Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

unnamed game with a mole

by x1212 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is a simple platformer.
Left and right arrows to walk, up to jump and space to punch.
The normal worms (pink ones, not moving arround) can be used to get back some health by eating (walking over) them. The other ones (yellow, moving arround) are poisonous, if you come to close to them you will loose health.
(originally I even had some kind of background story in mind for this ...)

The goal is to let all the flowers on the surface bloom, by punching all the poisonous worms beneath the surface.

Edit (24 April 2014): added link to Open Pandora port

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#550Humor2.44
#823Theme2.94
#945Audio1.84
#963Mood2.52
#1042Graphics2.41
#1123Fun2.27
#1152Overall2.47
#1221Innovation1.94

Comments

Zer0XoL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:47am

I cant seem to run the linux port, sorry. =/

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:37am

Nice try ^^. Downsides are, it runs a bit slow on a browser and collisions damaging you need a visual alert :)

neekobus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:40am

A bit slow.
I am a mole, why can't I dig ?

x1212 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:42am

looks like the permissions didn't make it into the zip ... :(
Before starting you have to add the necessary permissions with chmod +x ./test.bin

x1212 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:46am

I should have marked the Web-Version as not recommended ...
Godot's export for HTML5 seems not to do so well for sound (there should be some for when beeing hit or eating worms, but they won't be played in the Web-Version). Also it's View is too small, health won't be shown, ...

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:52am

Can't seem to run in broswer. Collisions seem inconsistent. Would prefer if I could mash punch to become unstoppable worm-killing machine :)

Gins says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:02am

Very choppy framerate in web version and very basic overall, but I like the idea with the flowers :)

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:52pm

I enjoyed playing this! Took a while to load though. I'm using Firefox if that helps at all.

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Runs great on Windows. The game is definitely fun.

JaR_ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:37am

i liked the scrolling clouds

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:45am

+1 for emscripten

x1212 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:50am

^ I didn't have any influence on that (godots exporter does this on it's own) but thanks :D
(after reading that comment and searching for emscripten I finally understand why there are logentries pointing me to .cpp files in the Web-Version)

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:58am

Nice objective! Too bad it doesn't run smooth in the browser. Enjoyed it regardless of that though :)

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:00am

Doesn't work on Mac so couldn't rate, sorry.

f7f5 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:46pm

I don't have sound in Linux either :( Quite basic, but working and I played to the end.

Lafie says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:03am

Nice parallax background
The movement is a bit slow and floaty, and therefore imprecise
The flowers and particle effects are a nice visual touch
I enjoyed playing it overall

trueyomic says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:32pm

A very simple game, but complete at least. The corridors were pretty tight so it was hard to jump through some of them.

Zer0XoL says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:10pm

I made it runnable, but now it seems im missing some library.
./test.bin: /lib/i386-linux-gnu/i686/cmov/libm.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.15' not found (required by ./test.bin)
./test.bin: /lib/i386-linux-gnu/i686/cmov/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.15' not found (required by ./test.bin)

x1212 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:26am

@Zer0Xol: hmm ... I don't really know why this happens ... maybe because I used a x68 instead of x64 binary? Are you on a x64 linux? Is multilib installed (that should provide support for 32bit on 64bit linux)?
I think you need the package gcc-multilib on ubuntu (but not entirely sure ...).

vladimirdlc says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Funny name, is a little simple, maybe too slow, but you can have fun with it, it's a nice distraction.
The art is simple as well, I would have enjoyed music, or more effects, but I understand not everyone can be a orchestra man.

edibletoaster says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Good Job

rfgpfeiffer says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 4:23pm

The game hangs forever on the title screen on my machine

rfgpfeiffer says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Ubuntu 13.10 64 bit

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]