Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Jimmy the explorer

by Kevlanche - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The crabslimes have risen! You must delve deep beneath the surface and put an end to the madness.

"Jimmy the explorer" is a platformer game with some puzzle elements. There are a total of 10 levels. Can you beat them all and slay the mighty crabslime lord?

The game is written in LibGDX. Sound effects generated with Bfxr. Music generated by SoundHelix. "Art" made with Paint.NET.

Any feedback, positive and negative is much appreciated.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#84Fun3.76
#144Overall3.69
#358Audio3.07
#433Innovation3.24
#607Theme3.21
#691Humor2.25
#719Mood2.81
#767Graphics2.83
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

SFBTom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:29pm

The physics based puzzles were actually really clever, great stuff!

607 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Really fun. I loved moving the objects with E, especially in level 4 it was great to let hold of the stone and let it slide across the edge. I do really like how you told us the +/- thing at the end. The puzzles were very clever, but in level 10 I had problems with attaching to the first 3 stone blocks. I think that when you die you should respawn automatically without having to press R. I do also think reseting should cost you gold, because now you can just collect al the gold, then reset, and collect it again. Plus when you fall in the lava, you can press r if you're fast enough. Last thing I don't really get is the music. Did you create it or not?

Maxom says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Very nice, I really enjoyed playing this! Nice puzzles! :)

Kevlanche says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:05pm

@607 thank you for the feedback! :-) Resetting should absolutely cost gold. Can't believe I didn't think of that. Automatic respawn is a good idea too.

The music was generated with "SoundHelix" (http://www.soundhelix.com/). Quite an amazing tool. You give it a random number and it generates a midi file

May 3, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Very solid mechanics! I really enjoyed the more puzzle oriented levels, especially those where there were multiple solutions, but one that yielded the most gold. But perhaps putting the control blocks button right next to the restart level button was not the best of choices. Otherwise, this was a great entry

Jamcount says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Nice game, unfortunately my game crashed at the level with 8 enemies or something like that.

Lafie says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:14pm

This platformer introduced several fun gameplay mechanics very well, and the physics based gameplay especially was a joy.

The graphics are simple but functional, with enough visual feedback for actions like mining and killing an enemy. The sfx and audio are quite good, although I do feel the music is too fast for the gameplay pace. In general, this game could benefit from slightly faster movement, to make the platforming more engaging.

FGM says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:29pm

I like it a lot. The "locking" mechanic can add quite a lot of complexity to the puzzles.

lfpetrini says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Really fun, definitely one of the best I've played so far!

Sanguine says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Nice physics! I really liked the puzzles that used the physics. I feel like the gold mechanic is a bit out of place though, I think the game would be better off without it.

Sim00n says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Pretty cool game. No glitches, smooth gameplay, good job for 48 hours!

pkenney says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:58pm

All right!! Cool game with a lot of interesting ideas. I liked it so much I decided right off the bat that I would finish it and take notes so I could give you better feedback.

I completed the game, and I had 269 gold at the end I think.

I died just about the right amount, and the puzzle aspects were also spot on in terms of how long I had to think about them. I liked that the "rules" of the gameworld were a bit different than I'd dealt with before, and I had to use a number of tools. I enjoyed the mix of thinking and execution puzzles.

Also I am totally going to google soundhelix because that generated music was quite a nice touch. The sounds were all appropriate as well.

Now, since the game is good, I feel okay giving a bit of negative feedback as well, here are a few points that hurt my experience:

- The spacebar jumped in the game, but it also scrolled down in my browser, taking about 1/3rd of the game off the screen. Thank goodness W also jumped, or I couldn't have played. I hit Space reflexively a number of times, including in the final boss fight when I didn't have time to stop playing and scroll back up.

- Some of your levels had more entities on the screen than your game engine could handle, at least on my machine, which isn't cutting edge but is no slouch. Levels with to many slimes or too many blocks slowed down to a lurching jerky experience, though it didn't prevent me from proceeding. The reward at the end of the game had so many itmes that it totally became impossible and even "not responding"ed by browser, but obviously that was not the end of the world. I am happy to say that the many arrows and handful of enemies during the boss fight did not slow down enough to hurt the experience, so that was fine.

- I felt uncomfortable in the handful of instances where you required me to jump off the top of the screen and not be visible. It was never a real problem.

- I had an unexpected death when I used E to sail on a blockset over some lava, and when I un-E'ed and went to step off, a piece of gold in the lava pushed the block back away from the shore exactly as I went to step off, and I fell in. I experimented with this one more time, and it felt a bit weird the way the parts interact in that setup.

- Lastly, there was one spot in the game where I died maybe four or five times and was frustrated. It was where you are climbing up and you smash some bricks, and there are slimes above you. The third slime up, he falls down on you. I had a plan, but the way he moved while falling, I dunno, it didn't work out how I planned the first three times, and then I did what I thought was the same thing again but that time it did work. My fault, I'm sure, but that was the one and only death that I repeated.

Overall, excellent work!

May 3, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Incredibly fun game, but the level with the first slime seems to be impossible? I swear I played it for a good twenty minutes. Testament to the fact that its fun though, I guess.

CaiusTSM says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:04pm

The connecting to objects is a really cool idea that should be explored more. Graphics+ Audio+

Kevlanche says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Thank you for the feedback everyone!

@pkenney, that is the most thorough review/feedback I have ever gotten on a game :D. Thank you so much!

@Somfunambulist you are supposed to destroy the flat dark block. Then destroy the lighter block that looks a little like a "u". This should let the small 2 wide block fall down into the lava. You can then jump onto it, connect to it and sail to the exit. Alternatively, you can cheat and use the "+" key to skip the level ;-)

MaesK says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Nice physics! I liked to control blocks with E, great idea. However, it's not good when you stop pressing E and the block returns to its previous state (at least one in the lava, with you on top), but everything else works perfect.

Good puzzles and mechanics, keep it up!

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Good amount of levels that have been cleverly thought out and put together in such a way that gradually introduces the player to the game mechanics. Well done. This is a good game.

ceosol says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:13am

Good entry. The frame rate went down to almost zero at the level with all of the enemies inside of the blocks so I couldn't continue. Had a lot of fun up until then, though!

Atridas says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Impresive, clever game. Gave me a good time :D

KevinWorkman says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:45pm

This was really well done. I was afraid this would be just another digging game, but the puzzles are a nice twist. I played it all the way through, nice work.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]