Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Orpheus

by edemmester - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It is an easy game called Orpheus. If you have a question then you can send me an email to info[at]edemmester[dot]hu, or tweet to @edemmester, or send a message to facebook.com/EdemmesterGamerBlog .

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#394Audio3.00
#535Innovation3.09
#558Fun3.00
#570Humor2.42
#574Overall3.17
#588Mood2.95
#676Theme3.13
#1085Graphics2.30
#1746Coolness37%

Comments

Kara Jayde says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Some of the level concepts (like the memory to get past complete darkness) was cool. Reminded me of old school NES Zelda puzzles. The permadeath is pretty brutal though.

b222ster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Permadeth kills, otherwise great stuff !

_adamturnbull says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Pretty cool. I agree about the memory level, that was a nice touch. Maybe adding a timer to the levels would have increased the pressure.

Lucio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:52pm

I agree, the permadeath is Brutal!

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:38pm

The game was fun, although I could not get past the 666888666222 thingy; my character seems to be completely blocked on the 4th lava screen. Is that supposed to happen ?

SlipperyPete says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:08am

Gah, level 2 stage 3 is insane.

BasselGaming says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:10am

Nice game! great concept, but i have a question, is this based on the "Orpheus the Great Musician" story?

edemmester says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:18am

@_adamturnbull - Yes, the timer is a good idea.
@Delca - Look at the numbers, and look at your numlock. If you use a laptop without numpad then you can look at a calculator's buttons. (6 = right, 8 = up, 2 = down) Just remember it and go!
@SlipperyPete - Yes :D
@BasselGaming - It is based on "Orpheus and Eurydice"

Chaoseed says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:29am

Well, for 48 hours, certainly it's an accomplishment. ;) It seemed a little simplistic...I got frustrated because you have to go back to the beginning of the 'world' with each death, so it discourages you from experimenting. Also it seemed like every now and then the character would move without any input from me, occasionally killing me. Going from "beneath the surface" to "Orpheus" is actually pretty cool; I suppose everyone knows the story, but maybe it would still be nice to have an intro or something...

Toby Pinder says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Yup, can't add anything new except more moaning about the permadeath :)

SHAME says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:02pm

I'm impressed :) really liked this one! I love Orpheus and Eurydice myth and I think that's a great idea for a game. Moreover, it greatly fits the theme. Congrats!

borrismoose says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:25am

Gaahhh! Being kicked back to the start of the world upon dying really took some of the fun out of it, especially in world 2 where it would move me to my doom before scanning the level.

Otherwise I like the puzzles and the challenge, you've put it together well.

mystakin says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:27am

Simple but challenging and enjoyable. Great work!

Erkberg says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 11:33pm

It would be nice to restart at the level you were instead of in the very beginning, apart from that a fine idea and nice execution.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]