Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

30 Days Remain

by koe415 - Jam Entry

Maintain the order at all costs as society collapses around you.

Controls:
- Arrows to move
- Shift to sprint
- Space to attack/continue

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#106Innovation(Jam)3.66
#242Humor(Jam)2.90
#253Mood(Jam)3.32
#260Theme(Jam)3.38
#286Fun(Jam)3.14
#293Overall(Jam)3.34
#393Audio(Jam)3.00
#397Graphics(Jam)3.33
#1669Coolness41%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Really enjoyed this. Once I'd worked out how to play it i was hooked for a few goes. I wasn't sure if I was supposed to kill obth duplicates, or just one of them....

Gap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Quite interesting concept. It's often hard to kill only the targets because multiple people are on the spot. Good game!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:07pm

I really enjoyed this. The music adds to the tension, and the game mechanic was quite refreshingly innovative. I may end fearing duplicates in my real life!

CastEclipse says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Liked it! Fun and interesting concept. Cool art style and nice animations! Please rate my game! https://www.dropbox.com/s/mqf8tp0t11so801/Under%20Soul%20Source.stencyl

CastEclipse says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Liked it! Fun and interesting concept. Cool art style and nice animations! Please rate my game!
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=34910

CastEclipse says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Sorry, the previous link was to my source code...

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Intriguing game. It was very confusing at first, but then I got the hang if it. Well done.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Cool idea! It's difficult to get the correct hit when so many overlap at the same time.

javierecf says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Interesting concept, well executed, the music is a bit annoying at times. The visuals on the other hand are nice and impressive animations for such short amount of time.

yetanother says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Really hard game, took me some time to understand.

May 4, 2014 @ 11:51pm

i don't understand what I need to do in the game =/

scgrn says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:02am

Interesting concept and I like the graphical style.

javifugitivo says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:02am

Great idea!

torcado194 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:38am

wow awesome concept! but pretty hard hah. good job!

tchem says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:54am

Really strange, innovative and incredible proposes... i loved it...

Garris says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:55am

Amazing! This was so good. It looks simple on the surface, but it's challenging, interesting, and intense. I got so far, and then lost on day 30 >< so close. Well done!

whilefun says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:14am

The music was very suitable and grim. Loved it. I found it a bit hard to weed out the bad guys when they were in a crowd with the civilians. I really enjoyed the news paper based progress. The whistle is mapped to the 'C' key for me, but the text said the 'X' key. If used once, the whistle seemed to no longer work, (no "sound lines" animation) but it still made the sound. The animations were nice as well. Neat concept, and good job overall. I finished to the end (well, almost...I lost the capital!) :)

Penguincat says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:06am

This was a cool concept, and it was pretty fun. I really liked the mood and the music, and the art was fitting too. However, 30 days seems way too long given how simplistic the game mechanic is; in order for me to not get bored before 30 days goes by, I'd need the mechanics to be deeper or to change up over time. But otherwise this was a great entry, well done!

MarsBar says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:07am

interesting game. I'm not sure what this has to do with the theme :( also the game play was confusing as I'm not sure what the objective is. Am I supposed to chop everyone's heads off, or just some peoples, and how do you know which heads to chop off? I'm sure there is more to this game than I've seen but it's not clear enough.

joe40001 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Creative and fun, it helped for me to give the different characters names so I could be like "Scrunched Ron Swanson" Conan, brown haired emo, black haired emo, Seinfeld, etc and that way I was able to recognize them easier. I got through day 30 with everything still intact (albiet 90+) are there different endings?

Anyway really really like the game.

stvr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:48pm

A really interesting game with an element of Papers, Please. I didn't realize you could change levels until about day 20, then I lost just a few shy of day 30. Tough!

Delca says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:45pm

An great game, although I quickly got bored of killing copies (around day 13~15). Still a really good and polished entry, congrats!

Rabbits... says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Interesting concept, took me a while to understand, but it was fun after that

Miltage says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:59pm

That's an awesome walk cycle, I tried to moonwalk but couldn't pull it off. It would be nice if civilians wouldn't clump together, sometimes I couldn't kill the one I wanted without casualties.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]