Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Baking Simulator: 2014

by Sam Oates Games - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-- overview --

The aim of the game is to bake a cake. Four ingredients are given and a bowl. Combine the ingredients in the bowl, then place the bowl in the oven.

You can control player movement, the left hand and the right hand. As well as each finger/thumb on each hand.

-- software used --

* Unity Pro
* 3ds Max
* Fireworks
* Audacity
* MapScape

-- full controls [360 Controller] --

- Right Thumbstick - Move
- Left Thumbstick - Rotate

- DPad Left - Left hand mode
- DPad Up - Player move mode
- DPad Right - Right hand mode

- X - Lower hand
- B - Raise hand

- A - Grab with thumb
- Shoulder buttons and triggers - Grab with fingers

- Back - Restart Game

-- full controls [Keyboard] --

* Please note, the game was created using 360 controls, I have simply mapped them to keyboard so they may be a little clunky.

- W,A,S,D - Move
- Arrow Keys - Rotate

- 1 - Left hand mode
- 2 - Player move mode
- 3 - Right hand mode

- Q - Lower hand
- E - Raise hand

- Spacebar - Grab with thumb
- Left Shift - Grab with all fingers

- Escape - Restart game

-- apologies --

I realize that this isn't great on the theme, I was planning on doing the Jam with an artist friend. However, they had to pull out so I panicked and made this as my mind went blank and all I could think about was cake.

but beneath the surface of a good cake is a good sponge! and everyone likes sponge cake right?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#115Humor3.41
#354Graphics3.47
#694Audio2.50
#745Overall2.98
#818Fun2.73
#843Innovation2.67
#952Mood2.53
#1246Theme1.75

Comments

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:08am

Very hard if not impossible to control (on a PC keyboard) and for some reason it seemed like I couldn't get my hands close enough to grab some ingredients but I do kinda like the fun and frustration these "badly controlled" games gives you and you have managed to do that!

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:14am

Enjoyed playing. Btw, to get close enough you need to press "2" and move around.

gabbsson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:31am

Fun idea, controls were really difficult though. (Maybe thats the point!)
Nice graphics and humor!

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:44am

Took ages to load. I thought it crashed. But really was fun afterwards! :)

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:46am

Haha nice gameplay and difficult controls :) I think you should increase friction of character movement.

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:04am

Fun idea (Surgeon Simulator, anyone?) and graphics were nice, too. But I had a very hard time figuring out what to do. Good job! :)

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:17am

This game was both fun and hard. Enjoyed it!

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Wow, that was excruciatingly hard -- but in a good way!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:55pm

13938 (Accidentally threw like 4 eggs in)! Crazy difficult and a bit clunky but managed it once I got the hang of it. Decent go at the whole awkward-simulation concept though! :D

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:21pm

It's very hard to control myself. I'm just happy baking isn't that hard in real life :)
But anyway, this is really good job in 48 hours!

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:00pm

I like these kinds of games, but similar to others of its type, they can be hard to control. I think with some tuning you could make it play pretty well. There's definitely potential, especially since I don't believe there's a cooking game like this yet. I could see a lot of people making entertaining Let's Plays, much as they have with Surgeon Simulator and the like. Not on theme, but nice work nonetheless.

Korwegian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Great concept, confusing controls :/

mihaivdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Awesome! I made my cake perfect but extra sugary...about 470 grams ^^
You need to improve the controls a bit and I don't necessarily mean to make them easier, but have a play with different keys and see which ones make it somewhat easier. Maybe leave the movement part out. I had to use the controller as it was too weird on the keyboard. On the Xbox controller you have to invert the thumbsticks. I don't think i've ever seen a game in which you move with the left thumbstick and look around with the right one.
Oh and don't see the connection to the theme very much.
Little issues aside, this is a very strong submission and it goes as 3rd on my list of favourite ones so far :).
Keep it up!

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Hard to control (elevating hands are tedious and slow), but overall, pretty humorous game :D

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:30pm

I'd like to thank everyone for there comments :) it's really useful to get some real world feedback.

Best community ever!

LPGhatguy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Difficult controls, fun concept.

bakpakin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Is this even possible? I had fun smashing eggs, but I could even pick up the flour.

thinkster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Cool idea and well implemented! Hard to control but guess that is the point, though I never have played any of the "simulator" games. Impressive that you managed this considering your friend dropped out!

Gaspard_ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Tipped over the flour, opened the oven, tuck the butter, dropped it, rage quit.
I guess I don't have the nerves... oh and, it's a nice hilarious game!

jsspiegel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:46am

Really like the idea, I had a very similar one a while ago :)

marccspro says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Pretty good but so hardddd

sfdnetwork says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Too many controls, I give up.

tenpn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:20pm

I liked the idea, but the controls just seemed to not behave themselves unfortunately.

MarsBar says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:41am

I like the concept, simulators are awesome XD this game is super challenging which makes it addictive for me, I had to stop playing otherwise I would be playing for hours instead of rating games XD
One thing I noticed that was strange was there was a squeaking sound in the bkg music, not sure what that was but found it a bit distracting, also I think the controls might be a bit too difficult for people starting out. Overall you did a pretty good job though :)

Kyatric says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Good job, I'm not baked, but I managed to bake a cake :)
Feels a lot like the "hyper simulators" of the like of surgeon simulator, obviously. So it suffers from the same "drawbacks" which is, for example, a heavy control scheme, that is part of the challenge.

Nevertheless a fun experience, and a great prototype that would probably gain from providing other types of cakes to bake/challenges like a time limit, a waiting customer, or something of the like.

Good job doing this in 48 hours nonetheless !

Norse Games says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:31am

Very nice, I love the super awkward controls or super realistic controls games, good job! Took me ages to bake that cake

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Impossible to control with a Logitech gamepad :-(

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]