Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

StromnetZ

by Moosefly - Jam Entry

Simple, yet (hopefully) fun and addictive pipe-esque game of electric pipes and underground bombs. Sweet, sweet bombs.

Take a look here before blaming the devs: https://www.dropbox.com/s/i5gy1o8dfo3ag08/fyi.png

Edit -> Remember to leave a comment, that way we can easily play and rate your game if we haven't already done so :).

Edit 2 -> If the numbers don't seem fit in their boxes, try refreshing and seeing if the game is able to load the correct font.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#231Fun(Jam)3.24
#329Audio(Jam)3.16
#333Overall(Jam)3.28
#352Humor(Jam)2.62
#461Innovation(Jam)2.79
#536Mood(Jam)2.78
#561Graphics(Jam)2.86
#562Theme(Jam)2.72

Comments

Korwegian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:32am

Pretty good mahn

Stepperz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:42pm

I am loving the end of level sound!!! Amazing :)
Great game!!

Recon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Good loading music and tutorial.

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:41pm

I really like the tutorial option! Very nice.

MrShortee says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Bonus points for the victory tune :D

popogames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Nice solid tutorial and awesome that it has leaderboards!

borrismoose says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Nice game, works really well and the music was pleasant. I always end up liking these pipe puzzle games more than I expect.

lasagnegames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:05pm

You know how to bring the player into the game, nice pipe game and very clear tutorial

Gins says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Very cool concept, loved it!
Good job on the tutorial, and it's nice that there are side-goals if you seek a challenge, or you can just connect the pipes for winning if you're not that good yet :)

Hob623 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:21am

Really liked the music and concept.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:07am

I love the end level ditty!

dejant says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Great game! I really enjoyed it.

madalaski says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Good game. Love the little accapella bit at the beginning. Not sure how it fit in with the theme but oh well...

Moosefly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:23pm

madalaski: The game is supposed to take place "beneath the surface", as indicated by the images above the playing field. I humbly apologize for the lack of dinosaur skeletons in the background dirt to emphasize this :(.

Thanks to everyone for playing, rating and commenting! Your comments mean a great deal to us. I'm truly surprised at the lack of complaints, surely someone must have encountered a bug or something!

Our database has 262 scores submitted as of now (a lot of them from us devs and our friends though). Would love to see some new names in the leaderboards too!

Brick says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:18am

Nice, some of the mechanics were confusing but I really liked what you did with this. Better graphics would go a long way, however it did have nice audio.

Vandash says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Really nice puzzler. It'd be nice if the timer didn't constitute a game over and you get extra points for doing a "perfect" layout (i.e. no open links). It'd be nice for my OCD anyway ;)

Moosefly says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Vandash: Thanks for the feedback. We did consider taking the open links into account while working on it, but went in a different direction in the end (speed over perfection). The restrictive timer also reflects that. Maybe it could've been a separate mode? "Perfection mode - You may continue as long as you don't leave more than X links open!" :P.

XrXr says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:35pm

It might be because I'm not familiar with rule of pipe game, but sometime the game ends unexpectedly. For ex I have a 4 dir pip that has 3 ends connected, the water goes through one directed, but not the other. Not sure if that is intended. Other than that, good game!

Moosefly says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:38pm

XrXr: Did you take a look at the image in the description :)? Thanks for playing!

XrXr says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Oh never mind, I just read the info in the description. XD Sorry for posting before reading(also the amount of typo in my last post is astonishing)

XrXr says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:45pm

I think a visual change to the game, making the compound pipe light up only in the section where the water actually pass through, would make the mechanic more obvious. It also makes the game more self-contained. I enjoyed playing this game! My favorite so far!

Moosefly says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:02pm

XrXr: Yeah, that would've been an obvious improvement, but it couldn't be done with the way we were doing things :(. I just figured out how we could've done it super easily though with a minor change, too bad we had almost no time to polish the game. Maybe in a post-LD version if we decide to make one...

Anssi@MooseflyGames

mechabit says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Needs a way to remove mistakes or a quick restart. The high score board is cool. Tutorial is handy as well.

Katamori says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Not bad!

ThingoStudios says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Quite fun. I appreciate the effort put into the user interface; it felt like I was playing an arcade machine and working at a power plant at the same time. The woodwind jingle (!) that played when you won made me laugh.

Wakka says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:35am

This is a pretty good puzzle game with some kind of randomness and timein it. Has a very good tutorial. Some times connected pipes were not detected, other times pipes that should not have been connected were detected as beeing connected. I failed at 24105 score due to such bug. However all in all pretty well made!

Moosefly says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:42am

@Wakka: Hmmm, haven't encountered that problem myself. Are you sure it wasn't because of this https://www.dropbox.com/s/i5gy1o8dfo3ag08/fyi.png? I know those two pipes are somewhat easy to mix up, especially because the electricity flowing trough them animates poorly as indicated by @XrXr. Would love to hear about the situation where it failed!

As always, thanks to everyone for playing. Our score database just keeps getting bigger by the day!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

CiderPunk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 8:02pm

nice! impressed with the tutorial!

JoshOS says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Nice game!. It doesn't innovate but it's still very fun :)

Making a tutorial was very impressing for a game jam.

HybridMind says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Not sure why my game ended on the third level. I had all my pipes connected (or so I thought.) Anyway, I enjoyed this a good bit. A lot of fun for sure.

Moosefly says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:46pm

@HybridMind: Just the other day I thought that adding a "why did I fail"-thingy at the end of the game would've been useful, after failing for some reason. Probably forgot to connect the first pipe or something stupid in my aim for the high scores :P.

@JoshOS: Thanks for playing! We too have been pondering about how important it is to be innovative. I think we might score somewhat badly on that this time around!

@CiderPunk (and the others praising the tutorial): Thank you! Looks like my last-minute (more like last-hour) efforts paid off.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Teesquared says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:51pm

I too was confused by the 2 types of + pipes. Sounds didn't work on IE so I switched to Firefox. Much more fun with sounds :)

elefantopia says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 1:09am

Addictive game! Nice graphics and music. Thanks for the tutorial which made it clearer and easier to jump into the game.

MokuJin says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:27pm

~62000 points for the first try :)

The pipes are good (even the double pipe) and the game is addictive.

the idea of bonus is really good, make me loose trying to have it all :D.

The music is good, but the sound when you place is pipe is annoying.

Love the Stargate level and the level's end FF music, really good private joke.

MokuJin says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Almost forgot : the tutorial is a really good point. not many game makes this important part.

Katamori says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 7:01pm

OFF-TOPIC:

your investigation in the source code of my game could help me to fix the laser bug. Thank you very much for yout help.

GrooveMan says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:45pm

A really cool system - sometimes the part randomization felt off (I managed to get the 'separated cross' part 5 times in a row), but fun and polished nonetheless.

f7f5 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Tetris with pipelines. It's actually quite fun! I needed a couple of tries before I completely understood the system, but that's not a problem (the tutorial helped in any case). A small glitch: The numbers (score, level, etc...) were half out of the boxes (Firefox on Linux).

Moosefly says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 12:51am

@f7f5: Thanks for the feedback. It might actually be a problem with the correct font not loading before it is being used. The numbers are supposed to use a 7-segment display style font :). I'll add a note about this on the description.

Nanolotl says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:38am

Well designed puzzle game. The multiplier and treasure mechanics were interesting. It was a bit strange that there was only one kind of corner pipe and one kind of T-pipe.

vigrid says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:31am

Quite an easy game - I enjoyed it, especially the end of level sound. I liked the fact that this game wasn't as unforgiving as the arcade classic.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]