Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hanoka

by Wolve - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I added a button for the "original version" where i removed the music. Hope this is good enough to still qualify for compo! :D

Thank you all for playing and for the overwhelmingly nice reviews!!
This was one of my favorite jams so far!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#8Graphics4.61
#11Fun4.20
#13Theme4.16
#21Overall4.13
#24Mood4.16
#90Innovation3.92
#110Audio3.62
#165Humor3.25

Comments

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:14pm

the graphics give it attitude. love how the spirits look. good job

Nickabilla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Love the splitted gameplay, first you dive to lure the spirits. Then you shoot them above the water. Cool artstyle!

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Holy shit I feel like a fuckin Ocean NInja WATAAAA

graebor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Really cool game! Nice art, and the physics of jumping/diving felt awesome. Very satisfying to play :) Only thing I didn't like was that the voice samples when you resurface got very repetitive and seemed to be mixed quite loudly compared to the music. Great job, especially for 48 hours.

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:33pm

The game is really awesome, but it goes against the rules to add music you haven't done yourself :(

Kastuk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Great art and sound, but gameplay make me exhausted after unstoppable jumping and diving deeper for lure monsters out without any tactic. What about more horizontal water area, like ocean levels of ECCO?

Miltage says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:47pm

I love this game. The art style is fantastic and works well. I love the transition of water to air and the slow aiming mechanic.

Moosefly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:11pm

As daandruff already mentioned, you should probably check the compo rules.

Game looked nice, music choice was fitting and the basic gameplay concept was solid and fun. What I did not like though was the fact that you had to have some of the updates to be able to progress (mainly swim speed). This meant that I had to grind for a bit because I unlocked all the damage bonuses first. The updates also felt somewhat unbalanced and I managed to skip the update screen once in the heat of the game. The volume and quality of the voiceover was also all over the place, and they did get somewhat repetitive.

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:19pm

It's the longest I've played any of the entries. I fucking love it. Art, Music, Story, EVERYTHING! Except the site it's hosted on.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:10pm

fantastic game . I play it 30 minutes and I save link so I can play it later

reidrac says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:51pm

I love this game, but it's not fair you used 3rd party music even if audio it's not rated :(

flavio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Waow, great work !
I loved the graphics the animations and the mood !
The intro was a little bit long as we can not past the text, but it worth it !
Great work !

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:12am

Amazing, probably my favorite out of everything I've played. Starts a little slow (health bars on the bosses would have been great), but RPG mechanics keep you interested. Probably the best art and sound design out of anything that I've played here as well.

Would love to see this as a full full fledged game!

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:56am

This is a really amazing game, but it's going to get disqualified unless you change the music. I'd email the guys running the contest and ask if it's ok for you to remove the music.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:53am

Wow, I really liked playing your game. Music ans visuals are very well done and fitting, the mood is great and the theme is represented properly imho.

You should have really made the intro skippable in some way, it takes way too long.

While the core gameplay is fun and works nicely, I felt that it got very repetitive rather soon. Also the shooting feedback was weird, would have helped to have the lines in a stronger contrating color to the background. I'd even considered completely dropping the charge mechanic, would have been way more fun just to shoot away all the arrows you can while in air.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:57am

Impressive art, and the concept is super original though a bit tedious...
Maybe you should have applied to Jam more than Compo, cause several persons helped you and coz of the music thing...
But its a great game anyway ! :D

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:59am

You definitely should have submitted this to the jam and not the compo if you're going to use someone else's music; it's unfair to everyone in the compo who made everything in their game.

The art is lovely and the gameplay mechanic is really fun, I just wish the fish were quicker and there were more of them near the top. It takes too long to build up enough to buy an upgrade when you have to swim down a ways and then wait for them to catch you up.

nicso says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Nice concept.
Maybe a little too much grinding tho.

wdebowicz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Game is simply great, but mixed feelings about compo. I saw many games who was in jam just because of music. I'm sure you would get better votes if you would place it in jam.

Aaants says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Beautiful. Really impressive!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:21pm

So polished, the controls were really fluid and jumping out of the water felt really good. Diving deep the lure the enemies was a bit tedious, but seriously, good job.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Awesome game !
(i did not understand in the first begining, but after that.. just awesome !)

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:42pm

WOW! this is soo awesome! i love the graphics, i love the way the dialog animates out, love the game mechanic and slicing through the fish while jumping in the air. wow, one of my favorites so far!

rnlf says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:00am

Really cool game :-) Feels very smooth and dynamic.

Yword says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:03pm

The actions are very cool and stylish!

Pixelulsar says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:46am

Really like this game, my favourite so far!

PapyGaragos says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:24am

Great entry with nice art (good choice of colors) and awesome controls.

The game feels good and is rewarding to play. The sense of progression could be reworked. As it is, it's a bit tedious

Raiyumi says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:27pm

I really like the concept and it has amazing art!

Dreauw says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Great game !

I killed the 4 spirits and that was really fun :)

DonovanWu says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Awesome game! I'm surprised that it's made within 48 hours!

allinlabs says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:08pm

The movement & shooting system in the game feel very very good and is rewarding, it's a lot of fun

Takapouyou says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:38am

I love this game, the ost is really cool btw, if a link exist, I'm very interrested in

Striwx says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Very cool epic shonen spirit !! Maybe the hero voice was a little bit cliché. The collisions with the boss were a little frustrating

rincewind_cz says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Really liked the graphics and the intro.. the game itself is bit repetitive, but maybe that's just me.. :) good job

May 16, 2014 @ 12:48am

omg... you did this in 48h? unbelievable
I love the graphics and the mechanics. Much fun!!

GFM says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:13am

Outstanding entry. Wow!

The game is really fun, the graphics are beautiful and the polish... It's so frigging polished! It could be a "common game" (as in "one not from a game jam") that I wouldn't find it surprising.
Oh, and the snippets in japanese were a great idea! I found it really funny.

But I have one complaint. Although I find it fun (and fitting) that at first you can only shoot from outside the water, the health meter feels really broken. It starts decreasing then I suddenly die. When I'm circling enemies to jump again, many times I grazed one, took what seemed like little damage, and then died before getting away from it.

But other than that, the game is already awesome!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]