Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Frustration

by parDal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Be resilient.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#324Audio3.13
#736Mood2.79
#868Graphics2.67
#942Humor1.88
#1077Overall2.60
#1094Theme2.38
#1143Fun2.20
#1186Innovation2.05
#1895Coolness28%

Comments

Boodog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:33am

Nice game! I liked the music :)

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:25am

It's frustrating, not really in a good way... After I fell the second time it didn't seem intrinsically worth it to go all the way around and try again. Better to restart really.

baboum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:43am

I'm not a big fan of this kind of graphics, but the music and the camera work really set in the mood ! But it's a little frustrating, and I gave up shortly after these vertical steps…

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:48pm

I like graphics!

gigitrix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Have to agree in that this game kinda punishes players a bit much...

lonewookie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:33am

I love the minimalism. It's fun, but it you fall there's not much motivating me to work my way back up.

Korwegian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:44am

Hehe... he looks like a wiener. Gud gaem, even though it smells like band-aids.

pansapiens says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:53am

Love the panning/zooming camera controller, works great, and the parallax is really effective to add depth and interest. That diagonal moving platform puzzle is really tough, especially since it seems platform velocity isn't transferred to the player when jumping. Wish the difficultly ramp was a little slower since it was otherwise pleasant to play & explore.

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Couldn't really find out what I was supposed to do. Jumped all the way to the right, nothing there, searched the whole level, still nothing there :-(

But I liked the music and the camera handling!

May 1, 2014 @ 12:47am

I can't really say I understood what to do. I played for a long time, longer than I probably should. All I encountered was a blue band, which moved once but I could not tell why... sorry!

SuperMsp10 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:06am

Solid music but I dont see the direction to go

torcado194 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:01am

this is pretty confusing and slow, but kinda neat still

May 1, 2014 @ 2:52am

I like the graphics style, and the camera zoom, but it ran really slowly and made my system crawl.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:00am

my dude totally got squished by the elevator hahaha - great job - music does not work on ie11 - I understand why is is called frustration - nice effort

parDal says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:31am

Guys, thanks for the reviews, I loved them, know that I read each one with attention and care.

So, I'm planning doing a revised version of the game, removing the bugs, adding a little more content and polishing some aspects. Feel free to report any redundant parts, errors in general and suggest anything that you think that might add something.

Also,

@TwoScoop, could you say what type of computer you used to play?

@arrogant.gamer, Could you elaborate more? I couldn't understand where you found difficulty.

@Suese and @lonewookie, I thought of a solution, I'm already working on it, thanks for noticing/commenting (it's going to the revised version)

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:41am

I like the idea of this game. Nice game.

joe40001 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:05am

Given the title of the game I can only imagine that what seems to be the end, is indeed the end, but if this is indeed the case I would punctuate it a tiny bit more so the player knows that they did get to the "end" and that they didn't screw up or anything it's just the design of the game that it ends that way.

I liked the art style actually too.

iSamurai says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:34am

I like the minimalism art style, and the music. However, I'm not so sure what to do in the game. The death penalty, as mentioned above, is not worthy, I restart when I dropped. But the control and mood is nice.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:32am

its an ok platformer, maybe a bit generic

May 1, 2014 @ 1:40pm

It was okay, most of my points goto theme!

alvarop says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Maybe I didn't get it but this was frustrating but not very rewarding.

friken says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:01pm

not sure if I missed something, but I couldn't go right so went left, fell down and right just gets back to where you started?

May 1, 2014 @ 10:26pm

I love the music, and the graphics were also nice! The gameplay could use a bit more variation though!

Chronoberry says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:36am

Nice style. Definitely wish there was a run button.

May 10, 2014 @ 7:58am

Like the art style, camera work and even music. Got stuck after falling down and opening blue door? I ran back up, across and went everywhere I thought I could go.

gre says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:00pm

This is awesome!
I felt strange when playing, are you in my head?! Hehe, you nicely anticipated all the reflex we have in playing the plateform, and make that game a good frustration :-)
(going right, oops close, going left, oops falling, going left oops dead end, going back...)
I which you would have gone more deeper in that feeling!

The music match perfectly that purpose. Graphics are simple but well polished.

PS: *spoiler* there is no way to get up when reaching the end after the plateforms, right?

gre says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:03pm

BTW, i'm curious, was it even intentional? The anticipatation of move to have frustration?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]