Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Walter the white blood cell

by CluelessGames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

whoa this was a bigger game than I thought. Walter the white blood cell is a game about a blood cell named Walter after absorbing a super bug he became super himself his goal is to protect the body from the Invasion of super bugs. While the human drinks red bull and plays ludum dare 29 games.

Walter the white blood cell is a bullet hell shooter with fully customisable ability to your ship/cell.

Sorry some features are lost I ran into some frustrating bugs that took my time away from developing features.

Controls

WASD to move ship
Space to fire lasers(If on ship)
Q to fire rockets(If on ship)
RShift to double ship firing(if energy is available)


Enjoy My game :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#229Innovation3.55
#318Audio3.14
#430Humor2.62
#468Mood3.08
#495Overall3.24
#540Fun3.03
#641Theme3.17
#800Graphics2.79

Comments

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:10pm

looks interesting. any chance for a linux build?

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:07pm

really impressed with the scale of this! I thought it might just be a shooter from the screen shot but was pleasantly surprised. love the audio too! :D

Hob623 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:23am

This is a nice use of the theme; I especially like the customization, although it could use some polishing (I couldn't figure out how to remove elements). The portions with the enemies are fun, although they could use more variety (or maybe i just didn't get far enough). Nice work~

CluelessGames says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:51am

Thank you for all the nice comments I again apologize for The lack of Polish and variety and content I really struggled near the end and regret not being able to add more Also yes I will go ahead and compile it in linux :D!

Xaychru04 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:44am

Very nice game, I spend more time cusomizing my ship than I though I would, I expected a few more levels, but I really enjoyed the game anyway! :)
(Here is my ship: http://goo.gl/gu81r2 :D)

mcburrobit says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:31am

very interesting concept, I would love to see this game get some graphical polish, I'd happily pay good money for something like that.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:43am

O M G. Awesome game!!! I love the sounds. I cant believe you created this in 48 hours. Good job!!! :)

Huder says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:57am

Nice concept i never saw scrolling shooter where you can make your own shaped character. But the game mechanics must be polished. There is a bug when you remove weapons they graphical representation is gone but in game they are shooting anyway :P

f7f5 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Hmmm. The linux download link is broken.

"The owner of this folder has not added any files."

CluelessGames says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Sorry my bad fixed the link now :D

Nichii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Fun game, i love the customization in the game. A better and clearer tutorial would be nice XD

thaaks says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Cool game! Although I suck at bullet hell shooters there's a lot of fun in your game!
The ship editor is cool and the ingame music is extremely well done!

Covenant says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Very nice concept, liked the customization!

YSelf Tool says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Lovely game! Even if I never managed to build a rocket launcher.

f7f5 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Thanks for updating the Linux link. Unfortunately, it doesn't work for me (Fedora 19 64bits):

$ ./Ludum\ Dare\ 29
Segmentation fault (core dumped)

CluelessGames says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Sorry im not sure how I would fix that :(

Troy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:38am

Awesome level of customization for such a small amount of time. Great Job!

BasselGaming says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:15am

Great concept, cool gameplay, but i think the enemies are a little bit too hard, i dunno.. :D

javierecf says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:58am

What a surprise this was, i tought it was gonna a be a generic shooter and the customization change my mind. It is really challenging and pretty much everything from the visuals to the audio fits really well. Really impressed. Good game.

Moosefly says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Would love to play this, but the ship customization screen doesn't work. The text inside the text boxes(?) appears as a continuous white line and the grid area flashes randomly with the parts I've inserted. If I go into gameplay it works fine though, but I can't really build any working ship as it stands. Picture here (the grid is empty even though I drew some random lines in there and they can be seen in short flashes) https://www.dropbox.com/s/7pgkbs4oayd8rr0/walter.png.

W7 Ultimate 64Bit, AMD Radeon HD5970 with Catalyst 12.10 (newer ones don't work reliably for me).

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]