Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

A day in the life of Jeremy

by lucidlarva - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Glad everybody likes it so far. I will definitely add more levels and music and sounds n such in a new version, the ludum dare version will always be available tho. My code is much easier to manage this time so Making levels is pretty much just drawing a picture.

Arrow keys to move
Z key to jump


The slightly brighter areas are walk-able.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#186Graphics3.82
#220Humor3.07
#655Mood2.89
#780Fun2.76
#813Theme2.95
#928Overall2.79
#995Audio1.67
#1010Innovation2.43

Comments

Pete_H says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:01am

The ending made me laugh :) love the art style and story telling, wished it was longer! Reminded me of Enid Blytonss "beyond the far way tree" books.

lorniebear says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58pm

I thoroughly enjoyed it whilst I was playing. I wish that it had more levels, though

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:19pm

I had fun playing it!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Deep truths about humanity are revealed in this game.

Nelly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Great!

rylgh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:58am

really liked the art

May 1, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Hah, fantastic game with great graphics, I would love to see a longer version!

iambored2006 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:50pm

This reminded me of a children's book in a very good way. Thanks!

hbocao says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:14am

Damn! You got me. I was really into rescue his family from the evils of the world. Jeremy, you stupid little green man! The art is super neat.

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:18am

Nice game.

kirbytails7 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:17am

Heh, nice little story.

Thorig says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:22pm

I really like the ending of this entry. It is a small nice game.

May 5, 2014 @ 1:15am

I almost couldn't get down to the lowest part, I kept getting stuck on the stairs. The graphics are good and the joke is funny.

May 5, 2014 @ 9:54am

Fun funny and pretty.

camlang says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Nice litle story. Realy like graphics.

mactinite says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:39pm

I liked the graphics, I wonder what kind of mechanic you could introduce in a post compo build. :)

hnjslater says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Great little game, beautiful and simple.

conormn says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:46am

Loved the art and vibe. Very well done :)

NicoM says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 2:00am

Very nice graphics, I feel the walkcycle could be more fleshed out, but I'm sure that was time constraints:) also maybe a more drastic color difference between walkable and non-walkable (then again my monitors brightness is low, and that may have contributed), but great job!:)

Nanolotl says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 5:19am

Quite liked the art style. Getting down the ladder in the ground was a bit finicky. Overall a short but decent entry.

gre says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Really cool graphics - and made with GIMP :).
Not so much challenge in this game, but a good base for making more game mecanisms. But yeah, 48 hours is short.
Nice story telling but also missing some audio.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]