Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Seismic Charge

by J.Barrows - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There is a monster dwelling beneath the surface, and only high explosives can stop it.
Click on screen to drop an explosive charge into the earth. when the charge explodes it destroys anything in a small radius (indicated by an orange circle) and provides seismic readings in a larger radius (indicated by a blue circle) which reveal the location of silver, gold, diamond, and the current location of the monster (indicated by a red X).
The monster is always on the move, so you will need to use multiple charges to locate and destroy it.
Your charges start off weak, but with every $1000 of treasure you find, you will receive upgrades.

You'll need to download the html version, sorry. My host didn't work as I was expecting.

CURRENT ISSUES [And Future Plans]
* No prompt for game start - You can start playing as soon as the "$0 - LV.1" appears in the top-right corner
[A prompt should display "Click to drop a charge"]
* No Sound
[The explosion should make a noise, but music could detract from the mood of the game. Maybe music that is only be audible in time with the charges]
* No limits makes the game very easy
[Charges should take time to load between launches. Load speed should be upgradeable]
* No clear indication of when a treasure is collected.
[Display the type of treasure and its value when collected. Treasures will be made to look the same]
* No risk to the player
[Charges could cost money, forcing the player to be conservative. Monster could reproduce in time, forcing the player to choose between collecting upgrades to take out many monsters quickly, or targeting the monster immediately to stop it from getting out of control]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#660Innovation2.91
#867Theme2.87
#923Fun2.59
#1007Overall2.70
#1024Mood2.42
#1085Graphics2.30

Comments

J.Barrows says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:22am

Please let me know if you have any questions or concerns, I would love to know what you think no matter what!

Shire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:27am

It's a little hard to differentiate the symbols on the screen

Stuffie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Hmm. I couldnt get the game to run, it got stuck on the black screen with "$0 - Lvl1" in the corner. Web player version :(.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:36pm

i was sat with the black screen waiting for something to happen for ages hah.. didnt realize it had started ;p good effort man :)

J.Barrows says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Actually, it was probably running fine, but I should have added a prompt to tell you what to do.
You can click to drop a bomb, and the bombs light up the surrounding area

Tipyx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:42pm

It could be sooo better with a little of sound :) ! But the concept is very nice ! Maybe a word in the beginning to say "Click to play" :p

Lrnk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Interesting concept. Would be good if there was some penalty for using charges, as I was able to win by just clicking everywhere loads. Nice and original though!

granut100 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:51am

Good game! It was easy to win and there was no sound?

AGDG_REJECT says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:41am

A neat little game. Some audio and maybe a bit of juice and it'd a real winner.

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:44am

Good start, but there needs to be a bit more challenge, and something to prevent the player from just spamming clicks all over the screen. I beat it in about 15 seconds by just clicking frantically.

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:43pm

A really interesting idea. It needs a losing condition though. I think you could also add more strategy by indicating direction as well as location. The game worked fine on Linux.

hyouko says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:23am

It feels like the depth charges should cost me something. Right now there's no risk of failure - I can just spam as many depth charges as I want until I hit the monster, it seems.

May 1, 2014 @ 12:57am

I'm agreeing with the general sentiment: neat idea, but it needs more polish. Sound for the blasts, a prompt that says "start now!", and a risk of failure should be high on your list.

miwuc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:01am

Even after reading the instructions, it took me a while to realize that yes, the game had finished loading, and to figure out what was going on. But when I did, I actually really enjoyed playing the game. Even if there's no real challenge, it's very satisfying to play (who doesn't like to collect money and power ups!)
You could add a little bit of challenge by keeping highscores based on the number of bombs dropped and/or the time taken to win.

joe40001 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:09am

I like the premise but it seems too easy, the balance to gameplay needs tweaking. You can spam click and win really fast and the monster doesn't pose any threat that motivates the player to click faster slower or anything else. It's a seed of a fun idea just not quite there yet. Still keep at it, I like the creativity.

J.Barrows says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Thanks for the tips everyone. I'm going to try to get a better build together soon.
My original objective was to have a delay after a click to load a new charge, as well as being able to upgrade separate features including load time and number of charges per load.
I don't really want to have a "Game Over" condition, maybe just increased difficulty as time progresses. The monster could multiply after a certain amount of time
I think that I will also make all the treasures look the same until you collect them.

Wertle says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:39am

The automatic ramp-up actually felt pretty good, I think going in to a menu to upgrade things may have broken up the flow. Maybe time pressure would be nice. Good job :)

May 2, 2014 @ 7:42am

I'm just clicking randomly and rapidly and suddenly I win. Not sure what happened :v

Teesquared says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:27am

Interesting idea. Not sure what I did to win.

jujule says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:05pm

I enjoyed it a lot. I like the radical minimalistic graphics. I agree with most of the idea you have in mind to refine gameplay, mostly to make it harder, but I also think part of the fun was to frantically click around the position where the monster was first spotted. Maybe you shouldn't so much put restrictions on bombing capacities but make the monster faster. Just an idea. Anyways, good job.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]