Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

In The alienne spaceship

by Gaspard_ - Jam Entry

My Game:
Goal: destroy that Boss lurking down deep beneath the surface of that alien planet.
Reward: the game ends!
I your life bar reaches 0, you die.
Penalty: the game ends!
Morality: What you do doesn't matter: have fun!

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Controls:
Mouse, press and hold.
Alternates between advancing and shooting each time you click.

Grab power-ups! They're not so visible, but pretty strong!

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////

All Music by me.
All Art by me, my sister, and my girlfriend.

Coding by me.
Java.
Library used : Libgdx.
Thanks to the Libgdx team for such an awesome library!

//////////////////////////////////////////////////

Fixed capitalisation in resource loading, it breaks the game if you can see enemies, there for this is allowed according to the compo/jam rules.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#182Audio(Jam)3.48
#210Humor(Jam)3.00
#225Mood(Jam)3.38
#232Graphics(Jam)3.73
#250Innovation(Jam)3.29
#329Theme(Jam)3.25
#398Overall(Jam)3.16
#475Fun(Jam)2.80
#1651Coolness42%

Comments

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:41pm

This was... a bit weird. I didn't find anything to do. Also, as the game is in full-screen, it should feature an exit option. As of now, I had to alt-tab my way out. :)

Gaspard_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Sorry about the full-screen, Alt+F4 should work, or Alt+tab.
If everything else fails, control-alt-delete and kill the process.

Gaspard_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Oh and, most importantly: shoot those walls down!

DarkEngineer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Good graphics!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:26pm

I liked the art style :)

seantheartist says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:41pm

I absolutely love this game. First off its just beautiful, the colors and lights draw me in instantly. It feels like you're underwater. Even though I'm not very good with the controls I do like the simplicity of one mouse click to alternate movement and attack

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Nice game, these graphics! [insert dat ass meme]
The music fits the game and I chuckled a little at the boss.

The alternate firing and moving is hard to get used to.

l3dx says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:52pm

I couldn't find anything to do either. No enemies? Also, the physics/movement seemed a bit funky. Some cool graphics though.

Gaspard_ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:49pm

There are ennemies, just get in there! (Break that wall!)
seantheartist, thanks for the nice comment!
Sparrow, I hesitated a lot about that at first.

XenosNS says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Great music and art style. Interesting control idea, single button. Took some time to get used to. Sadly game crashed when I was monster ring trying to escape.

Gaspard_ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Sorry, it does crash allot... for no apparent reason--> LD side-effects!

KevinWorkman says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:02pm

This was pretty neat. Cool lighting effects, cool moody music, interesting control scheme. Like others said it was a little hard to figure out what to do at first- something as simple as a little message at the beginning might help with that. And yeah, the game seemed to crash randomly, so I had to stop playing it! But great job, I hope you develop it further!

jacklehamster says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:14am

The game itself was ok, but the lack of exit option really bothered me. I played this on my mac, and I had to restart the mac by pressing the power button to exit out of your game.

radmars says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Interesting control scheme. I wish there were some more enemies to make the beginning of the game more interesting. Couldn't really figure out how to kill the boss either. Great vibe though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]