Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under Riders

by calvinsm - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:
- WSAD/Arrow keys to move
- Ctrl to Change the character

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#160Mood3.58
#220Theme3.65
#221Innovation3.56
#414Graphics3.38
#594Overall3.15
#597Audio2.68
#607Fun2.96
#1633Coolness44%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:13pm

I loved the co-op game mechanic, this concept/idea could be developed into a really interesting exploration puzzle game. It would have been nice if the scuba diver could open gates/unlock areas for the sub to enter.

calvinsm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:34pm

\o\ thanks philip... You have a great idea! I'll release a new update with this feature.

alexdantas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:07am

Couldn't find the "any" key!

Just messing with you, the game was nice. :D

I know it's a short time to make a game, so consider those as critiques, not complaints:

- The controls were buggy, with the submarine colliding in strange ways with the scenario. Sometimes I lose the game because the player wouldn't enter the submarine... I also miss being able to move diagonally.
- That sound at first sounded sweet (fitting nicely with the graphics) but after a while became irritating.
- Graphics are great, love dem pixels.
- The co-op concept is awesome, really stands out from other entries around here! If you plan to go on with this game, consider making a two-player mode on which you control them at the same time.

Jyrkface says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:33am

I actually really enjoyed this entry. The audio and graphics work well together to create a nice ambiance. It matches well with the slow urgency of the game :)

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:00am

Nice art style! I really love the "co-op" aspect of the game.

SoupWithBits says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:06am

Sweet game!

GamerTaters says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:14am

Really impressed with the mood you were able to create with such simple use of audio. Well done. Beyond that, I would suggest moving the scuba oxygen meter over to the scuba diver picture to make it more obvious. I didn't see it right away. When I figured it out though, I loved the tense feeling you get from trying to plan out the perfect dive run to get a piece and still have enough air to make it out alive. Good work!

dector says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:48pm

I like this idea and current gameplay.

Sometimes I had problem - sprites collides little bit rough. And movements where not smooth.

Will you work on post-compo version?

May 5, 2014 @ 12:09am

Sure dector, but first I'll collect all feedbacks and players experiences.

Toby Pinder says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:25am

As others have said the presentation and mood is there, but I just didn't find it too fun - the concept is there but it needs something to support it and make it interesting beyond the threat of time running out. If there was more for both characters to do, or more dynamic enemies than static obstacles, I think there'd be something there.

You might want to add lives as well - having a limited number of divers would be better than the insta-fail that I got after collecting 5 pieces :)

As I said though there is definitely something there, the low fi graphics and sound are very interesting, even in the LD space where "8 bit" and other lowrez styles are very common (out of neccessity ;)). The minimalist sounds complement this.

petey123567 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:30am

Solid entry! The parallel tracks reminds me of Cookies & Cream, a lost gem from the PS2: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OBUwwpaRxRQ

torcado194 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:07am

interesting concept! the audio was kinda jarring but it was nice!

scgrn says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:32am

Awesome concept! The controls were a little awkward, I should be able to move horizontally and vertically at the same time, right? This could be an awesome little puzzle game. Great presentation!

JoshOS says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Similar to my game entry where you control two players, I like it.

I felt the sound was painful, and the objective of the game to begin with was very unclear. However, if better sound was used, and more thought on the level design process (Introduce the players to things gradually, ALMOST like a tutorial), provide submarine only & scuba only obstacles, have some actions prevent the scuba diver escaping somewhere and the sub have to come save them. Have 'bubbles' like in sonic, to save your scuba diver from drowning in long distance journeys etc :)

porglezomp says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:53pm

I liked the sounds a lot! It could be really fun with some more dynamic graphics and more juiciness in general.

mystakin says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:08am

Switching between characters is a cool feature and I like the art design. Would definitely play more, but I appear to be very bad at the game, haha.

May 17, 2014 @ 9:58am

I really liked the retro "Atari" feel of the game! Pure nostalgia...

The co-op gameplay is very interesting, and the game sure is challenging, at least for me! =D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]