Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Snatching Invaluables Beneath the Surface

by mcburrobit - Jam Entry

Requires JRE 1.7, an OpenGL 2.0 compatible GPU and a recent-ish machine (it's been tested to run fine on a mid-tier i5 laptop with an integrated Intel GPU).

As usual, we ran out of time, but learned a lot of lessons, and got some new tools for future endeavours. And had a bunch of fun ofcourse.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#69Audio(Jam)3.86
#155Theme(Jam)3.59
#300Mood(Jam)3.20
#316Graphics(Jam)3.53
#348Humor(Jam)2.63
#431Overall(Jam)3.12
#475Fun(Jam)2.80
#476Innovation(Jam)2.76

Comments

TheLastBanana says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:34am

The movement felt nice and chunky. It was a little slow considering the size of the levels, though.

I only got to level 2, but it didn't seem like there was much challenge. I also wasn't sure what the point of digging was -- you could basically walk anywhere underground.

Visually, though, the game was really nice. Lots of nice polish like the way the player moves in steps and the lighting effects.

Tweak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:38am

I loved the music, the game felt a little slow but it was enjoyable (that beat though)

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:41am

I like the music. I feel like burrowing through the dirt should have taken more time than walking through previously dug paths or something. It felt like I was just walking around a room with cops too dumb to leave the edge. Good idea, needs iteration.

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:47am

This is definitely one of my favorite games I've played so far! The animation at the beginning is crazy! And the art and music capture the mood really well! Personally, (and this is just my 2 cents of course) I would have liked if the entire game ran just a little bit faster. Running back to your van can feel tedious, it would be nice if you ran faster in paths you already dug out (which would also make people plan their paths more). Also the drills fall a bit too slowly to pose a dangerous threat, so the difficulty of the game feels like it scales really slowly. As long as you stay at least moderately deep underground, you're untouchable. Overall, an awesome game! I loved playing it and kudos y'all :]!

Dreii says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:25am

Cool! never played a graverobber game before ;) The music was one of the best ive heard so far! the gameplay got a little repetitive, needed a bit more challenge but with some more stuff and polish I could easily see something like this on steam!

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:05am

Great entry, nice graphics && music.
I really love the light effects :D

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:19am

love the music and art. Needs to be more challenging though. Got a bit tedious,

Stepperz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:25am

Music was fantastic but yet again, a little slow.
Good work though :)

Aomeas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:28am

The game is in the theme, and has a good aspect and a good music, but I think it's too slow, and maybe too repetitive.
The cops aren't really a danger, if they could follow you in the paths underground, that would be great (no digging, just in caves you already dug).
I went till the fifth level to see if something new would crop up.

sandbaydev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Heh, great little piece of work! I liked the concept, like the game. I think there's plenty of room here for further development. More different type of guards. More treasures/things to loot. Lights, maybe vampires... tons of potential.

Good job.

Nicoll Hunt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Great graphics, atmosphere and music. It feels like a little more development time would have given something more rewarding to play, but fun none the less :)

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:37pm

I liked the music and the visuals, but the levels are currently too similar.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Fun game! Loved the music, good work!

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:33pm

i liked the visuals and music, but i agree with the sentiment of many people that the movement was too slow for the size of the levels. It would have been fine if you didn't have to run back to your van every 1 or 2 coffins.

elpaulo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:57pm

The graphs, music and gameplay are nice congrats !
Maybe the game is a little too easy.

muramasa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Oh my god, this is an endurance test! I got to level 6, or 7, I don't know. The character is so slow, and it starts off with so little perils. I still don't know the effects of being spotted. Lastly, I was pretty tired, so one of those daggers hit me back in the head, spurting litters of blood all over the place, bathing all corpses, making them feel the moist and the warmth of living.

I don't know, but playing this game makes me think a lot of weird stuff. Nice game!

Mr. Jif says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Fun game! I've also never played a graverobbing game. However I think you should call it "Diverting Invaluables Beneath Surface" or "DIBS" :)

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:45am

That music was loads of fun! The gameplay was alright.

x1212 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:28am

Nice Audio!
Gameplaywise it would have been nice if there were something to consider before digging a tunnel (maybe someting like already dug out tunnels allow faster movement than those you have yet to dig), but it is good as it is already.

Muciojad says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:15pm

I very like it, gameplay is quite good, I like idea of robber, but most of levels aren't too difficult ;) Music is very suitable to game and give it a really cool mood! ;] Really solid entry!
BTW thanks for playing my game! :)

Nanolotl says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Felt very polished, but grew a bit tedious.
Overall a solid entry though.

lajos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Great looking game, the light effect is especially nice. Wish it was a bit more challenging.

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:02am

Cool!

KuGrou says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:52am

Really liked the visuals and music. I like the gameplay idea, but I got bored fairly quickly from the lack of challenge.

jujule says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:17pm

A very technically solid game. As other have mentioned, the music is excellent. You could do a quick post comp version with a timer and a scoring system. And then maybe add some variety in enemies. Maybe traps too.
Good jobs. Keep working on it!

Kingtrez says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Nice music, game was nice, though the levels were too similar and a little too easy, I personally like a nice challenge.
but nice work :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]