Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Balancitos

by NickZangus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Bienvenido a la isla de Balancio!

Pull up or down the submerged weights, by clicking on them with mouse, to maintain the balance of the island as long as you can... and preserve the lives of its inhabitants!

Rotate around the island with the gear on the bottom to reach all the weights. Que empiece la fiesta!

Gameplay Video: http://youtu.be/V7iGp4ekTJ4

P.S. Unfortunately I've not had time to complete the game at 100%. The interface and the score are completely missing (I've planned to integrate them in a post-compo version). I preferred to complete the scene rather than having an incomplete scene and an incomplete interface...

_______
TWITTER
Do you like Balancitos? Do you want to know about future updates? Te gustan los nachos? Follow me on Twitter!

_____
EMAIL
NickZangus@gmail.com



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#14Graphics4.52
#25Innovation4.23
#83Overall3.86
#89Humor3.58
#105Theme3.86
#108Audio3.63
#126Mood3.69
#248Fun3.42

Comments

Deity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:57am

Liked the low poly look. Beautiful water and I like the realistic physics. Would like to see this game expanded.

halfmage says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:18am

The low poly style is very nice and I love the sound effects. Great Job!

flrn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:21am

This is beautiful! I love the atmosphere!! Well damnit, this just became the game I rated the highest yet!

JALgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:24am

Wonderful! If you do a post-compo version, could you please add keyboard controls? So 1, 2, 3 and 4 control the balls and you can rotate using e. g. A and D. Thad'd make it easier to control the island as it takes a lot of time (A lot of time = 1 second) to rotate the island.

madjackmcmad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Simple and fun, and enjoyable even without the interface.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Love the art style and mechanics, although I did get to points where moving the ball would do no good, and everyone ended up dying :(

Love the sound effects too!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Really beautiful looking game, quite amazing for 48hours! it reminded me of Black&White a bit. Keep working on it!

Serk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Great concept. 100% would like to see this expanded. I agree with JALgames regarding keyboard controls, specially for rotating

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:59pm

That was awesome! The sounds reminded me of Rayman. I almost screamed at the people on the island: "NOOO, you idiots! Don't go there!!!"

nonentheless says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Great game, though awfully hard for me. Nice island, nice sounds, like it a lot.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:01pm

I was following your game on the blog, the visuals are gorgeous. Pretty hard at the moment, I'd definitely be up for playing the post-release if you continue it.

Hamsternator says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:03pm

This is a cool concept, but I think a game like this would profit more from a "isometric"-style viewpoint. Anyhow, this game is great and I'd love to see this idea expand into something bigger =)

copain says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:44pm

nice graphics.
it's like an add-on for the first populos...

(idea for post-compo: rotate with keyboard)

NickZangus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Thanks to all for trying my game!

@JALgames
@Serk
@copain

Effectively, controlling the rotation with the keyboard would lead to have more freedom to move the weights, but I liked that you can play it only with the mouse. Maybe I could try to use the mouse wheel... I would try different approaches however!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:59pm

So well made. You really care about the small inhabitants. Very nice graphics and sound. A tad to sensitive controls maybe.

PartyBoat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Pretty cool game! A bit too hard for me though!

belva1234 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Relly like that nice done ;)

longshorts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Gorgeous game accompanied by a perfect guitar track. This game has so much charm. I loved the little voices of the inhabitants!

MattV says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:22pm

looks great and a cool concept! I wish there was some score feedback so I could tell how "well" I was doing! Love the style!

MaesK says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Awesome graphics, excellent sound ("Qué bueno", ¡y tanto!), and the whole game works really well.

Sometimes, it's better a short but polished game :D

Cosrnos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:23am

Love the art style and I thought it was a neat concept!

peejaygee says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:28am

This actually made me smile playing it... very cool game

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:34am

Today I learned that balancing an island is hard. Love this interpretation of the theme.

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:39am

Cool concept.

Evilion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:47am

This is so funny and felicitous !

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:54am

Was interesting. Little difficult, but not too bad. I did like the look of the water.

MisterDerek2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:59am

The art style is amazing!

jsspiegel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:09am

Really charming and challenging game! The graphics and audio are both fantastic!

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:02am

Wow, that was really great! Well done.

shuanDang says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:04am

Really cute! I would like to see this expanded too! It's a bit difficult and I lose quickly though

ruthiepee says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:14am

Fantastic game! Simple yet challenging. Love the physics on the water and the bright, fun graphics, especially that beautiful teal color for the water. Didn't realize the people were little beans until I looked closer at a screenshot. Haha.

bakpakin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:36am

Really good but really hard.

louiscarl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:59am

Love it! It's beautiful and original, I love the cute graphics and sound!

illugion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:02am

I love the voices of the tiny people and i think i'm a bad person because the first thing i did was killing everyone on purpose haha nice game !

zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:15am

love it, super zen! it's beautiful in its simplicity.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:18am

this was a really neat concept that was fun. the control system was a bit akward, but i really had fun watching those little beans jump in the water. good job.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:20am

Awesome art style! I had alot of fun twisting the scene and trying to keep the island afloat!

Managore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:42am

What a beautiful game! The inhabitants, the water, the island itself, everything really comes together. With a fun, simple idea on top this is a really great game!

rylgh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:49am

so cool

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:28am

Amazing graphics!! Just WOW!
the game concept is really interesting!

totalnerd152 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:44am

This is so gorgeous. I think my face just melted.

valid4life says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:48am

This was a great play! I thoroughly enjoyed my play-through!

elefantopia says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:50am

Everybody died very quickly.
Gorgeous gfx and very very cute, with balancing (uh uh) could be very fun.

MiscEtc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:10am

I'd be quite interested in seeing what you do with the post-compo version. Nice work

matt_j says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:10am

HAHAHAHA. Foolish little mortals...

moonmagic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:15am

So adorable! The distress of my townspeople was maybe too adorable. "Oh dear!" I would say. "You've fallen in the water again!" "Your neighbor is floating next to you!" I click reset. I immediately pitch everyone into the water. Keyboard controls would be nice.

bugninja says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:19am

Wow, this game really has it all. I especially love the low-poly graphics.

Teesquared says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:38am

Visually and technically impressive. I like the people sounds. Using the gear at the bottom to rotate was weak. Having a spot on the island to grab instead would work better.

ren says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:47am

really nice. everything looks really good and sets the mood really well. kind of reminds me of lemmings. I never kept them alive for very long :(

alvarop says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:50am

Really good game. The mechanic is pretty original. I would play this a lot on mobile.

Dimir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:23am

Very very nice! Sound, Grafics, Idea ++++ )))

lord says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:07am

Really creative take on the theme! I love the art direction, looking forward to seeing you expand it. Very impressive for a weekend's work.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:13am

WHAT A HORRIBLE PLACE TO LIVE!!! Hahaha! Man, the visual style here is so thick n juicy and I just wanna take a big ol bite. How did you get the little people sounds? Are they saying anything in particular or just gibberish sped up? The game is pretty unforgiving but you obviously didn't have the time to get it where you wanted it, and I would like to see an update version. Good job!

zanenga says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:21am

A+ on atmosphere and graphics, this looks just great! I would really dig an adventure in a world like this, hehehe.

praporomsk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:25am

Wow! Good job

ehtd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:47am

Awesome graphics and interesting concept

Lerc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:55am

Any game that causes sudden laugh inducing mass death can't be all bad.

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:09am

Very original concept, sweet low poly style. Great job.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:18am

It's do beautiful ! I like the atmosphere of your game, and it's fun !
The voices of these little guys are so cute (:

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:40am

wow, amazing! love the concept, one of the best games I've played so far

NickZangus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:49am

Thank you! I really appreciate all those feedbacks!

@SonnyBone
Some stereotypical sentence in Mexican style! The hilarious review of "Facade" of "One F Jef" gave me a great inspiration!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HOdlDE0xT7M

@MattV
Unfortunately I have not had time to implement a score... But it will be the first thing which I will in the future!

@Teesquared
It sounds like a good idea! Greatly simplify the interaction with the scene!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:54am

Super nice entry. Well done. Clever idea, neat mechanic and great physics. Art is great, too. You need to finish this up, polish more and release on iOS and get rich. It will sell A LOT. Go forth.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:59am

All you need is a time limit, maybe some random weather/destabilizing events and you're good to go for mobile. Will make a shit load. :)

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:06am

Really nice graphical style! Stands out

MintArcade says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:07am

Like this game very much. Atmosphere and mood are fantastic.

pawegio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:07am

Very fun and innovative, love it!

snickersnacks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14am

Very cute graphics and sfx, not sure what the point was.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:31am

The idea is great and the art is lovely. Sadly I found it a bit hard to control. Really looking for the post-compo version. Good work!

zorfmorf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:37am

Great game! Only problem is the mouse-only control. Keyboard control would allow the player to actually watch what's going on on the island instead of having to concentrate on the weights.

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:42am

I really like the idea behind this game. This is one fun physics game.

Larzan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:43am

Great idea + gfx, but haaaaard :)

rogberth says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:46am

Nice visuals and difficulty. Love the Balancitos!

BobMorate says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:52am

I quite liked the idea, although the game is really hard and the perspective given didn't really let me see very clearly what was going on. By the time I realized, it was too late :(
Excellent choice of graphics and sounds, I would like to see more of this.

Pitoum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:10am

I like everything about it.
Add just something like a timer or achievements, or growing population and you'll have a pretty cool game :)

bombjack says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:30am

nice graphics!

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:33am

cool every cool game! thanks for making it!

flavio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:35am

Beautiful and really enjoyable ! Let us know when you add a proper interface and a timer ! Just like everyone, I can't wait to see the game properly "finished". Great job.

jayhof says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:03am

Beautiful game! Really nice work although I think it gets boring after a while.

Huder says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:14am

Awesome work, great style and sounds. It's little too hard but the game okay.

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:15am

"I preferred to complete the scene rather than having an incomplete scene and an incomplete interface"

You made the right choice here, it feels very complete indeed. I also liked those little people babbling, it adds a lot to the experience.

Good job

martinysa0311 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:33am

Beautiful and powerful. Excelent idea.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:47am

Beautiful looking game and interesting approach to the theme, great work.

nicolashognon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:48am

I really like the game. I am really impressed, 48h, solo ... great job.

Jeremias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:54am

The game looks nice and I love the sound of the little people. Neat idea, but quite hard (for me). Do you plan to make it a bit more forgiving? E.g. by let people fall of the island instead of an instant death?

Statman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:56am

love the graphics and audio ! but no victory condition ? good job !

sirdorius says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:56am

Really nice graphics and it works well! There should be a counter or something to motivate people to keep playing though :)

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Beautiful game (in every aspect), but keys (A/D) for rotation would be much appreciated. On trackpad (laptop) it's kinda difficult. High scorer though, well done!

monaarc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Nice game, good graphics and good idea !!! Need more

ezolotko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Wow, this is a great game

hexagore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Absolutely amazing. Original, fun and beautiful.

Wahooney says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:56pm

I love the graphical style and the background jingle :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:05pm

That was really fun and the game looks great. The people on the island didn't last long with me though.

Detocroix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Prettiest game I have seen thus far! Performance was a bit low but very interesting take on the theme! :D

renatopp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Best game so far! Good in every aspect.

sam101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:38pm

I liked the concept, it made me laugh a bit ! The graphics are really neat. Well done !

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Haha funny game, me gustó :) I loved the noises the people made.

Ekanaut says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Fantastic work! I love the look and the mechanics.

kbm says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Awesome graphics! I really liked it!

gikdew says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Low poly art is awesome, the visuals feel pleasant and the overall game is really fun!

recursor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:16pm

The island is lovely, and so are the little people on it.

jsmars says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Really nice work overall! Should be some type of blinking warning or something when it's very close :)

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Awesome ! :D

Reinkout says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Would love to see this on mobile! Great one, thank you!

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Ahah, that was quite challenging. I was sort of thrown off by the fact that I couldn't tilt it backwards properly...until I realized that you could rotate the view. Quite fun to play. The people are so annoying ._.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:29pm

This is sooo beautiful and artsy!
Good job man.

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Cool!

kevinbush23 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Very cool. Love how the people up top run as the island tilts.

DarkEngineer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Nice game!

Ismei says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:11pm

I enjoyed this game, but felt I couldn't rotate the world fast enough. Also, I felt really bad when the island sank!

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:21pm

I drowned too many people.... :(

davedx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Really nice idea.

BumbleBirds says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Very pretty game, enjoyed this one!

Pierrec says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Very pretty and quite fun! (but hard)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:34pm

The graphics alone make me want to play it again.

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Sometimes the weights are completely unresponsive. Other than that it's a simplistic game, and would love to see it expanded.

taocayo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Wow, this has to be one of my favorites so far! Amazing graphics, mechanics, sounds. Makes me wonder how it would look for touch devices... (hint hint)

Natman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:16pm

I think you've achieved genius here with a game that is incredibly simple yet staggeringly difficult. I like how you've made it enjoyable to keep the little citizens alive as long as possible, without reducing the gameplay to a pursuit of points like this kind of game typically does. It's fun simply because the gameplay is challenging and the game is aesthetically pleasing.

You're right, though, the interface needs some work, although I would still suggest you keep it simple. You don't need a complex menu system or anything, it's just the "Reset" button doesn't fit the style of the game very well.

tacs says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Very pretty! I am very bad at it though!

ryangatts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:48pm

I really like this game :) nice polish. I wish it had keyboard controls for rotating and/or for raising and lowering the weights; at the moment it feels very hard trying to switch mouse positions and set levels quickly.

Trilby says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:51pm

This looks gorgeous and the music suits the visuals well. The game is quite fun.

I think it would be better if you could rotate the island with the keyboard so you could push/pull the weights and rotate at the same time. :)

hyr4 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Really interesting game concept. Loved the tiny voices of the characters!

Vandash says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Super nice concept! Took me a while to figure out how to rotate the island, but very original

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Awesome game entry that looks very polished. i love that triangle style graphics. It's hard to balance, maybe need more sensive control

Tuism says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Fantastic! Awesome! :D I really loved yours, screw the interface you don't need one, the weights and the spinning wheel are all you need really :)

This would work so much better on touch device, so I think you got yourself a little winner of a gem here :)

The style is GORGEOUS! Really love it!

The one biggest gripe I have is due to the design, you're always staring at the least pretty part of the island - the bit that's rising out of the sea. Soooo I would try and change that :)

VERY GOOD!

Mnemusyne says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Really good. I just wish there was more feedback regarding my situation. I failed once when apparently there was nothing wrong.

ghostmaple says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Neat idea. Something as simple as four weights made for some frantic "no no no don't do that!" times when all the islanders ran to the opposite side really fast.

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:12pm

The best I played so far! :D Fun & great looking and has audio too! :)

Danvil says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:50pm

This game is fun :D

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:37am

Wow very well done! lost that low poly effect, love that gameplay! could be a very good simple mobile game!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:40am

Challenging game, sweet graphics, nice gameplay, origional.... Great game! I included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 29 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/pi2GfgHfAZM

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:55am

The controls were very intuitive for such a strange concept. Also the little voices were adorable.

Spierek says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:02am

The game was really great, and I felt like the interface was not needed at all :)

Valandre says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:14am

so simple and so efficient! i love the graphic render

Therrato says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:33am

Really funny game, took me a while to figure out what was happening after 3 plays i noticed that the inhabitants were going places witch caused the island to shift, could be a fun mobile game if it is expanded

daredevildave says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:27am

Impressive stuff for solo work. Feels nice and polished.

I would remove the cog, and just have drag to rotate, but very nice. Art-style reminds me of http://swooop.playcanvas.com ;-)

DanielSnd says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Soooo difficult D: Love the art, hate those villagers, I was like "DON'T EVERYONE GO OVER THERE AT ONCE! ARE YOU GUYS STUPID?"

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Would be so good on mobile. With a swipe rotate. Mouse movements can be slow. Great mechanic. Fresh idea

ioboi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:22pm

I really like the graphics and the sound :)

Venturelli says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Wow this is awesome! And a Compo entry, really nice!

Vytheros says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Great game, love the low-poly style and the bright colour. I hope a post-LD version is in the works 'cause I would buy this

Mase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Looks great... charming little village. Quite difficult as well.

Split82 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Amazing job. I guess it would be even more cool on ipad.

vilya says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:11am

Very nice work! It'd be great to have a timer or some other kind of indication of how well you're doing. Other than that, it's brilliant!

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:45am

Very clever concept. Simple and unfortunately mindelss. Theoreticaly you can balans forever.. There is no even time score or some value to estimate player's efforts.

Mekuri says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:45am

This looked really good! Loved the physics and the graphics! The sound was awesome as well. I wasn't really a fan of the interface, would've been nice just to "right click" and drag to rotate or something like that- All in all a very nice game!

May 1, 2014 @ 5:48am

This is so amazing! THank you for making it. It's scary and creepy to me, living on top of a tiny island with all this water around you... So I did my best to keep the little people afloat. Amazing graphics and addictive gameplay. I really cared about the this tiny island!!

May 1, 2014 @ 8:57am

Incredible art, I love it! The concept is top notch. My only critique would be about the controls, don't feel really accurate and a bit frustrating at the end. But anyway, great entry!

DavidErosa says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Love the style! A bit difficult to control but I loved the mechanics. Good job!

cavf88 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Great game. The cute graphics and music give you a great feeling. I could work really well on mobile.

soulrot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Very simple concept, yet a lot of fun. The art style/graphics are very nice and the sound effects are fun to listen to! The game becomes rather difficult (it seems ot increase in difficulty?), but that's how I like my games :)

Clavus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Lovely visuals. Fun game concept, and solid execution. :)

GFM says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:56am

Really good game! Why does these little guys always want to stay together at the border of the island? Do so at the center!! >_<
The mechanic was fun and interesting, and the sfx made those little guys cute and funny. Also, nice gfx!

Crooksister says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:53am

Would be difficult to build further. but loved it as is. great idea, very difficult :)

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:55am

Great idea! Excellent art style. I like everything, it lacks goals or objectives, but otherwise it's an impressive work :D

zdonkeyx says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:51am

Love the art, nice concept too :)

Wolve says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:19pm

5/5 for everything
this is pretty amazing

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Pretty fun and funny. A bit hard to understand the amount of "damage" you can take until the island goes down, but really liked it.

oxysoft says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:47am

One of the most mind boggling entry so far. It's a shame you didn't finish it. The mood and the graphics are completely gorgeous

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:54am

This is beautiful! The graphics are great, the water effects are great, the sounds are adorably hilarious lol. I wanted more goal-wise, but I'm glad you decided to polish the core instead of trying to do too much.

Xaychru04 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Really nice game, I liked the art style and the details of the island! There was not much gameplay, but it was fun to play anyway! :)

EpiphanyG says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:02pm

I really like this entry! The art style is really nice - it has a lot of character. :)

I sort of wished the mousewheel would also spin it around too as well as the wheel at the bottom. I would definitely like to play it again once it has a score system. :)

Mr. Jif says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:40pm

I love the look of this game and the concept. Some easier controls would have been very nice but for a 48 hour entry this is really nice.

JavadocMD says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:57pm

This is a fantastic entry. Clever concept with a really adorable execution. I feel like this has a lot of room for further development! Muy bien!

soy_yuma says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Great idea! Very innovative! But I can't seem to last for long. Maybe you should attach rotation to a keyboard key?

Cake&Code says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:48am

Beautiful game!!! I love the style and direction you had with this game. I think keyboard bindings would really help improve this game's gameplay, especially to simplify multi-tasking the rotation with the pulling of the weights. Overall amazing game! I had a ton of fun!

jerombd says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:40am

I struggle to maintain the island floating more than 5 seconds, but I still enjoy your game: the sound effects are fun!

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Well, everybody died. So that's good.

ninjacharlie says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Really nice job :D

It's a really cool mechanic for a game, and I would love to see it expanded.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Wow that was awesome. Best water effects I've seen in a LD game. Really enjoyed the soundtrack and the overall coolness of the game.

ActionRemix says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:31pm

I know I've fucked up when the island is perpendicular to the water.

AlbertoSM says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Nice idea and style, would be best if you could rotate the island with the keyboard, cuz alternating between the steering wheel and the weights can be frenetic at times. Nice job overall.

Catman says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Fun game, the style is really cool too, beautiful low-poly graphics!

Caridorc says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:32pm

This game is awesome. I like it very much!
//Este juego es guapisimo. Me gusta muchisimo!

Zerkruemler says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:26am

Very nice graphics and funny sounds. The controls are however too slow to avoid the island from tipping over. Maybe keyboard or other an control sheme would be better.
Alternatively just make the island a bit slower.

May 7, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Love the idea, and well execution ! Graphics are just awesome !

rojo says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Loved the visual aesthetic. Overall I thought the game was pretty innovative, and the mechanics were easy to grasp. Great job!

boldbigflank says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:03am

This is adorable!

terraco says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:01am

I found this difficult after so much coffee. Pretty nice though!

jtpup0 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Outstanding!, would make a great simple game for mobile in my opinion.

udo says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 4:50pm

This is simply amazing! And way too hard to keep them alive for long ;)

loxo says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Incredible game! Great idea and awesome implementation. But I found the game really hard, maybe it would be enough to have only the three weights on the front without the possibility to rotate the island. Because the rotation seems somewhat detached from the rest of the controls. Maybe it's easier to control on a device with touch. And I miss some kind of timer to know how long the island was stable.

InfectionTeam says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:46pm

My teammate already rated and commented on this beautiful game, but I just also wanted to let you know that I think it's a really awesome piece of work! And, just in case you aren't aware, RockLeeSmile covered your game on his channel: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GEOyFkT79zY

Cheers, Seb

May 15, 2014 @ 4:17pm

You have been featured in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wDdl5RdUCTg

Elforama says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Awesome job, loved the little voices.

Wertle says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:52pm

I love this idea! Even though I feel terrible for consistently murdering entire populations of casual vacation-goers :( I found myself instinctively trying to use Maya controls to rotate the view. Maybe not great for the general populous, but it might be pretty awesome to have alt controls in there :) it was occasionally difficult to tell which weights were in the background and which were up front, maybe size or color feedback on that could help (like the ball in front is always the most lit or something). Excellent work!

DragonXVI says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Love the look, decent little plate-spinner. Would've loved a bit more score feedback like a timer. Original idea too!

mcapraro says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:55am

wow, very very impressive work for the compo! well done and would love to see this as a mobile game, it would do great!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]