Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

meltafreezeteleport: iceberg caver (I'm bad at names)

by sthreet - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Sorry about no online version, dropbox forbid all the files, I got around that with the script, but not with the images.

Also, my game kinda sucks, there really isn't much of a game, you take health and fall down when you step on one type of block, you die if you step on another, and you just go down if you step on another. hard to explain in text, but simple and not very good.

just run the html file in the folder.

Not a very good game, but now that I did this I'm going back to working on my other game that I took a break from, so I got something out of ludum dare.

explanation: top left corner you can press buttons to select a spell, buttom to cast that spell, arrow keys or wasd keys to move, the "wall" blocks are pits, you lose one health and fall down a level, the blocks around the outside are instant death, if you hit a slope you go down a level, if you go down far enough you win.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#904Theme2.81
#969Innovation2.50
#1023Graphics2.44
#1049Mood2.38
#1081Fun2.35
#1169Overall2.42
#1895Coolness28%

Comments

ehtd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:43am

I recommend itch.io for hosting so more players can play your game

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:52am

I beat it. It was pretty good! Like it wasn't the best thing ever but you shouldn't be so negative!

I think the spells didn't really add anything. The most fun I had was from trying to control my guy quickly, so maybe adding a timer element would be helpful.

Overall not bad. Be proud!

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:27am

you can also host your games on github. that what I did with mine.

I also agree with Brian. Overall not bad. Be positive, not many people can finish a game.

Looking forward to your next entry

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Maybe move it to the public dropbox folder so you can play it on the fly

hyouko says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:13am

Reminds me of old shareware games I used to play a bit. Unusual systems (some form of spell casting?) but not much point that I could see - the spells mostly appears to get me stuck in deathtraps.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:12pm

I've seen games far worse than this! I'm just glad the spells were unnecessary (I was never isolated from the way down), you should have put the selection and casting on the same side, or better yet used the keyboard for that.

No need to be so negative, the quality of the games is always limited by the 48 hours anyway. Sometimes I'm annoyed when people post something unfinished and clutter the real entries, but this was fine.

byExclusive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:50am

good

dcolgan says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:30am

The core mechanic of this game is solid, even if a bit rough around the edges. Keep it up Sthreet!

jujule says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:06pm

I've indeed seen worse. Took me while to understand what I thought were walls are actually pits! So yes, the interface is still rough, you need to polish graphics and maybe add more spells, add enemies, but I think you have a good foundation.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]