Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lurker

by tinykidtoo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a stealth action mole game, Think solid mole. The second screenshot is a picture made by a friend. I hope this is allowed as it is not used in the game, more as a separate logo for the ludum post. A port to mobile or a more polished version might be in the works. Depends how bored I am next week.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#498Innovation3.14
#570Humor2.42
#670Theme3.14
#933Audio1.88
#963Mood2.52
#1175Graphics2.06
#1190Fun2.03
#1194Overall2.35

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:23am

Unfortunately a little bit too buddy. I was walking through walls like nobodies business, and the sighting system was weird, and eventually I dug out of the level and went soaring to kingdom come. Not bad, but felt a little too broken at this stage.

tidalkraken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Great vibe, rough around the edges but hey, it's a 48-hour game!

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Amazing concept, a stealth game where you dig a hole and pop out again is something I've never seen done quite like this before... Very buggy but fun and functional

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Had fun walking through walls :)

mogwai says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Really like the idea/concept but i never managed to finish a level (usually ended up falling through the world). I guess the whistling music is better than no music :)

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:21pm

It was a bit buggy, but i really liked your idea.

dook says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Great idea, with the right level design this could be really fun. It was super buggy, though. I started by falling through the level a few times. And the camera controls were confusing. But great effort for a compo game! :)

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:17am

Wish the game had more graphics and was more fun but still pretty good.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:49am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

This is a really cute idea, but I couldn't figure out what I was supposed to be doing or where I was supposed to be going, or even really where I was in the level. There's a reason why Snake has a Soliton Radar system!

Thanks for the entry, though! I had a really good laugh.

tinykidtoo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Thank you for all the feedback. I wish during the jam I fixed the bug where you could walk trough walls. It is because to switch from the underground to the above ground it turns off the collider(Bad idea). I also really wanted you to be able to lay a trap for the guards to drop them in.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Pretty good for 48 hours, it was a little bit annoying seeing my mouse move all over the screen :P

Meedoc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:06pm

A nice concept but the game is a bit buggy; it's hard to predict enemy movement, and to see them.

It seems you have a bug:
- if finish the game by winning or losing you cannot play again, you need to refresh.

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:31am

Good idea, I liked the theme use!

randoman says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:01pm

I get your idea and it's pretty impressive but the gameplay itself was a little weird. I was going through wall after wall until I reached something that seemed to be the end of the level.

Airwaffle says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Not quite sure what I'm doing. Looking a bit simular to my game though. Probably equally confusing too I can imagine.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]