Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The abyss within

by UnixXNova - Jam Entry

Get to the surface from a underground cave while avoiding many hazards

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#256Mood(Jam)3.31
#338Audio(Jam)3.14
#388Theme(Jam)3.13
#431Innovation(Jam)2.87
#487Humor(Jam)2.28
#591Overall(Jam)2.81
#668Fun(Jam)2.29
#707Graphics(Jam)2.27

Comments

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Has potential, but there are very few graphics and feedback.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Pretty cool entry, a choose your own adventure platformer! Great music, too!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Solid Entry !

xevozfighter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:25pm

It had a nice feel to it. Even without graphics I sorta imagined myself in this situation with everything described. My only complaint is the fact that I have to start from the beginning if I make a mistake. I feel once you have proven to a game that you can get passed a challenge it shouldn't give you the exact same challenge again.

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:27pm

yer i didn't have the time to learn how to implement random generation i wish i could have

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:55pm

There are some collision and jump bugs. I like that the player can choose what to do and enjoyed it.

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:55pm

It needs more feedback. If I could get a prediction of what might happen if I pick an option, this game would be perfectly fine as is, sans graphics. Not knowing what the options mean, aside from the short explanation on the button makes some choices seem positive and then a boulder kills you.

Good concept, not executed as well as could have. Well done!

TeamOnBack says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Good start to something that could be good. Keep it up!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:27pm

amazing but there were a lot of graphical problems(Mostly lamps)

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Without random actions, its just a trial error game. :/ Too bad, because the idea had real potential :)
Continue working on it ^^

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:47am

Looks pretty good for me. Loved the soundtrack!

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:58am

Pretty nifty. Choices seem to be fixed, but I can see some pretty cool stuff coming out of something where the choices vary a bit.

Jed T. says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:14am

Controls are a but clunky, for example when I jump longer the entire screen shake. Music is very nice though. Good job!

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:27am

Some games don't need to have awesome graphics and many gameplay features if they can have this read-and-imagine-then-choose-your-adventure feature. It felt a bit random, but liked it. Music helped a lot!

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:35pm

A bit too heavy on unimaginative traps. Even something that is just there to kill the player needs to be thought through.

May 1, 2014 @ 5:05am

You can test if the player is on the ground to see if jump should be triggered. The total death options were also kind of common. Other than that, the mood kept me going. Good job!

Zccc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Kinda slow, but it has potential ^^

alvarop says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:10pm

I'm all for games that try to go to new places, so I give you that. But sometimes some things don't go well together, and in this case, the whole RPG element falls apart because it's more of a guessing game that anything else. Again, I appreciate how you tried to mix two genres together. Keep it up.

DrStahlbart says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:45pm

The light is a little bit buggy but background music fits very very well with the atmosphere. :)

euske says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:57pm

I liked the idea of platformer and point+click adventure game. This idea could be more developed!

DarkMaster says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:00pm

It's a nice game, but very repetitive, specially when you die too many times. :/

frogcheese says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:32pm

The music did a whole lot to create an atmosphere along with the lighting. Not much gameplay-wise though, and the choices weren't very interesting since the only real impact was whether or not you died. This could be more fun to play with some random generation or choices that directly affect the game world.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]