Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Down the snail hole

by oxysoft - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game lacks features and fun because I was running short on time.

Plot: Your ant colony has been scattered everywhere in the snail den. All you are left with is Bobby, Reginald and Clarence, 3 very week ants.

You must rebuild your ant colony by digging your way through the Snail den and unearthing your companions, the worker ants. Kill all the snails on your way.

Controls:
WASD: move the camera
SPACE: move selected ant units to cursor
F: Attack nearby snails

Caveats: The collision is a bit glitchy at times, stay away from the walls as much as possible

This was written in Dart

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#147Theme3.77
#414Innovation3.27
#424Audio2.96
#462Graphics3.30
#632Mood2.91
#812Overall2.92
#899Fun2.62
#901Humor1.94
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

KayZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Interesting idea. Controls are a bit strange especially having to reselect the ants after digging. And at one point I wasn't able to make my ants move upwards :(.

Interestingly, yours is the second Dart game that's broken in Firefox because of the same error. Also, please check out my Dart game :).

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:34am

Fun, you managed to make it engaging enough to keep me playing. I liked the digging part, I don't know why but it was cute. Well done :)

zzorn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Love the tileset.

travislucia says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Cool idea but controls are frustrating and get old fast.

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Nicely ambitious. The controls are kind of awkward, left me wishing for something playable with only the mouse.

May 1, 2014 @ 3:38am

Very cool!
Why not use mouse click to move the ants? And all ants could be selected by default since digging currently deselects everything and is a bit inconvenient to reselect.
There's a bug where the snail went into the walls and became unreachable.
Great work nonetheless!

oxysoft says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:08am

- I couldn't remove the context menu when right clicking and I found space to be the least awkward of all the other keys

- The snail do get stuck in the walls when they attack in diagonal angle from a wall tile :(

- You can't move your ants up in the second level for some reasons

Gaming_Ray says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Looks interesting, but the controls are totally awkward.

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Interesting ideas, I would love an auto select for the ants. I didn't expect to the like the space to cursor mechanic as much as I did.

noom says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:25am

Very cool, was a good bit of fun. Some criticism - the SFX were a bit intense and I had to turn my headphones down. The controls seemed slightly bugged where each time I dug I had to reselect all my ants. And I had snails on the last level just run off into the terrain where I couldnt reach them.
I love love LOVE the music though, very nice. That and your graphics are really neat. This is a great entry!

quantumpotato says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 1:56am

Interesting idea. You don't seem to actually need RTS c ontrol schemes.. WASD or mouse would have worked fine.

May 17, 2014 @ 1:56am

Great game! It was a quite obvious, but nice use of the theme.

If you continue developing this idea, I think adding more types of enemies/ants/obstacles would make the game more interesting. :)

Jason Lay says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:23am

I like the graphics!

May 19, 2014 @ 3:52am

Interesting concept. The controls where a bit hard to get used to. Wish it was more fleshed out.

Clinthoney says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:03am

Not sure what I was suppose to be doing so most of my ratings are based of the visuals and sounds. But overall looks great just wish I knew what to do.

pikkpoiss says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:45am

It took me so long to figure out you needed to select ants to do anything. The digging mechanic was cool and fighting was easier than I expected. Wish there was a fast way to select ants though, jugging the selection was frustrating. Beautiful and simple sprite graphics on the walls and dig icons, and I liked the music too.

copain says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:50pm

seems cool but controls and problems of pathfinding discouraged me...

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]