Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Collector

by IamAcoconut - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Collector a supernatural being that collects the souls of dead sinners. In the game you are dead. You were a sinner in the life you had lead so know you owe the Collector you soul. You like your soul. You don't want to give it up. The goal of the game is to shoot the Collector before he takes your soul, in the underground maze under you grave. Click on stuff to pick it up. Click to shoot.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#215Mood3.47
#730Audio2.42
#962Humor1.84
#1085Graphics2.30
#1118Theme2.31
#1142Innovation2.18
#1181Overall2.39
#1242Fun1.72

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:18pm

There wasn't too much to play, but it was very atmospheric and the darkness added to the tension.

Baknik says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Cool lighting added to the mood.

hoqjed says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Indeed moody.

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:40pm

It's got the mood, the atmosphere is creepy and I started being afraid of moving after reading some board, turning around and being caught.
It needs some kind of scream when it finds you!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Decent concept, but I would have liked a bit more direction. I found the gun pretty quickly, but didn't know how to use it. The world was large and spooky, but too dark to explore fully. Is there ammo somewhere?

Thanks for taking the time to enter!

Marcellus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:43pm

It's a bit scary the first time and reminds me of slender.
Some feedback would be nice to know if you are actually firing anything with the gun, killing the collector can be a bit surprising.

Also you need to add an invert mouse function.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Definitely could feel the tension from the dim lighting and strange sounds. Don't know if it was a bug or something with IE, but I couldn't walk and turn at the same time.

IamAcoconut says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Thanks for all the awesome suggestions! I wish I added them in before the competition finished.

GamerTaters says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:20am

Good mood. Got turned around quite a bit in the maze.

malmazuke says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Great mood

Nezzhil says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:13pm

I spent almost all my playtime in dark rooms without anything, no sound, no sfx, empty. When i got tired return to the place where the monster should be and click, maybe some puzzle to obtain the gun, or someone chasing you from the beggining would give a nice mechanic for the game. Btw, in 48h, nice overall job

Naouak says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:14pm

My chrome tab is freezing when I load the page. couldn't test it.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:52am

good mood to the game but no idea what to do so I was left kind of empty - nice effort

joe40001 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:31am

I disagree about needing a scream when he finds you, IMO jump scares are lazy design in both games and tv/film. But maybe I'm not your target audience.

pjchardt says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:59am

I like the mood. Definitely suggest you do mouse lock in the future though. Really distracting to have the mouse visible and moving around in and out of the window: https://docs.unity3d.com/Documentation/ScriptReference/Screen-lockCursor.html

wschorn says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:14am

the descriptive text carries it. just needs more indication around the danger?, I was walking towards it :P

danialhyatt says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:18pm

This had me on edge. Loved the text.. good stuff

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]