says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:19am

Wow, really awesome idea!

Candyhandy says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Very interesting puzzle mechanics, i had a lot of fun playing this, though i did fall out of the level once, don't know if it was intended or not.

Raiyumi says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:46am

It's a really nice concept, but I wasn't a big fan of the voice-over. It ruined the mood and felt out of place. The recharge time also felt pretty long, and maybe the game would've been better without it.

But overall, it was a nice experience to play through. :)

mark.goetz says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:38am

I love that you made an interesting puzzle game in such a short amount of time! I wish there was a bit more guidance in some of the levels, and the charge bar is more of a frustration than anything, but this is an excellent effort!

Garris says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:27am

There's an impressive amount of polish on this game. The puzzles are interesting, and the controls are effective, if a tiny bit oversensitive. I think adding some subtitles would have helped since I had a little trouble understanding the audio at times, but that's a nitpicky point for this sort of thing. Well done!

mustaine says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:31am

Interesting idea, but you really need a transition on the RMB click.

jsmars says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:08am

Really well made overall! Got stuck after becoming an idiot tho, and couldn't move through a wall which wasn't there, not sure the mechanics were really explained well enough.

joe40001 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:59am

As somebody who does video stuff all the time and thus audio stuff, the lack of audio design/flair/tweaking/voice-acting I found frustrating, which isn't fair to you because it's a game design competition and as far as game design goes, you did very very well. (Why didn't you disable position swapping in areas that didn't have bottoms, though?)

Overall very good though.

dcolgan says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Very nicely done for a 48 hour contest! I'm impressed by all that you managed to pull together, between voice acting, music, and pretty well designed puzzles. I'm not convinced that you really need the cooldown timer, as it really only made me wait around before continuing. It also took me a little bit to figure out how the buttons worked, but there is lots of potential here.

romandtom says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:05am

Loved the idea.
I couldn't solve it without watching the video.

BadPaul34 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:47am

Excellent concept and environment! Maybe not intuitive enough. But the implementation and effects on the player with the camera and voice are great ;)

Teesquared says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:42pm

High marks on innovation and theme. Great music. VO needs work. Bugs and movement issues made it too frustrating. Puzzles were challenging.

JoshOS says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Awesome. Congratulations for making this portal-like game.

May 12, 2014 @ 1:55am

Super cool game! I included it in part 25 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/06U_lc3kLp4

udo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:32pm

I loved the visual simplicity of the game. It would have been nice to have some kind of transition effect when teleporting and placing the cubes - but then again there is an amazing amount of work already in this game considering it's a compo entry. Well done, sir!

saulopz says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 12:46pm

cool, this is a great job

kirbytails7 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:13am

Not bad. The atmosphere is nice, although the vocal quips are a bit trite. I like the mechanic!

xbcw says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 3:30am

Great atmosphere. I enjoyed playing this through.

aelita1992 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:18am

Interesting concept and quite playable. You should block the color reversing in some places, as you can easily get out of the game area.

Make A Game says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:17pm

I'd remove the bar on top, it just slows down the game, particularly when you already have the solution in your head. I lost my patience when I keep trying to use the right mouse ability and it was just enough to drain the bar and not warp me.
Good concept thou, you should elaborate it further.

oxysoft says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 1:53am

That was a very awesome game. The humor was almost a satirization of Portal, made me laugh a bit when I was "escaping". Sucks it was so short, but I can't blame you for having only 48 hours to do this

wademcgillis says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:31pm

It was a fun game, despite not being able to hear the voice, until the third puzzle.

One black block was behind a forcefield, the other inside the square. I couldn't find the third, so I was unable to complete the third puzzle.

The recording could have been amplified.

wschorn says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:17am

wow a lot of discipline, it makes for quite a cinematic first plathru if nothing goes wrong

NathanBrower says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:09am

Good game. I liked what you accomplished in 48 hours. Your game mechanics are pretty interesting, and the music was actually quite nice.

I must say however, I spent >50% of my time standing around waiting for that recharge bar to fill. I really don't see a need for it.

Also, I wish the button and wall system was better explained. I made it all the way to the end, and I still don't know how the walls are supposed to react to the buttons. Perhaps if the recharge bar wasn't there it would allow you to experiment and figure it out.

Keep up the good work. :)

May 20, 2014 @ 4:09pm

You have been featured in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qDcPF81pihA

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]