Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

John

by Diptoman - Jam Entry

"John" is a game about holding on to memories.

All assets created within the 72 hour stretch.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#4Mood(Jam)4.55
#15Overall(Jam)4.18
#24Audio(Jam)4.13
#25Graphics(Jam)4.54
#32Innovation(Jam)3.94
#68Fun(Jam)3.65
#133Theme(Jam)3.65
#485Humor(Jam)2.29

Comments

b222ster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:51pm

This is FANTASTIC! The design was amazing, the gameplay was simplistic yet challenging. Good Job !

ApoorvaJ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Cool stuff! Awesome sound design.

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Wow... Sound,graphics everything, just wow!

Jadernak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:46pm

As the graphics and music come together, my mood indicator goes crazy.

rorycooke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:42pm

its really cool, amazing art

Atta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:52am

It looks great! I don't know what is beneath the surface but game is good.

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:53am

Thanks a lot guys! :D

@Atta: There are memories beneath the surface. :P

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:47am

Well, this is one of those 5-star across the board entries for me. Super well polished, brilliant idea, great take on the theme. Feels excellent to play and is the first entry I've ever seen that does a good job, in my opinion, on having some kind of "ethereal" meaning by reflecting on serious questions, such as good and bad memories.

I love the interaction between the nightmares, and the good and bad memories - I love how the gameplay just augments the point. I love how the dream graphics fill your screen and make it hard/impossible to avoid the nightmares - it is a deep game without taking itself too seriously. Really fantastic entry.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:08am

This is one amazing concept, the background images really get to you every now and then. I really love the smooth gameplay also. Really cool!

JokerDen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:08am

Great! Idea, music, gameplay, ambience - everything is so organical and integral. So touching, good work!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:08am

This is one amazing concept, the background images really get to you every now and then. I really love the smooth gameplay also. Really cool!

greysphere says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:10am

Man, I won a lot of trophies when I was younger! The atmosphere in this is great, particularly the music and sound. Really liked the dash mechanic and tuning too.

j_peeba says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:14am

Very relaxing game. The audio is lovely and the visuals work really well. If there's something I would critique, it's that there could be more progression in the challenge of the game besides just adding more and more randomly moving bad memories on the screen.

eufrik says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:01am

Your art is amazing. Good game.

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:11am

All round awesome game!

TheGrieve says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Instantly playable, well driven and challenging. Love it.

popogames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Nice concept. Really liked the artstyle

Yword says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Amazing works! Very unique and brilliant idea, and the mood is perfect.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:56pm

totally amazed by this gem .

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Thanks fellas!

@j_peeba: Yeah, adding more variety was the initial plan and probably would have been there had it not been messed up by my router malfunctioning and me catching a fever on the 3rd day. :| Also they're not totally randomly moving, they target the player y'know.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Amazing! Is it bad that I was hitting the bad memories just so I could see the art?

flavio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:09pm

I really liked the concept and the mood created !
Very nice work !

mclewis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Really enjoyed the game. Only complaint is that the dream visuals are a different style than everything else.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Great atmosphere and game mechanic.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:42am

I love the atmosphere, graphics, and game in general. Nice use of theme! I included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 29 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/pi2GfgHfAZM

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:23am

Great game! Clever use of the theme. Great art, mood, sounds and music. Nice work!

Wakka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:29pm

pretty perfect, I really like the idea with the images in the background when you're hit.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:29pm

This is easily one of my favorites. I couldn't resist picking up bad memories just to see the art

Fantastic job

VictoryGarden says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:17am

First, a couple of bugs/technical issues:

The voiceover at the beginning seemed like some sort of processing needed to be done to it, or the microphone was low-quality--though the VA was speaking very distinctly and gave a good performance, the sounds themselves blurred together a little and sounded "fuzzy" even though my speakers were cranked pretty high.

I was playing the web version, as well, and despite building my computer recently and having a decent connection, it froze up quite a few times when I was by the edge of the screen and catching a memory. That threw me a bit on mood, but as I would have given you 6 stars (that voice acting! those graphics!) you're doing well anyway.

Otherwise, great game. I especially enjoyed the beginning voiceover, which added a lot to the game--it was short, to the point, emotive, and a nuanced performance... and there were some moments, when I would pick up a lot of positive and negative memories at the same time, which were very emotionally striking. A quick succession of images, flickering one after another, and then one would stay longer, like a burning imprint.

I liked that there was no way to attack--just to defend. Great job.

Diptoman says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:55am

Appreciate the comments guys!

@VictoryGarden: The game probably just lost focus and hence froze since you (possibly) clicked outside. :| And yeah, that was raw voice, needed processing. But thanks a ton for the in-depth comment!

garygreen says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:51pm

This is so well executed. Well done.

MintArcade says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Bad memories overwhelming me. Sad game, but cool

loxo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Overall an awesome game! I especially like that your game manages to trigger memories and emotions related to the presented images. Additionally in spite of the simplicity of the game mechanics it gets quickly rather challenging, but at the same time avoids to create stress. Maybe it is possible to intensify the triggered emotions by slowing the game down for a really short time during a memory is shown. But an extended version with a wider range of memories would definitely be great.

k.escoe says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:01pm

this was very fun! i love the art

May 11, 2014 @ 5:51am

Really good mood!! Sometimes i catch the enemies just to see the bad memories. Dat feels.

GFM says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Nice interpretation of the theme! The game was really moody with both the good and bad memories (and nightmares) as background... I really liked this idea. :)
Graphics and sounds were great! Man, that music... Just awesome.

But I have some complaints about the controls... I'm not really a fun of mouse controlled game in which you follow the mouse with a static camera. You see, since the action is contained only inside the screen(in this case, the canvas) when you move the mouse outside the screen too often things get troublesome. If I can't dash nor repel properly right by the border, because I would end up clicking outside the screen. And when I was moving near the border while repelling, my mouse accidentally got out of the screen and called the right button menu... (this totally screwed a run)
There's also the problem that if you move the mouse outside the screen, you'll be stuck in place. It really shouldn't follow me outside, but it could follow the mouse while respecting the constraints...

Still, this was a great game. Those things got in my way just a few times... It's a pretty good game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]