Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tetrix Zone

by eskivor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

For this Ludum Dare 29, I'm glad to show you my game Tetrix Zone. It's my first Ludum Dare with Unity.

Tetrix Zone is a game where the player has to do speleology among Tetris blocks, to get the key beneath the surface, and go back to get the cup to win.

The level is half randomized.

Get the key, then get the cup !
Arrow keys to move and jump.
Left click on Tetris blocks to destroy them.
Be quick to get the best score ! ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#583Innovation3.03
#834Audio2.20
#985Graphics2.51
#1008Humor1.74
#1040Fun2.41
#1099Overall2.56
#1101Theme2.37
#1169Mood2.04

Comments

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:23am

The movement controls seemed broken. Like there was a force always being applied against me.

Zathalos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:05am

Yeah the controls were a little wonky but I managed to get to the key and then the cup. It's an interesting concept but I don't see how it applies to the theme? Anyway, good try.

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:04pm

The player controls were not great. But the idea has potential! :)

sam101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Good try, even if the controls seems quite weird on my computer

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Something with the collision detection and movement seemed wonky. Sometimes I'd be able to "climb" up the side of blocks. The jump height seemed inconsistent as well.
But I love the idea of blasting a way down into a pit and then having to climb back up, all on shifting platforms!

Katamori says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Extremely laggy for me. Also, I can't see the point of the game, but somehow I still love it.

xhunterko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:46am

Glitch: Left arrow key movement is awful. Plus, you can get the cup when it doesn't appear. Neat idea though.

Lrnk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Haha, novel! Cool idea, cool game

Hob623 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:31am

This is a cool concept; getting to the key might not be too hard, but getting back up can make for interesting challenges. It would be cool to see what could be added to this game to make it more than just the same level. There are a few bugs, the movement seems a bit slow at times, and jumping close enough into the gate at the beginning at a level causes it to instantly be cleared. Also, the music gets rather grating quickly. Apart from that, nice job~

Gins says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Interesting idea, unfortunately a bug lets you just climb up the wall to the cup by pressing left and jumping so there's not much challenge to this game :(
I tried to play one game fair though, and that was more fun :)

LPGhatguy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Being able to climb the walls and then on top of everything didn't make it much of a challenge. It was however a good break from all of the mole games I've been playing.

Dreii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:56am

Really buggy controlls but nice concept! :D

Thorig says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Great idea, but the execution was not. This could be a good game with a bit more polish.

ZYXer says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:24am

Good game concept. But it's a bit too easy at the moment.

BTW you should include the source of the game.

pikkpoiss says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:07am

The idea of navigating around a tetris field is pretty cool, although I wanted to see some mechanism to line up rows of blocks and make them vanish, like tetris. Jumping seemed a bit weird, and going left and jumping felt like some invisible current was pushing against me.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]